We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #141 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good in the heart of the city”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I spent a few nights here whilst house hunting in Amsterdam. It was clean, tidy and quiet. Good amenities, free WiFi. Breakfast was a busy time, but the standard of food was good.

It's central location (it's literally a 5 minute walk to Dam Square) makes it great for first timers to Amsterdam who want to see as much as possible.

If there was one thing that was strange, it was the old style 'hand your keys in before you leave' etiquette

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonhaywooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    508
    174
    48
    37
See reviews for
221
328
73
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great little hotel....very friendly staff , rooms are very clean and tidy. Breakfast was a continental buffet which is a great start to the day.The location was a 10 minute walk from Dam square and all the attractions of a wonderful liberal city

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated to discover the delights of Amsterdam. The rooms are large and clean, breakfast is top class buffet, staff are very very helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I agree with many of the reviewers of this hotel; the location is perfect. No need for spending money on trams, buses or taxis. The hotel seems to have been refurbished not too long ago, and the bathroom was big, nice and clean. Our triple room was actually a very spacious four-bed room, including refridgerator, flat screen TV and safe. The breakfast buffet was good enough. To be really good it should have had more warm courses and maybe some more vegetables. The staff was helpful, efficient and friendly.The room price is quite high, but given the location and the standard I would say we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a central based hotel that is cheap and cheerful then the Nova Hotel ticks those boxes. We had a fab long weekend in Amsterdam and think a lot of that had to do with the great location of the Hotel. Breakfast is a basic continental, rooms were a decent size and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIobhan1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Nova before as its very handy for all the sights, shops, bars and restaurants as its just across the road from the palace and Dam square. This time we were not as pleased as it has gone more downhill than before. It was a bit grubby and the breakfast was quite poor for the high cost so I don't think we will be going back when we next visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alibobsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 8 days in Amsterdam and we stayed here at the Nova Hotel.

We had an amazing week and the hotel was a great base due to its convenient location a short walk from Dam Square.

The room was ok and comfortable. The wifi works well and unlike many other Amsterdam Hotels, it is free throughout the hotel. We had a big fridge in our room which was useful and unexpectedly big. The bathroom was fabulous and high quality. We used the hotel as a base and called back often do to it being so convenient. The trams to Central Station in one direction and various interesting destinations in the other. They are very frequent and cheap to use with multi day unlimited use tickets being good value.

Guests are also able to leave luggage which we did on both our arrival and departure days as it meant we could arrive early and leave late.

I guess the slightly high price is the trade off for the location and free wifi. We will.definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hufhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#174 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#101 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#139 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#103 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#107 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nova Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Nova Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Nova Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing