We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #122 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed November 19, 2013

its too old need of a referbisment no a/c in the rooms and it was too hot in summer we couldn't sleep and when you open the window it was too noisy but the rooms are clean and the breakfast is good even the staff is friendly

Room Tip: don't open the window at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iman Lourdes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We did a pre tour package and stayed 3 nights at the Nova Hotel. The hotel is very welcoming and fairly centrally located to all the Amsterdam "must sees".
We arrived before our room was ready and were able to secure our luggage in a locked room so we could start sight seeing right away.
Conveniently, there is a taxi stand 1 block away as well as a tram stop. We chose to walk to all venues/sites -but did cab it once because of rain. Great restaurants within walking distance.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were a good size and beds comfy. Depending on where your room was located, steps may be involved! The morning buffet gave a nice variety of breakfast choices. The free wifi in the lobby was great-and even had a weak signal in the room. Had to get used to turning in room key before leaving hotel, but kind of nice having one less thing to worry about. Also had a 24 hour vending coffee machine and soda machine (with beer) in lobby. Room was cleaned/made up quickly after leaving for the day. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last weekend great location easy walking distance foe everywhere.rooms very clean showers great ,breakfast was excellent plenty of variety,staff very helpfully definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolJohnmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have been to Amsterdam a couple of times, this is by far the best hotel I have stayed at. Location is great. A couple of minutes walk from anything. No need for taxis or rickshaws. Service was good, room was clean and staff very friendly. Would recommend to anyone and stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soulhacler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the Nova Hotel for 3 nights while visiting Amsterdam for the first time. We took a taxi from the airport. The driver had some confusion about the hotel so one of our group gave him the address with a map. Upon arrival our rooms were not yet ready however, they had a secure room with safes for storing our valuables and luggage. We opted not to use the safe however, one in our group did. He had trouble getting it to work properly. He had to go get someone to assist him and it all worked out. The hotel is nice and conveniently located. There are nice restaurants nearby and Dam Square is a short walk away. There is also an Albert Heijn grocery store two blocks down on the way to the Square. The Anne Frank House, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museums are all within walking distance. However, if you have limited mobility or the weather is bad, you can take a tram or a taxi. There is a taxi stand located out in front of the grocery store. The trams normally run in front of the hotel but that section was closed for repair while we were there. The hotel staff is fluent in English and very helpful. They have a wealth of knowledge about the area. Breakfast is served daily and had enough variety and options to please most people. The breakfast staff were always cleaning tables and very helpful. The first morning, the breakfast coffee machine would not work. So two male staff members tried to fix it. When they finished, it produced coffee but it was not drinkable. Thankfully, it was fixed by the next morning. Another nice feature is the availability of free wifi. Often at the end of the evenings we would sit in the lobby to catch up on our email. We also could get wifi in our room at times though the signal was not always very strong. A computer is in the lobby and available for use. You can also use it to print your boarding passes which is a nice feature. There is a coffee machine located in the lobby and accessible 24/7. There are several coffee options available for selection. The cost is one euro and the cups are small but it satisfies those afternoon or evening cravings. Our room was large with a very nice bathroom and large fridge. It was located on the second floor toward the very back. There was a big sign on the door that said watch step. The first night this was not a problem. However, the second night I entered the room first and almost broke my neck. There is a large step down into the room and had I not been holding onto the handle, I would have fallen badly. Yes, there is a sign on the door, however the hallway was dimly lit and I was exhausted. I would suggest some kind of marking on the floor at the step down to help draw your attention. Thankfully, there is a lift that helps to greatly reduce the number of steps you have to traverse with your luggage. However, when traveling with a 50 pound suitcase and carryon luggage, all steps are a challenge. Now from what I understand, this is common in Amsterdam. So, if steps are a challenge for you, please investigate further to see if there are better options for you. Knowing in advance to prepare for the steps is better than having this surprise after an all night flight with no sleep. We had a great time at the Nova Hotel and highly recommend it. The price was reasonable given its great location. We hope to return some day and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kvb4717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

It has been a headache to choose a good hotel in Amsterdam Holland. Most hotels are expensive and the lower end hotels tend to be cheaper than usual but also slightly dodgy. So we opted to try out Nova hotel which had a very good price and the location was not so far from Dam Square. We were in for a very nice surprise as it turned out to be a good hotel for its 3 star rating. The room was huge and very comfortable. The staff is very nice to deal with and English is not a problem at all. Breakfast was also tasty and fresh and the choice is very good. Waiting staff in the breakfast room are always there to help you. Dam square is a few minutes walk away and from there you have Amsterdam within your reach. We would surely recommend Nova Hotel. Even to those with family and kids. Good Choice for sure !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vince a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I was really pleased about this hotel. A combination between old and new. Big rooms plenty of space cor 3 people. Lcd tv with good selection of chanels. Breakfast was very nice and had a tasty selection to choose from. Wifi free and working all areas. 4 th floor last room but still great signal reception. Hotel has a place where you can leave your luggage in case you arive earlier or leave later than check in check out hours. There ade safe boxes there as well as in the rooms. Clean bathroom towels changed if needed.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Miulescu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#91 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,129 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#129 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,462 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#142 of 373 in Amsterdam
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,029 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $128 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nova Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Nova Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Nova Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing