We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“simple room, good location.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Di-Ann

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Di-Ann
Ranked #317 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“simple room, good location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

After booking our stay in this hotel I did a little research into what other people though. I saw extremely bad reviews and a few good which unsettled me. On our arrival the first thing we noticed were the extremely steep stairs! (Not for the faint hearted) We were greeted by friendly staff, particularly a lady who we think was a cleaner (she was lovely). We went up a second flight of steep stairs and arrived to our small and dimly lit bedroom. Our room was clean and the bed was comfy however we literally couldn't walk anywhere and had to take it in turns to get ready for our day/night out. Breakfast was quite poor - there was literally three choices of cereal, a jug of milk and orange, some yogurts and toast with egg; this was made a little better by being able to eat on the balcony which had lovely views of the canal. We were a few minutes walk from Anne Franks house, Dam square and Centraal station so was able to spend our time exploring knowing our luggage and hotel were in walking distance. Sleeping was very difficult due to the amount of noise - if it wasn't the trams, bikes, cars or buses going past it was the mini fridge in our room humming so I advise ear plugs.

All in all our trip to Amsterdam was a good one and this hotel did the job for us as all we really wanted was somewhere to store our luggage, freshen up and sleep.

Room Tip: We noticed when walking past that some of the rooms further round the front of the hotel were bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess_6933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    153
    205
    116
    118
See reviews for
49
258
53
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
149 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Upon arriving to our super dimly lit microscopic room (with only enough room for a bed) we were welcomed by a turd in the toilet and a bag of rotting smelling garbage in our room. There were no toiletries at all and 2 pathetic looking dark purple scary towels. On the up side ~ the staff were nice and the location was good. I would NEVER stay here again. Horrible horrible horrible room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmmmmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel is well situated near Dam Square and about 20-25 minutes walk from the Centraal Station. It is surrounded by beautiful canals and shops, restaurants and bars. My friend and I had a twin room and it was perfect for what we wanted... We used it as a base mainly for luggage as we spent a lot of time out and about. The room was clean and organised and the staff were friendly and gave us their recommendations for entertainment places. It is also close to the Red Light District. The only con would be the steep stair case up to the reception from the street but it is perfectly acceptable if you have small luggage.

All in all it is a perfect hotel for closeness to most tourist areas.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheniece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

You don't get a lot for your money in Amsterdam. This place was only around 30 pounds more than a hostel. The stairs are fine, it's just how the houses were built in Amsterdam. The room was an OK size and the shower was hot. The windows needed a clean and there were a bit of a damp problem but overall it was clean. If you have problems with traffic noise simply bring ear plugs with you. Breakfast was pretty good, and the gave you the chance to chat to other guests while watching some english TV.

Helpful?
Thank alex532
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Levenmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had stayed last year and knew what to expect. Although the smell of cat pee at door entrance was overwhelming (hold your nose going up the stairs to reception) the rooms are adequate for sleeping and relaxing in. We had a balcony (great to people watch from) and great views of street and canals. Bed linen was fresh and clean, but no towels in room on arrival, and safe deposit box did not work. Adequate tea/coffee making facilities. Good location and close to all attractions. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#114 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,780 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#287 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel de Westertoren
Hotel de Westertoren
#209 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#311 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#289 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#156 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Di-Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Di-Ann

Property: Hotel Di-Ann
Address: Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Di-Ann 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Budget Places so you can book your Hotel Di-Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Di Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing