We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book for romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Ranked #84 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't book for romantic getaway”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked a double room to celebrate finding out we were expecting out first baby. I booked a double but have been given a twin. Asked to change rooms but was refused as we'd used the room for just over an hour (hadn't really clocked it was a twin til after showering.. We've been up since 3). So as compromise asked for double duvet.. They said they hadn't got one.. Asked if any doubles available tomorrow and was told we'd have to check in the morning, and depends if available... Surely he could have checked reservations. The room itself is clean and nice enough but no kettle or tea and coffee in rooms. Have to get from reception for £1.50. Seriously unimpressed and a bit upset by the way staff have not offered us any resolution.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    423
    125
    20
    20
See reviews for
199
393
56
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in November having chosen it because of reviews, location and price and we were not disappointed. We arrived off an early flight at 10.30 a.m. and to our surprise found we could go straight to our room. The room was small but contained everything we needed, desk, 2 chairs, wardrobe with enough hangers for both of us. I thought the bed would be too soft when I sat on it, but stretched out and it was oh sooo comfortable! The shower was good too, powerful and plenty of hot water. Free wifi worked fine. Only downside was no hot drink facility in room and thought the breakfast was on the expensive side but the coffee was good! And all the staff we spoke to including the housekeeper were really friendly and helpful.

This little hotel is perfectly located for visiting the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum and is a short bus ride away from the airport. It is within walking distance of the centre. We are in our 60s and I have a dodgy knee but we managed fine walking everywhere from here. Found some nice restaurants nearby too.

If I wanted to be near the museums on a future trip would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

A small and clean hotel with a very helpful and friendly reception. My room has been upgraded for the entire stay due to lack of free rooms! Basic fresh breakfast but not included in the room rate. Downside is a bit out of central Amsterdam and the taxi drivers were ripping us of with a different tariff every time anywhere between 16 and 22 euros each way back and forth to central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aznavour33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend, and despite having a great time in the city, this hotel was a little disappointing. We were upgraded to a spacious room with a nice view toward the south, but the standard overall, including the bathroom, feels faded, several years old, and the service ranged from mildly indifferent to outright rude (the breakfast guy must dislike his job). The breakfast was good but basic. The organic touch and general eco concept is nice, but this hotel is far from boutique or stylish - rather a decent value city hotel in a convenient location for Museumkwartier.

Room Tip: Ask to face south / backyard on upper floors (3-4) for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EuroDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Yes,I agree with most of others reviews, this is a very comfortable hotel for family staying
If you wish for a short break in Amsterdam, so having stayed at this hotel will be lovely. Very comfortable rooms, and staffs there very helpful and informative. The Van Gogh and the Rijksmuseum is very nearby, and nice restaurants either.Love to stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liketravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We chose to stay in Conscious hotel next to the Museum square as it was centrally located to most of the attractions, a single bus journey from the airport, a single tram journey from Amsterdam RAI exhibition centre( yes I went for work) and a walking distance from Leidsplein. To tell the truth i was a little sceptical about a eco hotel, but these people were really good. The rooms were larger than most other properties i have stayed in europe for the same fare. Clean and crisp. And the best part was the women at the reception as they were always ready to help us out with anything we wanted. Always ready with suggestion on the restaurants , drinking holes, what to avoid,They had kept stock of the tram tickets, day passes,maps, etc. We could even rent a bicycle from there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razin786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We were looking for a cheapish hotel close to Museumplein and couldn't have chosen better! We had a third-floor room at the back of the building which was large, quiet (apart from a few lift noises as we were almost next door to it), and the twin beds were amazingly comfortable - the best I've ever slept in. Very easy access to Schipol on the 197 bus, and plenty of trams nearby (nos 5 & 16 go to/from Central Station) though Amsterdam is a small city and everything we wanted to do was easily walkable (though all the bikes make this a bit hazardous!). We liked all the green credentials, and the staff were friendly and knowledgable about transport, sights, and local restaurants. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel and took a travel kettle so we could make hot drinks in our room (but you can buy coffee from a machine in the breakfast room for €1.50). The courtyard garden must be lovely in summer. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quiet - those at the front might be a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#85 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,240 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,323 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#110 of 368 in Amsterdam
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#166 of 368 in Amsterdam
993 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#83 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conscious Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Property: Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Address: De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conscious Hotel Museum Square is a new type of place to stay designed with today’s independent and discerning travellers in mind. The hotel has a beautiful, cutting edge, contemporary interior but also a sustainable operation designed to be kind to the planet. The choice of how ‘green’ guests want to be is completely up to them and there’s a playful side to the hotel that shows up in little eccentric details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Conscious Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Square Amsterdam
Amsterdam Museum Square Hotel
Museum Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing