We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Hotel in a Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Ranked #49 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

A nicely done hotel at a great and quite location. A short walk to the train station, city center, restaurants, theatre, palace, and the famous red light district. Friendly and helpful staff. Very nice, updated, and large room and bathroom with all the modern amenities (not your typical old European small rooms). Definitely sign up for the breakfast buffet if it’s not included in your room rate.

Room Tip: Request a room in the building across the street from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SH_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    1,120
    292
    55
    29
See reviews for
416
1,187
146
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

When i stayed here i had graet time it in the heart of everythings. you walk out the door and your there i mean every where. the buulding itsself is very cool i will not say to much but worth look even if your not stay there go in have a beer and food.

Room Tip: never used spa or pool but sure there nice. great place right where you what to be.close to everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I booked a standard room for 84 euros per night, but at the hotel I was proposed to have an upgrade to executive, business or suite. We chose executive for 40 euros extra per night including breakfast (which costs 25euros per person). The room number 506 with the view on the street. It was a value deal. Breakfast includes different types of ham, cheese, eggs, cereals, fresh juices and even roast potato etc. To have a breakfast nearby in cafés will cost you around15/20 euros per person. So it's not worth looking for a place to eat if you can do it in the hotel. As for the service - it was excellent. We asked a cleaning guy for a tooth brush which we forgot at home. He didn't speak English and advised to ask the receptionist, we totally forgot to do it, but when we came late night tooth brush and paste was lying in our room. One thing I didn't liked that I was charged extra 200 euros, the money was blocked the moment of arrival and I got it back only at check out in cash. But probably that's how it works. My advice: take a room with the view ( not inside the patio), take a breakfast, book a room upper class like executive or business.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We absolutely loved our time at Radisson Blu Amsterdam. We only stayed three days, but was a great amount if time to experience Amsterdam.

The location is excellent, nice and close to the main attractions, but also has many more local areas when you keep heading out from the hotel. We found some beautiful cafes and quaint streets. It is also nice and quiet, and away from the "action."

Our room was so lovely. We were in a superior room in the main building and it was so well appointed, I never wanted to leave! I sit writing this review from a hotel in Brussels and am still dreaming on that room! bed was very comfy and we also ordered two soft pillows from their pillow menu.

Bathroom was fine, nice enough products and the bath salts was a sweet touch.

Nice televisions too, good size and lots of English channels too!

If you get a good rate don't look anywhere else for a hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethG88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great location - in city center but in quiet street - in Amsterdam it is important, in worst case you can even forget about sleeping at all.
Very nice room - we had business room with view on internal pool, cause we were partly for work, partly for fun. My bf was on conference and I decided to join him and during his conference to work online.
At first, I wanted to find some chilly spot with wi-fi in the city and work there but I couldn't find anything that wasn't coffee shop or fast food...:/ I asked at the reception and they told me that I should stay in the hotel, cause centre of Amsterdam is just like this... And it was very pleasant and efficient, I was sipping coffee and working with good wi-fi in quiet environment.
The last day was really problematic cause we woke up too late and my bf had to run to the conference. I had to ask to do check-out as late as possible, then to leave luggage in the hotel and pay when we will retrieve our luggage with two separate bills. So, it was really messed up and complicated but it was no problem for the reception. One more time, great thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-the-alien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mount dora
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived at 6:30 in the morning on a Wednesday and we were not able to check into our room right away. The staff at the front desk was more than accommodating and let us freshen up in the gym bathroom. The hotel is also centrally located right in the middle of old town but on a quiet street which was nice. Our overall experience was extremely pleasant, the staff and the room were lovely and the buffet breakfast was great!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAbbott327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Tip for the gorgeous hotel bar (the olde worlde Amsterdam house inside the hotel!): don't order a mixer, it will cost as much as the spirit! No post-mix here. Enjoy one of the most lovely buffet breakfasts in Europe with wonderful friendly staff throughout the hotel (which itself is not glamorous, needing an interior facelift, it's true)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing