We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad!”
Review of Hotel Di-Ann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Di-Ann
Ranked #317 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Orange County CA
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Hotel di-Ann was perfect for us. At first glance I'm sure it's a little scary for some. The rooms are a little run down, it can be noisy and the showers aren't exactly desirable. That being said its also all you need of visiting for a few days of sightseeing. It's clean, wonderfully located, and the management is very nice and accommodating. Just block from Dam Square and a short walk from train station. You can easily walk to most areas and a short bike ride or taxi away from others. My husband and I stopped in for a few days on our honeymoon and met all kinds of wonderful people. But if you're a tourist and not a traveler, if you need your white gloved test, fresh pressed bathrobe, brown nosing concierge and have a fear of chipped paint (oh my!) then this place is not for you. You should find yourself a place to be pampered so it doesn't feel like your traveling at all. You'll also miss out on the whole experience. But to others I say stay here, have fun and enjoy.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JulieMartin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    161
    218
    126
    125
See reviews for
54
273
57
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Better then I expected after seeing some unPleasant pictures but was happy with the room, clean and comfy. Was given a balcony room on request once we got there. Towels linen etc cool, no kettle in room though & breakfast Is very basic-toast, boiled egg cereal basically.
Short walk from all you need and approx 10/15mins walk from central station...
Nothing plush but for a nice cheap hotel it's good.
Overall happy....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank FLOLa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitesti, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The room was small but clean with great views from the balcony.
Breakfast pretty poor, but OK.
Very close to the tram station.
5 minutes to Dam Square and Albert Heijn Market.
From Central Station you can reach the hotel walking in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabrielPRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I do hope this helps someone.....so although its room was not cleaned to my standard, it was ok,we had clean bedding and they tidy'd up every day.the room had a safe,fridge,t.v, and table and chairs and the hotel has free wi-fi,we had our own wetroom that always had hot water! breakfast consisted of cereals, bread/toast, hard boiled eggs and cheese, with juice, tea and coffee, a large selection on all counts, i loved having breakfast here, it started the day off well. the staff at the di-ann were friendly and helpfull. this hotel is located about 5mins if that away from dam square, we walked everywhere as it was all so close however the tram does stop outside the hotel and goes to lots of good places, this also was a bad point as the start running early til late but it wasnt as noisey as i thought. there is a supermarket around the corner of the hotel that saved us abit of money,we found that shops tend not to price things so they can overcharge you at tourist price! i would stay there again, at the end of the day, it was safe,clean and tidy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank teemze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Let me start by saying this hotel is not going to be for you if you're used to traveling in style and luxury. To be honest, I am. However, I booked this hotel for a lads' getaway and it was perfect. We wanted to keep the price down whilst being in a nice neigbourhood, within walking distance of the attractions. For this, the hotel for perfect. Those boxes were all ticked. Turn right out of the hotel door and you are less than 5 minutes walk from the Dam Square. Perfect.

Okay, so the location is great: what about the hotel? Well, the very next thing you should know is how many steps you have to navigate from the street to the reception. As I remember, it's 36 - steep ones - and a further 18 to our floor. Yes, that's 54 steps to climb - in whatever state you arrive back home after a night in the Red Light District! Still, it wasn't so bad and a source of amusement to our group. And the route to the street in the A.M. was swift! ;-) So, what I am really saying is: do not stay here if the steps are going to be a problem to you. You will hate it! If, however, you're going to miss your daily workout routine whilst in Amsterdam - this is the place for you!

Once you've reached the reception, you'll be greeted warmly and checked in with minimal fuss. They say the day staff are better than the night, but that wasn't an issue for us.

Rooms are bordering on hostel rather than hotel, but they are clean and tidy. There was a TV and a safe, and it was very warm - completely contradicting some of the reviews I've read here - bordering on too warm. Beds aren't the most comfortable, but (again) this won't matter to to a group of lads returning 'home' in a state. Plus, the bathroom was the smallest I've ever seen, but it did its job and was clean - tick.

Over all, we all thought the Hotel Di Ann was perfectly acceptable. The breakfasts were simple but enough to start the day, and we didn't have a problem of any kind.

We would definitely stay again, but don't think I'm rating this 4**** - it's not anywhere near that and doesn't claim to be.

I'm giving it 4 out of 5 for what we got in relation to what we paid and our expectation level.

Room Tip: Apparently it is possible to get rooms with a balcony. I think you'll need to book these in adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel110970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for two nights first room we had was not suitable so we asked to be moved this was done with no hassle nice hotel for a couple of nights but if you have problems with your legs the stairs are a bit steep and this would put me off staying next time apart from the stairs not a bad hotel for short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#107 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,968 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#308 of 368 in Amsterdam
653 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#301 of 368 in Amsterdam
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#322 of 368 in Amsterdam
186 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#255 of 368 in Amsterdam
285 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel de Westertoren
Hotel de Westertoren
#243 of 368 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Di-Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Di-Ann

Property: Hotel Di-Ann
Address: Raadhuisstraat 27, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Di-Ann 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Di-Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Di Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing