We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super quiet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 15%
Ranked #49 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super quiet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Just finishing up a stay at the Radisson Blu. Our trip started off wonderfully when we arrived at 9:30am with the hopes of just dropping off our luggage and coming back later to check in. Henk, at the front desk, checked us in and had a room ready by 10:30am! It was lovely to be able to take an early afternoon nap after traveling all night long. The room was lovely, comfy bed, electric kettle, all marble bath room but the best feature was how quiet it was!! We were able to sleep in both mornings of our staff (too late actually) and never heard anything from the hallway or window (our room over looked the atrium).

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    1,057
    283
    53
    28
See reviews for
378
1,133
137
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC northern suburbs, NY
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I arrived in Amsterdam on Easter Sunday. We stayed for 6 nights in a canal view room on the 1st floor of the annex (2nd floor to Americans). It was a lovely corner room, in the Maritime decor style, quite spacious and quiet, equipped with a coffee maker, free WiFi plus an iron/ironing board should you need them. Yes, the bathroom has a step, but we adjusted quickly to that. The bathroom was also spacious, complete with a little retractable clothesline if you need to hang up a bit of hand wash. The hotel is in the old center, within walking distance of many sights, but still a quiet, less touristy area. Everyone was lovely and helpful, making for a pleasant stay.

We did have dinner in De Palmbloom on Easter Sunday evening as we were quite tired from a full afternoon of touring. The service was very good as was the food. However, since we eat very little for breakfast, we did not partake of the breakfast buffet because it is rather expensive for just having coffee and a pastry which we took in local cafes.

When we arrived that Sunday in Centraal Station, since we had only carry-on luggage, we decided to walk to the hotel which is not on the tram or metro lines. I had written to the hotel as to the feasibility of this, and thought it would be OK. Although Amsterdam is flat, it's about a mile, and that was hard on my husband's knees due to pulling the bags over uneven cobblestones. The hotel did advise us on the correct price if we were to take a taxi, and this proved to be useful advice for our departure. Our departure was the morning of King's Day, and we were quite worried about how we would get back to Centraal Station with the road and tram closures predicted for that morning. Enter George, the outstanding concierge, to the rescue. While inquiring about the location of the Neumarkt metro station, George assured us that we didn't have to walk to the metro and he could get us a taxi if we left before 8 am. Eureka!! We departed the hotel at 7:30am on King's Day in a taxi and were dropped across from the station, at the exact fare advised by the hotel. Thank you, George, and all your co-workers for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We will sent your regards to George the concierge. Best wishes from the Radisson Blu Amsterdam city centre staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Good location , just off Dam square.
Open atrium and reception
Rooms and bathroom are well presented
Bar unfortunately is not open late due to the open atrium that might disturb the residents
Amsterdam is a place that everyone needs to go once in their lives

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlo_Vinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We checked in were told we had a free upgrade as we had pre- paid and the standard rooms were over booked. If that was true, thank goodness as the superior room was boarding standard for this price of hotel. The service in the bar was below average and the room door made a load noise which woke you up. That said the breakfast very very good, the bed was very comfortable and the location was perfect.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ICOmnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at the Radisson Blu for two nights at the end of our holiday to South Africa before flying home to Guernsey.

Good location + great service + quiet + huge breakfast buffet + clean rooms (with a great coffee maker) + good restaurant menu = Perfect place to wind down after the hols.

If we look for constructive feedback, I'd make two suggestions. First, rather than a tube of powdered creamer for the room coffee and tea, it would be a treat to have a small amount of fresh milk in the room fridge. I confess to taking a small jug from breakfast to the room each day....

Second, I suspect the scrambled eggs at breakfast were from powdered eggs, not fresh. Why? They tasted somewhat bland and were in puddles of watery liquid in the pan. I know many hotels use powdered eggs to save cost and chef time, but it would be so much better if fresh eggs were used. The icing on the cake for the Radisson Blu?

Apart from these two small points, we thank the hotel for providing a good place for us to come down to earth after our hols in South Africa.

Would be stay again? Of course we would. Would we advise others to stay? Of course we would.

Room Tip: If you like tea or coffee (the rooms have a great coffee machines), ask for a small jug of milk rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatPapaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback. Your comments are valued, and will be used to consider improvements in the future. We are happy to read that we may welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for my long weekend trip to Amsterdam, what a fantastic hotel, great last min deals and couldn't think of anything to fault the place. Lovely Bar inside the main building, rooms very spacious, clean and everything you need for our stay. 10/10 to the staff great job, location is nice not in the main busy location but only a few min walk from the red light district. I loved this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmorros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was the hotel booked by Viking Cruises for our stay in Amsterdam. Very neat, medium-sized hotel conveniently located in old Amsterdam, near (walking distance) most main tourist sites. Rooms were very pleasant and well appointed, but beds were a bit soft. Good service from front desk personnel and maid service. Hotel stay included a full American breakfast in the hotel restaurant, which was very good and had quite extensive breakfast selections --- a good value. Be watchful for "extra" charges to the bill for in-room mini-bar --- just moving items around in the refrigerator to make room for your stuff will trigger item charges. Also had to "decline" a contribution to a local charity at the front desk that would have been automatically included on the bill, if I had not noticed the paper announcement on the desk in our room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Langhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for this constructive and positive feedback. We are grateful for your rating and look forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,268 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Rezidor, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing