We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Ranked #90 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've been staying a various hotels around Europe for a little over a year now, and Conscious Hotel Museum Square is by far the BEST hotel I've stayed at. The woman at the front desk let us check in at 11 am, as we had an early flight and orginally just wanted to see if the hotel would hold our bags until check-in. Information on how to get to the hotel from the airport via public transport is listed right on their website which was VERY helpful. Upon checking out, they offered to hold our bags as we had a late flight and even pointed out and gave detailed directions on using the bus back to the airport. We had a great chat with the man at the front desk before leaving. The room was a decent size, we had a "full" bed which was 2 twins pushed together. I didn't mind though because they were amazing comfortable beds. We unfortunetly booked our hotel the same weekend as a large culture fest was happening down the block, so the only bad thing I have to say was the price for 2 nights. I was told that the price would've been half if we would've chose any other weekend though. Lastly, the location for this hotel is GREAT. Just a bit off a main area so it's not too rambunctious, but close enough to easily navigate the city. The Van Gogh museum is a less that 5 minute walk. There's tram station and a bus station right out the door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    370
    110
    19
    19
See reviews for
172
345
50
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel. I stayed there 26 - 29 August and had a really great experience. We were staying on the 4th floor and the room was fantastic - extremely comfortable beds, great decor and amazing panoramic windows.

The breakfast was delicious - especially the homemade granola and the freshly squeezed orange juice, and the location was excellent - on many tram routes and a hop, skip and jump away from all the museums and the tourist sights. I was going to the university for a conference, too, and that was a really easy journey from the hotel.

But, the absolute thing which sets this hotel apart from almost every other hotel I've ever stayed in is how amazingly nice and helpful the staff were. Every single person that I came across, from the housekeeper to the reception to the breakfast chef was absolutely lovely. They were full of helpful information, big smiles and amazingly laid back but friendly service - it felt like a little haven of happiness in the city.

I would recommend this hotel very highly and hope that Conscious hotels branch out to other cities as they surely have a winning formula here!

Room Tip: Room 406 has amazingly huge windows with lovely rooftop views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conscious_Hotels, Manager at Conscious Hotel Museum Square, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I think I'm in love! ♥♥♥

It's great for us to read you kind review, this is exactly what drives us to what we do, the way we do it.

Thank you so much for choosing us and we hope to welcome you again in whatever cities we might move to (which is something we are working on hard every day)

Best wishes,

Rob van Hemert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was a great experience. The staff is very friendly. The room was clean and three times the size of our room in Paris at the Holiday Inn. It is basic, but what more do you need than an aircon, a closet, a safe, a table chair & TV, a clean bathroom and a big bed with crisp white linnen. The only thing that is not in the room is a minibar. The absolute best bed I slept in during our 3 week holiday in Europe. They call it a CocoMat - it is like sleeping on a cloud. The hotel is situated very close to the beautiful Vondel Park and walking distance from some of the best museums. Tram line 16 drops you off practically right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Coco-mat bed. Ask for a room on the third or fourth floor with windows opening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked this hotel by solely by reading the reviews. It is a clean, basic hotel. The rooms were a little small but clean and tidy. The hotel is situated near the museum area and very close to the beautiful Vondel park. The tram to the tourist areas is just steps away. The breakfast was very good and substantial and the owner just bought a fresh orange juice machine of which he was very proud. I think that it will be shortlived seeing the number of oranges it consumed to make one glass of fresh orange juice.

Room Tip: The rooms that we saw all seemed about equal, small and tidy and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Booked this hotel because of the reviews. The room was a bit minimalist but clean and functional.
The location is superb with the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gough museum just a short stroll from the hotel.
Parking is on street but costly or use the P+R at teh old Olympic Stadium just a few blocks away (tram ticket to and from the parking included in the €8.00 per day).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ameglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

this 38 room hotel is a charming boutique hotel walking distance to museum square and many restaraunts. there is a lovely, freshly landscaped patio in back and some rooms open directly to patio. the front of the hotel is directly on the sidewalk, so may be too noisy for some, but we stayed in a front, downstairs room and slept just fine. They have no airconditioning, but open windows and fan kept us comfortable on a very warm evening. wine, soda are available at front desk, discount tickets to attractions are available. Receptionist made arrangements for an e-taxi ride to airport for us (cost 30 euros). All those who work there speak good english, and make you feel like a welcome guest in their home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyswmn1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent three nights at this great hotel - fantastic staff, so helpful and friendly, who went out of their way to assist and give suggestions, e.g. local restaurants, tram tickets. Plenty of choice for breakfast and the courtyard is now finished for the enjoyment of guests. As mentioned by others, this hotel is right on the 197 bus route from the airport, so it is an easy and inexpensive trip. Excellent location for the special museums and/or a quick tram trip to the old town - just a couple of blocks to relaxing in Vondelpark. We also appreciated being able to move rooms as the front room was a little noisy with traffic and trams during the night - this was no problem. Thanks to everyone at Conscious Hotel Museum Square for making our stay in Amsterdam a memorable one!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cordati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#98 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#100 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#85 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#78 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#95 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conscious Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Property: Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Address: De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conscious Hotel Museum Square is a new type of place to stay designed with today’s independent and discerning travellers in mind. The hotel has a beautiful, cutting edge, contemporary interior but also a sustainable operation designed to be kind to the planet. The choice of how ‘green’ guests want to be is completely up to them and there’s a playful side to the hotel that shows up in little eccentric details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Conscious Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Square Amsterdam
Amsterdam Museum Square Hotel
Museum Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing