We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #144 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Livingston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a central based hotel that is cheap and cheerful then the Nova Hotel ticks those boxes. We had a fab long weekend in Amsterdam and think a lot of that had to do with the great location of the Hotel. Breakfast is a basic continental, rooms were a decent size and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SIobhan1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    482
    166
    47
    33
See reviews for
206
310
70
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Nova before as its very handy for all the sights, shops, bars and restaurants as its just across the road from the palace and Dam square. This time we were not as pleased as it has gone more downhill than before. It was a bit grubby and the breakfast was quite poor for the high cost so I don't think we will be going back when we next visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alibobsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 8 days in Amsterdam and we stayed here at the Nova Hotel.

We had an amazing week and the hotel was a great base due to its convenient location a short walk from Dam Square.

The room was ok and comfortable. The wifi works well and unlike many other Amsterdam Hotels, it is free throughout the hotel. We had a big fridge in our room which was useful and unexpectedly big. The bathroom was fabulous and high quality. We used the hotel as a base and called back often do to it being so convenient. The trams to Central Station in one direction and various interesting destinations in the other. They are very frequent and cheap to use with multi day unlimited use tickets being good value.

Guests are also able to leave luggage which we did on both our arrival and departure days as it meant we could arrive early and leave late.

I guess the slightly high price is the trade off for the location and free wifi. We will.definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hufhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 102, which was a triple, so plenty of room. The hotel is in a quiet but really good location for all the tourist must sees. Service was always with a smile, even when l broke the room safe. Breakfast was the usual continental fare, which set us up for the days sightseeing. Only 3 minute walk to Dam Square, O'Reillys bar is only 2 minutes work away, if your a football fan this is the place to go. So in summary l would recommend this hotel to other travellers

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nitram64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Access to the room was up (and down) various steps, stair cases and 2 (maybe 3) fire doors to negotiate - terrible with luggage, room smelt strange and looked like drab cheap motel.
Bathroom was bizarrely fabulous, modern and very clean. Breakfast was good for a budget hotel.
If I had paid 30% of what I paid I would have been happy but it was a lot of money for such a low budget room.

Room Tip: Can not recommend 105, access is terrible with luggage. Smells strange, cheap looking drab room, ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giant56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked this hotel mainly for its location which is as good a you could get, right in the centre of the City. Great for walking just about everywhere.
We had a family room, even though it was just two of us and it was a very good size with two separate bedroom areas--Ideal for banishing a snorer to!
The beds were very comfortable. This is not a luxury hotel by any means. Its quite basic, but very clean and tidy and if its really a base you are looking for, then this fits the bill perfectly. Be aware that if any of your party have mobility issues, there are a lot of stairs to negotiate even if you use the lift.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road catch a lot of street noise. Room 28 excellent as a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The nova Amsterdam has a very good location . The public transport are in front of the hotel . The taxi to central station is only 10 euros . You can also walk to Leiden square , Dam square , shopping,flower market and lot more. The reception staff are very friendly and helpfully . The room was sufficiently wide for three persons accommodation . The cleanness of the room was more than expected . In spite that I believe it is a little bit expensive hotel for its value I would stay there next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbdouI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#138 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#135 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#174 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#91 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#112 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nova Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Nova Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Nova Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing