We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fab Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Di-Ann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Di-Ann
Ranked #318 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    155
    208
    118
    118
See reviews for
49
261
53
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited this hotel last year and have finally wrote a review. This hotel is a dump and certainly NOT value for money. The bathroom smelt like old urine.. we had to push 2 single beds together even though we asked for a double. The sheets from the bed gave my boyfriend a rash, the time we had to spend in the room was spent wishing we were in the Ritz. The breakfast was very poor, it involved packet cereal and some old bread, you even had to clear your plates away yourself, we ate out on the second morning, thankfully only staying for 2 nights. Amsterdam itself is great, loads to do and great for a first holiday as was ours.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We visited Amsterdam for1 night in December. We found good review of Hotel Di-Ann location and on the website it offered 75 euro a night thought we would give it a go.
Then more than 2 weeks prior to arrival, I realised with a tight train connection, we might not able to check in the hotel on the 27 of December, so I emailed the hotel to notify and request date change to 28 of December.
I then received an OK email, no problem with that see you on the 28 Dec.

Then I received a 2nd email from a manager of this hotel " The reception sent you wrong email, you have to pay 40 euro extra to check in a day latter".

I was a little surprise and sent another email asking for the reason of the extra charge? knowing that we had given the hotel plenty of notice?.
What I got back was "take it or leave it, around this time we all are very busy, we were undercharged you anyway!"

Well this is our 1st time to Amsterdam and did not want to lose our already paid room, and not knowing Amsterdam areas to look for some thing else, I decided to go ahead and paid the extra charge.

Upon arrival, we were completely underwhelmed by what this hotel had to offer, other than a very apologetic receptionist on the extra charge fee, she was extremely friendly and helpful. Spent time to explain us what to see, how to get to areas that we were interested in seeing.

Once we got to our room, we had a shock and realised this hotel has got nothing going for, other than for a friendly female receptionist and the location.

Our room was extremely small, and there was a terrible smell in the room, I had to leave the door to the balcony open even in a freezing and raining weather, still couldn't get rid of it. The bed linens were old, coarse, and of the cheapest materials orange checker and purple colours.

The double bed side was pushed up to the wall, there room was cramp, smelly... argh. The bathroom was just another disaster. Toilet is just right to the front door!... Honestly, I had better backpacker room in Khaosan Bangkok where I paid less than 10usd per night!!!

The breakfast was adequate, with limited choices in a very small room, there is a little balcony off the breakfast room overlooking the street.

Amsterdam is a fantastic city, friendly people, amazing energy, we love every minutes in this city. Shame about this hotel, and if you are in no way fussy this may be fine for you, however I would not recommend this hotel and would never stay here again upon my return to Amsterdam!
Stay 1 night 28 December 2012.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_Giang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

norwich
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

the hotel was very clean and well situated for our needs. the staff were helpful. our room was very small but this didn't matter to us as we were out alot. onsuite had very good shower. i would recommed this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank polly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

A real hidden Gem, How do I know this? I've stayed here 4 times. Each time was a twin room and I have not been disappointed yet. :D

This is a 2 star Hotel and is great for what it is, DO NOT EXPECT A 4 STAR IF YOU BOOKED A 2 STAR!

First of all lets mention the stairs like everyone does, They are a little steep, BUT! This is mentioned on all the Hotel Websites.
It was mentioned by the travel agent we used.
And it is mentioned in the Travel books.
If you don't like stairs and you didnt realise there was stairs then you did NOT do your research, so you have yourself to blame!

The Reception - Greeted by warm smiles and great service, Booked in in mere moments and we were off to our room!

The Room - Great little room, Clean, Freshly made bed, TV, a Safe, Working Free WIFI, Your own Bathroom with shower also clean, and a great view of one of the bridges over one of the canals.

Breakfast - No idea, I've never been awake early enough! :D

Location - Excellent, Any closer to the sights and you'd have to pay a lot more for a hotel!
5 Minute walk from the Anne Frank Museum (A must see), 5 minute walk to Dam Square (where Madam Tusseuds is), 10 minute was to the Red Light District ( oo er! ), 15 minute from the Train station, Which is where the coach from the Rotterdam Ferry drops you off/Picks you up.

Price - Was around £35 a night for a twin room, BARGIN!

Excellent Hotel, To the Manager - CHANGE NOTHING :D

I'll be staying here again and again.

Cheers!

Room Tip: Tip the staff, they deserve it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Asper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#114 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,809 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#290 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#308 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#291 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel de Westertoren
Hotel de Westertoren
#237 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#278 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Di-Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Di-Ann

Property: Hotel Di-Ann
Address: Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Di-Ann 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Di-Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Di Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing