We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the top floor in summer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #138 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
112 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Avoid the top floor in summer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

My buddy and I stayed here in May '09. We arrived into the central station and walked down the Damrak to the Dam Square. Turned right, then left, and then a couple of blocks down to the right was the hotel hidden behind a bunch of trees. The entrance is down a few steps from the sidewalk. Once you get inside the lobby is a good size with a couple of lounge chairs and sofa. There was a separate room off the lobby which was the communal computer room. The reception desk is immediately to the left of the entrance. We were greeted by the receptionist and we checked in quite quickly and were off to our room.

Our room was on the top floor facing the street and it was hot up there. We arrived late in the afternoon and when we got up to our room it was hot! We opened the windows and went out to get some food and walk around and figured the room would cool down by then. It didn't. I headed downstairs to get a fan while my buddy took a shower (yes, there's no AC). Front desk showed us where they had some fans and said grab whatever we wanted. Yeah, there was no help, but we knew what to expect from a budget hotel in Europe. So got a desk fan and a floor fan and took them up the room in the elevator. The room was good size to be able to hold 2 twin beds on either side of the room a small desk and en-suite bathroom. The decor was outdated and the beds were not so good. The carpet was bit dirty. The windows were still a little cracked open at night to let the air circulate, but that only let in the noise from outside.

All in all the room gave the impression of a 2 star hotel. Since we only needed this place to sleep for a night, we were satisfied with the hotel, but we will probably look for another place next time.


We really

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    436
    152
    40
    30
See reviews for
179
289
68
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

this hotel was good value for money and well located basic but clean the family room was large there was noise from the tram lines being directley outside but would stay here again and would recomend the hotel..

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank angela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

good central hotel, behind royal palace in Dam square. Nice clean rooms, comfi beds and beatiful shower room . good breakfast always fresh and filled up regularly. free hot water available in hotel lobby. I would use this hotel again very secure which is unusual in the Dam.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

Walk to central station and the main square. Breakfast basic but included in the room rate. Very good value .

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank wearytravla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The hotel is close to the town centre, shopping area, restaurant and bar. It's ideal also for girls travelling alone. The breakfast is good, but they can improve, adding for example different types of bread. The wifi connection (free) didn't work in the room. Available in the lobby, there are 3 internet station. We had only a problem: the room was too hot!
The reception staff should smile a little bit more!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Had a fantastic time! Staff are genuine and room was fantastic! Highly recommend it!!! Location was fantastic just a few minutes walk to Dam sq! And a tram ride away from all other major locations! Loved our spiral staircase in our room! Amazing!!! Definatly stay in this same hotel again! 5 stars *****

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolAbbie_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed in a single room for 3 nights. Asked for a quiet room and got one in back, and it was nice and quiet. Room was very clean. Room was normal size for Dutch standards, but small by American standards. Bathroom is clearly recently remodeled. Nicer than a 3-star I stayed at in Arnhem. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was reliable and a reasonable (but not big) selection. Note: The Dutch do not cook their bacon anything like Americans do (I found this at every Dutch hotel I was at on my trip), so I hope you like it salty and white (fat). If you dig around, you can find some pieces cooked well enough, though. The coldcuts are typical Dutch, but, if you are smart, you'll use them to make a sandwich and take it with you during the day, so you have a good snack -- and save $$$ and time on eating lunch at restaurants. Note: most tourist attractions are only open 10-5, so you need to be quick about lunch, or you'll run out of time. There's a grocery store a block North of the Hotel that you can get cheap food at -- cash only, though. Though the hotel was 2 blocks from the Red Light district, I felt safe out at night ... strong police presence in the RL district (horseback, scooter, bike, and walkers), so it's quite safe (at least until 10pm).
Excellent location. Get a pass for the Trams. Get a map from the front desk (free) and don't buy one at Central Station for 2.50Euros.
My only complaint would be the wireless ISP. I could log on but their network would drop me from time to time. Annoying. Would take many re-tries and several minutes to re-connect. The trouble is their router, which is not assigning a network address to your laptop. I pointed this out to the staff and he said he'd take it to their network guy, but some other reviewers here have mentioned (earlier) spotty internet wireless, so, I doubt they are doing much about it.
Some comments/tips about attractions: Rijksmuseum is closed until 2013. Canal Museum delayed opening until 4/1. Stedelijk museum closed until later this year. FOAM museum is a bust. VanGogh is worth it. Verzetsmuseum (Dutch Resistance) is worth seeing. Amsterdam Hermitage museum was worth it. Canal tour was OK. The regular Amesterdam historical museum is worth it.
When ordering meals, don't ask for water, or they give you a 10oz bottle of water that costs 5Euros ($6.50)... clearly specify TAP WATER. Otherwise food was not that bad (I expected horrifically expensive food). Service at restaurants is not as good as it is in the States.
Most people speak/understand English wherever I went.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for it. You get off the street, but you'll sleep like a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#136 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,996 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#122 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#105 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#142 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#124 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#96 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#84 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nova Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Nova Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Nova Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing