We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Ranked #50 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

A short walk from everything on offer. Great service at a great price. From the moment I walked in, I felt comfortable and at home. Nothing was too much trouble and the cost was excellent value for money

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhrGadet, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
I am happy to see that you had such a good experience with us. And thank you very much for taking the time to share that in this review. I hope we will be able to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    1,095
    286
    53
    29
See reviews for
401
1,168
140
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

this is a very good hotel. good location. excellent rooms. good breakfast. i stayed at a superior room. the service was below expectations. when i arrived, i told the recepcionist i´d like to pay cash. she told me the ammount and i paid. then she told me a deposit was required. i did it by credit card. to my disapointment the whole ammount was immediately debted to the card. as it was a deposit, i´ve never seen it before. they use it upon checkout, if there was any aditional ammount to pay. upon checkout, they told me that there was someting more to pay, and the difference would be credite to the card. now i´m waiting for it. too fast to debt the card, no so fast to credit. another problem i had was when i booked a taxi to the airport. i had to do it 3 times,because for any reason, they "forgot" to do it. I couldn´t expect that these kind of problems could happen at this category of hotel.

Room Tip: ha quartos reformados e outros nao. melhor escolher quartos no predio principal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonimo2-br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in Amsterdam 21st -23rd Jan 2014, with my husband. My friend also booked a room with her partner a week later and we did request a room next to each other which was granted. Room was facing towards the canal.
Found a good deal on app booking.com and £135 for 2 nights. Added a note it was my anniversary and they very kindly left a congratulations card and some sweets!
I know others have said it, from Amsterdam airport get tickets to Amsterdam central station. Go the ticket desk as paying with cash and that is 4.50 Euros each. Trains run frequently and take about 15 minutes. This was our first time in Amsterdam and the hotel did email me directions to walk to the hotel from the Central station however we thought it best to catch a taxi. Taxis (lots of them) outside the trains station and was quoted about 10 Euro and it was this price exactly! Taxi journey is 5 minutes.

Radisson Blu has part of its building across the road this was not a problem. One entrance into the foyer- checking in was easy. Be warned a credit card has to be given for hold in case of any charges and so far no money has come out!

We had rooms 244 and 245. This was located in the opposite building and was no problem had to take lift to basement, walk across corridor then lift to 2nd floor.
We was at end of the corridor here with a fire exit next to us.
Very quiet, did not see anyone entering or leaving their room!
The room had a king size bed with comfortable pillows and duvets. If you would like a different type of pillow you could phone reception and ask for one and there was a list of pillows!
There was a good size TV in the room with lots of English channels including bbc1, itv 1, itv 2 and movie channels. Be warned erotic films are on show after midnight!
There is a mini bar under the tv, be warned prices are high. 5 Euro for a bottle of water. The mini bar is computerized and if you take anything out and not replaced within 15 seconds you are charged. Free tea (lemon, English) , coffee and hot chocolate supplied and replenished daily. We also had free 2 bottles of water on arrival next to the kettle, (although my friend next door never had this). We would fill the kettle with the tap water. The kettle will not work if you have just used it and is warm! You will have to wait. So best to make cups of tea at same time. 2x cup and saucers and 2 x tall glasses supplied. 2 x small glasses in the bathroom.
Bathroom had hair dryer, 2 x hand towels, 2 x bath towels and 2x face towels. shower gel, shampoo, and bath salts was supplied too! Shower was lovely to use.
3 x chairs to sit on in the bedroom.
Lots of hangers and space for clothes. Lamps around room too. Very clean and heating can be adjusted.
Towels replaced on the next day of arriving.
iron and ironing board supplied too!
Map is given and we asked for Dam Square as too embarrassed to ask for the Red light district! on Our way could not believe how near red light district was!
We did not eat breakfast in the hotel as eating out was cheaper.
Places we visited included Anne Frank House, Sex Museum and Moulin Rouge. Will write a review about these places too!
Overall Blu Radisson was amazing, first stay at this branch of hotel and loved it!
Can not wait to come to Amsterdam again and book with Blu Radisson.

Room Tip: 244 was amazing good view of canal too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zekiye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Location – Very Central, situated in a safe and quiet street but a good 15 minute walk from the Central Station unless you hop in a taxi.

Room – Clean and fairly modern with a large flat screen TV and a great choice of UK Channels. The free wifi was helpful and the signal was strong. I would however recommend asking for extra pillows on arrival as the pillows we were given were extremely spongy and not were not very supportive and the beds were on the harder side. The bathroom was also very clean, slightly more dated but offered a good choice of toiletries and linen.

Staff - Seemed friendly and attentive but didn’t slightly let down on the room service as it took over an hour to receive 2 hot chocolates.

Restaurant - Breakfast is a must even if you go just once as you can walk aimlessly for ages before you come across something even half decent. The hotel bar was also very cosy but pricey.

Overall we stayed for two nights over a long weekend and I would certainly consider returning again in the future when I return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for an external facing room not internal facing as these can be noiser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I've spended a very good time in your lovely hotel, i'll come back, for me , this hotel has a stand level like a little palace, my family ans i, we were so please, congratulations, the master was the quality of breakfast, such a delight level, tasting, lot of choices, well presented

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Gianluca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great hotel in a central location, spent best part of a week here for business. Comfy beds, great service across the hotel and good food. I'd personally eat else where, while ok the food was expensive but still a good solid business hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank getheurban_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

A lovely receptionist welcome me and my girlfriend, (sorry I did write her name), she acknowledges us daily and engage talks and tips for our daily sightseeing in Amsterdam. Location is central. Our room was well appointed but we didn't stay so much in. Breakfast has a great choice and was good. We will come back for sure!

Room Tip: Get a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AniaFranek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#45 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Rezidor and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing