We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Close to Dam Square ! Staff Friendly and Very Helpful!!”
Review of Hotel Di-Ann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Di-Ann
Ranked #315 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Close to Dam Square ! Staff Friendly and Very Helpful!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

It was my 21st birthday on 2nd December and my mum and dad kindly paid for me and my boyfriend (aged 23) to go Amsterdam for the weekend.

Staff:
We arrived at the hotel early in the morning as we had a very early morning flight, the young girl on reception was very helpful, telling us about the best clubs, cafe's, restraunts and other places to visit in Amsterdam. Another staff member (male) showed us to our room, he was also very pleasant and polite.

Room:
We had a balcony room which was amazing and we saw some beautiful sights!! I was surprised as we entered the room as I had read some awful reviews on here prior to our stay.

The room was basic, but had everything we needed. The room was very clean, very very warm (i was worried about it being cold as it was december and very cold out there) but it was actually very warm, cosy and comfterble. The bed was clean with clean sheets and was confterble. The maids changed the bedding everyday and freshened the room up whilst we was out, which we were fine with but you can request for them not to enter your room. The bathroom was good, had everything you needed like shampoo, conditioner flannels etc. There was not a Hair dryer in our room, however the reception happily provided us with one (plus adapters as we forgot them too).

Location:
The location was brilliant, we were close to everything and saved money on paying for taxi's traints etc. The locals are lovely and are very helpful.

Overall we had a good holiday and are already planning our second trip to the same hotel for March this year!

hope I have covered everything, sorry we took no pictures!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielleLouise_92x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    161
    218
    126
    125
See reviews for
54
273
57
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Location is great. Apart from that, the hotel is dirty (no housekeeping service at all) and the staff is quite impolite. There is a TV in the room which doesn't work, the restroom smells, breakfast is poor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anonymou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

the hotel was very close to dam square , the staff were lovely very helpfull and kind . the room was small, but clean , bed comfy .. we would stay again , we could look out of our balcony and see the royal palace ... breakfast very nice ,,,, just be prepared for the stairs not for the faint hearted lol . all in all we loved it

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel after a very early morning flight to find an argument in the main reception!!! A group of guests & the reception staff...about the state of their rooms & noise. We get told by the guests don't bother to stay there!!! I'm thinking where else do we stay as it's the MTV shows this weekend in Amsterdam literally every hotel we walked past on the way to the hotel was fully booked.
We came back later after we left our bags in the locker room & explored the city...we were offered 2 rooms as a couple didn't check in...we are thinking this must be because of the situation when we arrived! One room had a balcony which I liked but the noise was a little loud (trams & traffic) we also felt a very cold draft coming through the doors so that put my partner off. We opted for the smaller room & it was in the corner of the building over looking the canal. Rooms are cosy & basic but not worth what you pay for...the only reason we can think of this cost is for the location as 10mins walk from The Dam & 5mins (maybe not even that) walk to Anne Frank's house. Our sink was literally in the shower we could have showered & cleaned ourselves at the same time! My bedside light was hanging off the main headboard & there's no hearing in the rooms. There's a very steep stairs not suitable for young children/elderly people & we couldn't see a lift anywhere...don't carry heavy suitcases!
The breakfast was very basic yogurt, cereal & toast.
I hope to try another hotel if returning to the city, as we can get somewhere more central for the same cost & the quality of the rooms a bit more standard.
Ps. If you have a cat allergy then don't stay here as there's 2 resident cats on the main floor that like to wonder!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank starbearsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Arrived to the hotel to find out they "hadn't" received our booking and because it was a busy weekend there were no rooms left. I was travelling with a group of friends and we had booked 2 rooms. 3 of the girls had their room sorted and was fine, but they said they didn’t have a room for the other 2 of us. The manager got involved, firstly ignoring us whilst we was trying to ask him normal questions such as: Do you not have any rooms left at all? After an hour waiting around, He then finally found a room which was funnily enough NEXT DOOR to my friends room. After giving us the room key, he snatched it out of my brothers hand, started swearing at us and walked away like a child! After a few moments he came back out and gave us the key to our room? After an awful start to the trip we got to our rooms to find no safe in the girls room, but a safe in our room which didn’t work. So we had nowhere to store or keep safe our personal belongings. The second day, one of the staff members walked straight into my friends room without even knocking and disturbed them. This is the morning when the girls are trying to get dressed!! So this random man who’s staff just walked into a room full of girls trying to get changed which i think is disgusting!!

The rooms are small, dirty walls and ceilings, needs a good refurb! Quite loud too, can hear people from above making noise walking around. Also very loud from the road.

Stairs are scarily narrow, not for older people or children.

Pictures of the hotel arent very accurate, as not all rooms have a balcony, not as big as they look etc.

Overall the service my friends and i received was shocking and i would NEVER stay here again.

Don’t recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OLIVIA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Rooms were functional and not luxurious but acceptable. Space and room decoration was limited. The room balcony was excellent for viewing Amsterdam. The staff were friendly and helpful. Service was limited - I asked for an extra towel and a new light bulb in the room but after these were 'noted', nothing happened! But other services were good. (On this form I am only allowed choose between either 'average' or 'very good'. I would prefer to have the option of also writing 'fair' and/or 'good'.)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank trpmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

on the second day of our stay, shortly before leaving for the rest of the day, we advised the cleaners that we did not need our room servicing that day. We left the hotel (which the cleaners saw us do) only to return very shortly afterwards to collect something we had forgotten. To our horror, the door was locked from the inside and we could not get in.

one of us left to go and see reception and i stayed by the door. Shortly after my friend had gone to reception the latch turned and the 'cleaners' appeared, somewhat surprised to see me shall we say. after a brief series of lies (they were in the bathroom and couldn't hear us trying to access the door) they made off to their quarters.

Needless to say, we raised it with the hotel manager. to be fair to him, he handled the situation very well. He wanted all the facts and told us to leave it with him. Later in the day we met with one of the cleaners and the manager himself. We were flabbergasted to hear one lie after another from the cleaner and a flat refusal that he had even been in our room. After the meet the hotel manager told us he would be firing the cleaners. However, the next day we saw one of them still working in the hotel.

i can commend the way the manager handled the situation and kept the conversation participants relatively calm when it could have easily been inflamed. however, by this point our stay was ruined and we felt unsafe in the hotel. we were offered nothing by way of compensation. we have stayed in this hotel before for its excellent location, however we WILL NOT stay there again.

i am not naive enough to know these things dont go on in hotels worldwide, but catching someone red-handed who then denies everything beggars belief. we cannot recommend this place after our experience.

Room Tip: choose one off the main road, it gets very noisy early in the morning, and stays so until late at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Longines_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#107 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,968 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#308 of 368 in Amsterdam
653 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#301 of 368 in Amsterdam
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#321 of 368 in Amsterdam
186 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#253 of 368 in Amsterdam
285 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel de Westertoren
Hotel de Westertoren
#245 of 368 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Di-Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Di-Ann

Property: Hotel Di-Ann
Address: Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Di-Ann 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Di-Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Di Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing