We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“very nice layover in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Ranked #51 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“very nice layover in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My wife and I had a 22 hour layover in Amsterdam while traveling back to Kenya from an intense trip in the US. We selected the Radisson Blu from options offered as a way to use points from our credit card. It was a great little break and a very nice hotel. The room we reserved was not available when we checked in so the staff offered us an upgrade to a "jr. suite" which was in a more historic section of the hotel and while it had all the amenities of the renovated rooms, it had retained its charm. No question about recommending this hotel, although I don't know what the retail cost per night would be.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. We are delighted about your positive feedback and are looking forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    1,100
    289
    55
    29
See reviews for
406
1,170
141
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
188 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

It wasn't the easiest place to find. Navigating the canals is a little troublesome. It's very conveniently located once you know your way around. The Indian concierge wasn't very friendly and they didn't have at least one room ready early despite my request when making the booking on Bookings.com. Those are my only complaint. The rooms were quite large and clean. We booked on a very good special, so we had a view of the atrium. There isn't much on street outside except a small shop so make sure to buy whatever you need when you're out and about. There's a huge variety of coffee shops and restaurants in walking distance and the red light district isn't too far off either. It was very good value for money and the lady concierge was fantastic. The staff, in genereal, were very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Despite facing the atrium and being on a low floor, then wasn't any disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SashSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We sincerely thank you for your kind and constructive comments, which help us in our plans to further improve the standards of quality and guest comfort we wish to offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Hotel is very Central so basicslly you can see most Of The city on foot whichever way you walk. We did not try eating at The Hotel as for us The Prices were quite High ( Breakfast at 28 euros per person) . We got an excellent deal on booking.com
Highly recommended for a very Clean and well maintained centraly located Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We got out despite the awful rainy weather, but everywhere is more enjoyable in the sunshine. Luckily our last day was perfect. The hotel is tired but the staff are very helpful and the breakfasts were fine. it was a good venue to get about from. The rooms are well serviced with out fuss.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 453as
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dushanbe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Nice and clean hotel with large enough rooms in a centre of old Amsterdam. Very conveninent location if the purpose is sightseeing. Good restaurants and tourist shops around, close to all main touristic places. The staff is helpful and check in/out is fast. For those who are interested there is a bunch of fine famous Amsterdam cofeeshops just around the corner :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilek2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is modern and clean but in an old building like most of Amsterdam. Inside it is nice, just like a typical Marriott but smaller. The breakfast buffet is very good. Small dining room with fresh hot and cold food. Outside, there is a red-painted "coffee house" just opposite which is really a modern day opium den where people smoke marijuana. Why the Dutch chose to legalize drugs is beyond me but a lot of European youth are drawn to it. If I went to Amsterdam again I would make a bee-line for a good Indonesian restaurant.I would avoid the restaurant on top of a shopping center that has a skyline view (unless going just for the view and a coffee). My burger there was raw and it was still raw when a second one was sent to me. I prefer sunshine and beaches nowadays but chilly Amsterdam was OK for a few days after a Viking River cruise from Budapest. I know people there and they took us to a good very old pub. Like much of Europe it has history. We did not get in to Anne Frank's house, The line was too long (and I don't think she was in anyway). The Radisson Blu is very central to the old town and you can do a lot of walking from there.

Room Tip: Not sure because most rooms have no view anyway. It does not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam Valley, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a business/pleasure meeting. The location is perfect if you arrive and then walk the city. But getting there by car means a long trip through busy small roads.
There are lots of things to do in walking distance and many great restaurants.
The hotel food is great and the bar is cozy (too bad they didn't know the ingredients in the "bitterballen") - so a friend had a slight allergic reaction.
The staff the front desk could be a little less curt in their answers but the concierge made up for this in leaps and bounds.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkrarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback. Your comments are valued, and will be used to consider improvements in our guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#45 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Rezidor so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing