We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Di-Ann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Di-Ann
Ranked #317 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Rooms are miniscule and basic but clean to an acceptable limit, very shabby an out of date. Beware of the steep stairs at the entrance. Staff were friendly and allowed us to check in early at no extra cost, breakfast was basic but substantial. Main issue was the radiator at the side of the bed which turned the room into a sauna, we could not turn it off and requested that the staff do it but returned to find it still on. Instead we were given two bottles of water to ward off dehydration.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cokes68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    146
    194
    108
    111
See reviews for
44
246
47
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here over the weekend with some friends and the location was great, only a 10-15 minute walk from the station and very central for seeing everything in Amsterdam.
This hotel seriously needs a facelift...the rooms are dated and shabby. The bathrooms are not great and facilities such as towels and toiletries are minimal.
If you only want somewhere to put your head down with a great location for exploring the city then this place is ok, there is also a bike rental shop next door which is convenient. Otherwise choose elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stairs are very steep (and lots of them) so go for a low floor if stairs are an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

After booking our stay in this hotel I did a little research into what other people though. I saw extremely bad reviews and a few good which unsettled me. On our arrival the first thing we noticed were the extremely steep stairs! (Not for the faint hearted) We were greeted by friendly staff, particularly a lady who we think was a cleaner (she was lovely). We went up a second flight of steep stairs and arrived to our small and dimly lit bedroom. Our room was clean and the bed was comfy however we literally couldn't walk anywhere and had to take it in turns to get ready for our day/night out. Breakfast was quite poor - there was literally three choices of cereal, a jug of milk and orange, some yogurts and toast with egg; this was made a little better by being able to eat on the balcony which had lovely views of the canal. We were a few minutes walk from Anne Franks house, Dam square and Centraal station so was able to spend our time exploring knowing our luggage and hotel were in walking distance. Sleeping was very difficult due to the amount of noise - if it wasn't the trams, bikes, cars or buses going past it was the mini fridge in our room humming so I advise ear plugs.

All in all our trip to Amsterdam was a good one and this hotel did the job for us as all we really wanted was somewhere to store our luggage, freshen up and sleep.

Room Tip: We noticed when walking past that some of the rooms further round the front of the hotel were bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess_6933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Upon arriving to our super dimly lit microscopic room (with only enough room for a bed) we were welcomed by a turd in the toilet and a bag of rotting smelling garbage in our room. There were no toiletries at all and 2 pathetic looking dark purple scary towels. On the up side ~ the staff were nice and the location was good. I would NEVER stay here again. Horrible horrible horrible room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmmmmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#103 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,666 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel La Belle Vue
Hotel La Belle Vue
#309 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel de Westertoren
Hotel de Westertoren
#215 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#295 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#307 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#286 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Di-Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Di-Ann

Property: Hotel Di-Ann
Address: Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Di-Ann 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Budget Places, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Di-Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Di Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing