We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Budget Hotel”
Review of Hotel Di-Ann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Di-Ann
Ranked #315 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant Budget Hotel”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Visiting Amsterdam for the first time this was an ideal budget hotel to stay at. Its location is great, a 15 minute or so walk from the main train station (trains are easy to catch from the airport). Stairs are a bit of a shock and challenge when you first arrive but we soon got used to them and found them amusing - to be fair most houses/hotels in Amsterdam are the same but dont stay here if you have mobility issues.

Room - small and basic but clean and a massive bathroom. We were lucky enough to get a balcony which was an excellent edition as views of one of the canals and towards Dam square. No tea/coffee making facilities but a fridge so you could store water. Bed was comfy. On the basis that we were out most of the time I think it was a great location at a great price. The busy road didnt even keep me awake after all the walking.

Breakfast - dont stay here expecting a full English - you are in Amsterdam - cereal, toast, boiled eggs, cheese, ham etc - plenty of it, all fresh and lots of tea, coffee and orange juice.

Staff - very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. Look out for the discount cards, tour information etc

I cant wait to return and will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: try and get one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwj1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    161
    218
    126
    125
See reviews for
54
273
57
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed on night at end of May and chose this hotel because it was the cheapest we could find with good reviews. The hotel is basic and is what it says it is, which is exactly what we needed. The bed was a double size and comfortable, shower had good water pressure. Bathroom and overall room size are small and quite dated but functional. A good hotel, great location near all the main sights, in the lower price bracket in Amsterdam. Our room was number 208 and had a nice view of the canal outside, noise was not an issue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah NSW
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

You couldnt get a better location, especially if you go for a balcony room so you can see the canal. The rooms are very small, bathroom even smaller. But clean and the staff are very nice. Breakfast room is well stocked. Watch the stairs though if you have difficulty - they are steep and narrow and pose a bit of a problem with luggage. A pleasant enough stay. Definately get a balcony !!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llewelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The location and service of this hotel makes this place worth staying. Here's my score card:

Good
1. 3 blocks away from Anne Frank museum
2. 10 min walk to red light district
3. 10 min tram ride from train station
4. 15 min walk to Leidsestraat street for great shopping and late night eating
5. Working Wifi included!

Bad
1. Typical European hotel. Lots of stairs, small rooms, narrow hall ways, no a/c or fan, moldy bathroom.
2. Breakfast includes tea, coffee, hard boiled egg, and toast. Simpe, should not be considered when booking this hotel.
3. No hair dryer included.

I will return to Amsterdam next year and I will probably stay here again. If you know what you're getting into and set your expectations you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back which had a nice breeze and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthego619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a family room here for 2 nights, the room was bigger than I expected and has the basics plus a hairdryer which I wasnt expecting from other reviews. The breakfast is very basic indeed but still ok. It is NOT in any way luxury or anything like, yes the stairs are very steep but that was ok with only hand luggage- any mobility problem dont bother!! The location is FANTASTIC u can walk everywhere within dam square region and easily get a tram to vondelpark and museums.the staff are friendly and helpful- we liked this place, it is great if on a budget and we would return :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sehseh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A great value for money hotel. It's basic, but clean, breakfast is excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly. Central to everything in Amsterdam, restaurants, bars, shops all on your door step. Ask for a room with a balcony!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank GWSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#107 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,967 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#308 of 368 in Amsterdam
652 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#301 of 368 in Amsterdam
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#325 of 368 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#253 of 368 in Amsterdam
285 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel de Westertoren
Hotel de Westertoren
#240 of 368 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Di-Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Di-Ann

Property: Hotel Di-Ann
Address: Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Di-Ann 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Di-Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Di Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing