We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent location and spacious rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #137 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent location and spacious rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is a great option for groups or budget travellers.

Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The layout of the hotel is a bit random due to 5 houses being joined together but it's ok once you get the hang of it. My room was noisy on the weekend but seemed quieter during the week days.

Great location for major sites (all within walking distance) and trams outside the front door. There is also a large supermarket 50 meters from the hotel so it's handy that there's fridges in the rooms.

The staff are friendly and helpful and speak excellent English. They did forget our wake up calls every day - it seemed as though messages were not passed from night to morning staff.

Breakfast was good; cereal, fresh bread and pastries, juice, eggs, bacon and a self service coffee machine. Lots of space for groups to sit.

The lobby was small but comfortable with couches and magazines. There is also a vending machine to get drinks and snacks. There aren't tea and coffee facilities in the rooms but there's a machine in the lobby and hot water for tea is free. Other drinks 1 euro. Free wifi throughout hotel - good connection speed and there are 3 iMac terminals that guests can use for free.

I thought this was an excellent place to explore Amsterdam from so long as you don't mind a bit of street and people noise!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    437
    152
    40
    30
See reviews for
180
289
68
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

The front desk staff were what really made me like this hotel more than I could have. They were so friendly and eager to help in any way they could, even posting my letters after their shift had finished which went above and beyond!

Beware if you need internet access... I had booked this hotel on the basis that they had wifi, but found my room was never connected. A quick call to the front desk confirmed neither my room nor the one next door got wifi. This wasn't a huge pain for me (they do have 2 communal computers downstairs) but it would've been nice to get what I paid for, and definitely a point to note for business travellers or people who need to be more connected.

The rooms are older but clean. I'd stay here again if the price was right, but wouldn't feel a particular loyalty to this hotel over others.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has wifi if that is important to you, as not all rooms do. Rooms by the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melonfawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, South Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We booked Nova Hotel after walking out on the accommodation we had booked at the Amsterdam Inn B & B, which was absolutely terrible.
The Nova hotel staff were friendly, the room was large with a huge 3 cnr bath in bathroom. We had free wifi in our room. This hotel is very central and easy to walk everywhere.
Breakfast was included and was very nice.
The staff were friendly and helped with all our queries.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This hotel was fairly inexpensive, provided 'typical' continental free breakfast (it ain't full english), near Felix Mertis, couple of museums, best beer bar in Amsterdam. Spacious rooms, friendly staff, international clientele. Quiet rooms, but that neon sign in front! (and the trams in the morning....)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canuckfan491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was really surprise with my room. For what I payed for my 3 night stay in Amsterdam, was really worth it. Had a small room (typical), but space excellent for one person and my bathroom was clean with a nice size shower. My towels appeared dirty, with a few holes, but had them replaced easily by asking. My room was facing the train, so until about 7am-1am, the dinging of the train was loud, but honestly I only knew that because my first night I stayed in, but other nights well, liquid sleep, also keeping my window open I could get high. The 7am train was a good alarm though. The breakfast that was served was pretty good and included in my price.
Overall, I would stay at the hotel again (once the price is right) and hopefully will take my partner to this hotel, because of cleanliness and how close it was to resturants and nightlife.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in September 2011.
The hotel is in a very good location,comfortable large rooms very clean rooms.
The service at reception was ok, a little unfriendly in saying that we would stay at the Nova again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rio1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Cheshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Hotel is well placed for station, Dam Square and main canal areas. Trams from outside the hotel serve the main areas (and station) if you DO need them. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful - requests for an extra pillow and plug for the bathroom sink were dealt with promptly and with a smile. Yes - it is a warrren as, like many hotels in A/dam, it is spread over several buildings but there is a lft and you soon get the hang of finding your room. Our bedroom (304) and the bathroom were a good size. It was very quiet - with a view of an inner courtyard (and the windows opposite) but that didn't bother us. The room was hot at times so we left the windows open at night. Beds were very comfortable. A fridge (working), TV, safe and hairdryer were provided. Breakfasts were more than adequate with reasonable choices. There was hot food if you want a cooked breakfast but the cold buffet was good - cold meats and cheeses were 'real' and not 'plastic. Breads were varied and fresh.
The nearby supermarket was useful for milk etc. Tip: get Dutch waffles in a pretty bue and white tin as gifts from here - much cheaper than the souvenir shops. Treat yourself to late afternoon coffee and scrumptous cakes and apple tart at the ground floor cafe in De Bijenkorf in Dam Square to keep you going until your evening meal (cost about 6 euro). Nearby restaurants include Humphreys at 312 who do a menu for 23.95 euro with plenty of choice and also do try La Piccola Trattoria at number 346. It is a lovely little Italian resturant run by two brothers and it is a little gem - 2 can eat well for 24 euro - including wine.
Word of warnIng - the ticket machines at the rail stations to and from the airport only seem to take cards. If you are paying cash you need to queue at the ticket office.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roamingdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#135 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,997 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#122 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#105 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#141 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#125 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#94 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#84 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nova Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nova Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Nova Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing