We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #130 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I spent a few nights here whilst house hunting in Amsterdam. It was clean, tidy and quiet. Good amenities, free WiFi. Breakfast was a busy time, but the standard of food was good.

It's central location (it's literally a 5 minute walk to Dam Square) makes it great for first timers to Amsterdam who want to see as much as possible.

If there was one thing that was strange, it was the old style 'hand your keys in before you leave' etiquette

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonhaywooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great little hotel....very friendly staff , rooms are very clean and tidy. Breakfast was a continental buffet which is a great start to the day.The location was a 10 minute walk from Dam square and all the attractions of a wonderful liberal city

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated to discover the delights of Amsterdam. The rooms are large and clean, breakfast is top class buffet, staff are very very helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I agree with many of the reviewers of this hotel; the location is perfect. No need for spending money on trams, buses or taxis. The hotel seems to have been refurbished not too long ago, and the bathroom was big, nice and clean. Our triple room was actually a very spacious four-bed room, including refridgerator, flat screen TV and safe. The breakfast buffet was good enough. To be really good it should have had more warm courses and maybe some more vegetables. The staff was helpful, efficient and friendly.The room price is quite high, but given the location and the standard I would say we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a central based hotel that is cheap and cheerful then the Nova Hotel ticks those boxes. We had a fab long weekend in Amsterdam and think a lot of that had to do with the great location of the Hotel. Breakfast is a basic continental, rooms were a decent size and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIobhan1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Nova before as its very handy for all the sights, shops, bars and restaurants as its just across the road from the palace and Dam square. This time we were not as pleased as it has gone more downhill than before. It was a bit grubby and the breakfast was quite poor for the high cost so I don't think we will be going back when we next visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alibobsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 8 days in Amsterdam and we stayed here at the Nova Hotel.

We had an amazing week and the hotel was a great base due to its convenient location a short walk from Dam Square.

The room was ok and comfortable. The wifi works well and unlike many other Amsterdam Hotels, it is free throughout the hotel. We had a big fridge in our room which was useful and unexpectedly big. The bathroom was fabulous and high quality. We used the hotel as a base and called back often do to it being so convenient. The trams to Central Station in one direction and various interesting destinations in the other. They are very frequent and cheap to use with multi day unlimited use tickets being good value.

Guests are also able to leave luggage which we did on both our arrival and departure days as it meant we could arrive early and leave late.

I guess the slightly high price is the trade off for the location and free wifi. We will.definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hufhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#131 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,422 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#138 of 372 in Amsterdam
841 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#93 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,975 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $147 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nova Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Nova Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Nova Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing