We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“IGet a "cool" room if you can!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 15%
Ranked #49 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“IGet a "cool" room if you can!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I was travelling with three generations and the location was perfect. We could walk everywhere in ten minutes. We used the canal boatwhich was close by, for the Rijks Musem and the Van Gogh museum.The hotel staff was excellent. Lissane and Walkiiy at the front desk, always smiled and were always helpful. They upgraded one room to a "cool room", of which there are only five. Mine was carved out of an old Dutch house . The room is very contemporary , all white, but also had a loft in the atic which was a perfect place to watch a movie or play a game with a child. It was a wonderful surprise. Ralph Reiners , one of the managers was especially thoughtful and helpful when I was having trouble with my lap top's internet connection. He actually came to my room to try to solve the problem. The internet is free and there is also an internet station in the lobby with computers and also wireless and wired connections. Thus you have a backup, in case your laptop is not working perfectly.

The amenities in the room were especially nice. They included the usual, but also handcream in a little jar by Ann Semonin of Paris, in addition to the usual body lotion. The lighting controls in the bedroom were very convenient ,as well as ,the special spot for your own items in the fridge. The other room we had, while not brand new was well maintained and very attractive in nautical colors. Both rooms had an iron as well as a pants press. The street was mainly quiet except for one Saturday night reveler. The hotel is adjacent to Amsterdam University which has an excellent archeological museum.

I had dinner in the hotel. The meal was freshly cooked, as the chef cooks in the dining room. I had lobster and it was only 25 euro. It was excellent. There were several other specials all resonably priced.

The price of the rooms varies considerably on the internet. Some dates ,even in the same week, appear much cheaper than others ,so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celebrationtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    1,055
    281
    53
    28
See reviews for
375
1,131
137
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

The hotel itself is fine -- confortable beds, good pillows, nice bath/shower, adequate storage -- so I'm pretty sure you'll be confortable here. What makes it really nice is the location -- close to te Red Light District, but not in it. More than that, it was an easy walk in both directions to other interesting parts of town. We did pass many other hotels and think the location of this one was ideal. We had an esy time finding places to eat, even ones recommended on the Internet, and walked to them all. Our room faced the street, which we asked for, and had no problem with noise. We'd stay here again.

One thing that you really need to know about this and likely all other hotels in downtown Amsterdam: ask if they have a shuttle from the airport. This one did, but it is not on their website. Also, you will not be able to drag your luggage through town from the train station -- well, you could, but it would not be easy -- so you'll end up paying 20 Euros to get from the train station to the hotel -- and this hotel was relatively close. Adding in the cost of the train ticket for the two of us and the tip to the taxi driver, it cost us 30 euros to get from the hotel to the airport, and took about an hour. Going back to the airport, we took a car (aranged by the hotel) for 40 euros and got there in 20 minutes. This hotel also has a shuttle bus for 15 euros each, which is a great deal.

We think this is one of the better hotels we've stayed in when in Europe, so we easily recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisInMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

My husband and I love this hotel in Amsterdam. We have stayed here twice now. Our first time was summer of 2009 and then again in November 2009. This is a nice hotel and not too far away from restaurants and sight seeing activities. The staff is always very helpful. The rooms are nice and spacious. They open to the inside of the hotel. It is a great place to stay while in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asnc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Completely disappointing experience as a business traveller. I do not expect a huge room with a tiny single bed and I don't expect an outdated bathroom with a pathetic stream of water in the shower. The room was on the road with limited double glazing which meant road noise and the sounds of revellers on the street penetrated my sleep. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Positives: -
This hotel has a good location, everywhere is within walking distance and we felt safe when out at night (2 female travellers). The hotel is a 5 mins walk away (max) from Dam square, Rembrant place and the red light district.
The conceige gave us a map on the first day, pointed out the main places and explained how to get there - which was very useful.
Rooms are very quite as they face onto a cental atrium - where the check in desks, etc are. So there is no road noise.
The majority of staff were really friendly and helpful.
Rooms are comfortable, there were marks on the furtniture from wear and tear. But they were clean and safe.
Liked the heated floor in the bathroom.

The negatives are: -
Rooms have no natural light or fresh air due to patio doors opening onto the atrium.
The faux balcony has a gap either side, unsafe for small children.
They were refurbing the fitness centre and restaurant - I think we should have been told this BEFORE we arrived at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller77_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Wonderful stay at Raddison. Hotel was very well located and on a relatively quiet street. Staff was very helpful. Make sure to stop for a drink at the bar. It's charming and the bartenders are very friendly. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and well appointed. If you are a huge fan of airconditioning you may be disappointed. It was explained that the hotel has more of an air exchange system than air conditioning. Evenings in Amsterdam are not very warm though. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeDBuffalo_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Hotel was fine, room was a bit dark, and the place felt a bit old. The breakfast was €25, which we refused to play (considering you can get an Irish Breakfast for €5 to €7 elsewhere). Plus the internet in the place is like €7 for 15mins which is also a rip off. Saying that, we didnt spend much time in the hotel. But we loved the location. Bout 5 mins to Dam Square and 5 mins to Rembrandt Square which was another good place for food and drink. It was also like five mins from the Red Light District, if thats what your there for!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notherdayanothercity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,267 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Rezidor, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing