We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 15%
Ranked #52 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for two nights in room 465 the room was large, very clean had a huge tv with a great selection of channels.Great location within easy walking distance for all attractions. The breakfast buffet was superb and there was plenty of choice. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Holiday, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Radisson Blu is located almost dead center of everything worth seeing in Amsterdam from the flower market to The Red Light District and all points in between like The Dam.
The rooms are well appointed and pleasant... only thing I can take issue with is some very scratchy linens, Staff is attentive and professional, from bell hop to managers. Good job!

Room Tip: South building was quiet... except for a few late night vehicles o n the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

If location close to shopping and red light district is important to you, then this is a goid choice. But 250?/night is not cheap and you should not expect any glamour for it: hotel features are dated (lobby, rooms, noise...), receptionists are arrogant and unhelpful, breakfast is a mess . Not Radisson standard according to me . Choose a boutique hotel and you will be better off.

Helpful?
Thank bcol1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

A very clean hotel on a quiet street, 5 minutes from Dam Square, 15 minutes from central station, 3 minutes from red light district. 20 mins in a cab from the airport costing 45 euro. Reception were very helpful on arrival and gave us a city map. Our room was fine, impressed with the huge tv and English TV channels (nice to have when getting ready in the morning). The fitness room and sauna were good, with towels and water provided.
Now the prices...... breakfast was 25 euros each!!! 1 beer and 1 Bacardi and coke in the hotel bar was 20 euros!! City tax (for 4 nights) was 30 euros!!.... These prices were rather steep in my opinion and put a little downer on our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dandydoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Well priced and pleasant hotel in a terrific location. I encountered two irritating problems that seemed totally inconsistent with the Radisson Blu brand. The first was the Internet. It took more than an hour to log my computer in; even after that ordeal the connectivity remained unreliable throughout my stay. The second problem area is housekeeping. Check in time was 3pm. I arrived at 5pm and my "business class" room still wasn't ready. The next day I left the hotel at 8 am and returned at 4 pm to find the room had not yet been serviced. The hotel isn't a top end luxury facility, but at the prices it charges it can certainly afford to have enough staff on hand to clean guest rooms reasonably promptly.

Room Tip: My experience with the "business class" room suggests it may not be worth the price of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRKDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel is very central-only 5 min walking from Dam Square, 10 min from Central Station and 5 min from Flower Market, Red light District and other monuments.The breakfast is very good with good variety and the personnel are very kind.Rooms are big enough and the hotel is very clean.I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eirini P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, PA to the General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the sights Amsterdam has to offer and the variety at breakfast. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel has some very high high points and some very low low points. Have to say though the highs outnumber the lows.

The rooms are clean and somewhat sleek. Interestingly patterned carpet and sweeping windows. The pillows are comfy down, not those cheap foam things. Ditto the duvets. The walls are decorated with delft modern plates. Kind of cute really. Individual Nespresso machines and free coffee pods in each room. Stand alone electric kettle and teas are there as well as a little fridge,along with shelves full of glassware, real cups and saucers and utensils for you to use. That's pretty cool.

Even cooler, when I walked into the marble tiled bathroom, I realized the bathroom has heated floors! Wow! It would have been nice if they had been able to set the marble floor even with the floor of the room. At first I kept on tripping on the three inch rise. The closet area is open and has a large full length mirror for those of you (like me…) who really should look in a mirror before you go out so as not to look the fool. The bath has the usual shampoo/conditioner/body cream….but the hotel also provides bath salts. Ahhhhh…… The shaver plug in the bathroom can be switched from 110 to 220 and takes all plugs. There is even an outlet for a British style three flat prong plug in the desk area! In fact, there are many available plugs throughout the room. A very nice feature.

The one thing that annoyed besides the floor unevenness is the heater fan. Loud enough to almost make you think the plane is revving up in the room, but you get used to it after a day or so. Biggest let down? The internet has been totally screwed up since the minute I arrived. I have almost spent as much time on the phone with tech support as I have with friends. Forget Skyping. You'll be cut off in the middle. Over and over again. My whole floor was out. At one point the entire hotel had no internet. When it does work though the internet is free.

The saving grace is that this Hotel is very quiet, centralized and in walking distance to many tram and metro stops as well as loads of restaurants. In fact the hotel restaurant is pretty good, and boasts a charming, comfortable wood-lined bar. Everyone speaks English and the staff will happily call you a cab, make recommendations and quickly obtain or print up tickets to local sights, museums and events for you.

Except for the miserable internet, I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street seem to be more private. The other rooms face the open atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Minkiemink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, PA to the General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your room and the location of the hotel. We have adressed your issues to the right department. Thank you for your recommendations. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing