We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice central Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Ranked #51 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice central Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel is very central-only 5 min walking from Dam Square, 10 min from Central Station and 5 min from Flower Market, Red light District and other monuments.The breakfast is very good with good variety and the personnel are very kind.Rooms are big enough and the hotel is very clean.I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eirini P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, PA to the General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the sights Amsterdam has to offer and the variety at breakfast. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,282
    1,099
    289
    55
    29
See reviews for
405
1,170
141
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel has some very high high points and some very low low points. Have to say though the highs outnumber the lows.

The rooms are clean and somewhat sleek. Interestingly patterned carpet and sweeping windows. The pillows are comfy down, not those cheap foam things. Ditto the duvets. The walls are decorated with delft modern plates. Kind of cute really. Individual Nespresso machines and free coffee pods in each room. Stand alone electric kettle and teas are there as well as a little fridge,along with shelves full of glassware, real cups and saucers and utensils for you to use. That's pretty cool.

Even cooler, when I walked into the marble tiled bathroom, I realized the bathroom has heated floors! Wow! It would have been nice if they had been able to set the marble floor even with the floor of the room. At first I kept on tripping on the three inch rise. The closet area is open and has a large full length mirror for those of you (like me…) who really should look in a mirror before you go out so as not to look the fool. The bath has the usual shampoo/conditioner/body cream….but the hotel also provides bath salts. Ahhhhh…… The shaver plug in the bathroom can be switched from 110 to 220 and takes all plugs. There is even an outlet for a British style three flat prong plug in the desk area! In fact, there are many available plugs throughout the room. A very nice feature.

The one thing that annoyed besides the floor unevenness is the heater fan. Loud enough to almost make you think the plane is revving up in the room, but you get used to it after a day or so. Biggest let down? The internet has been totally screwed up since the minute I arrived. I have almost spent as much time on the phone with tech support as I have with friends. Forget Skyping. You'll be cut off in the middle. Over and over again. My whole floor was out. At one point the entire hotel had no internet. When it does work though the internet is free.

The saving grace is that this Hotel is very quiet, centralized and in walking distance to many tram and metro stops as well as loads of restaurants. In fact the hotel restaurant is pretty good, and boasts a charming, comfortable wood-lined bar. Everyone speaks English and the staff will happily call you a cab, make recommendations and quickly obtain or print up tickets to local sights, museums and events for you.

Except for the miserable internet, I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street seem to be more private. The other rooms face the open atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Minkiemink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, PA to the General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your room and the location of the hotel. We have adressed your issues to the right department. Thank you for your recommendations. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Location is very central , good classy rooms , nice décor etc . just spoilt by the usual "come back after 4pm your room isn't ready, the silly check in wait time , the crazy mini bar prices , and the insane breakfast charge of 25 pounds each for cold coffee with under average food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, PA to the General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. We regret to hear it did not meet your expectations. We have passed on your comments and concerns to the responsible departments so they may address the situation with the team and ensure that we deliver outstanding service and presentation. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Myself and 2 friends have just spent a long weekend In the Radisson Blu, Amsterdam and couldn't have been happier!

I got a good deal off a travel site for a Junior Suite (sleeps 3) which included Free breakfast, free WiFi, FREE mini bar, a Nespresso coffee machine , free movie channels and best of all it had all the English TV channels!!

The breakfast was outstanding with a massive choice of all things English and Continental/European.

The staff in the hotel couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful; we needed extra towels and pillows - the houseeeper was at our door within 5 mins, our TV needed re tuning (due to a storm through the night) the engineer had it sorted in 10 mins.

Location - Perfect, only 5 mins from the Red Light District (a tourist must!) 15 mins walk from Central Station (taxi cost 11 Euros, recommended when you first arrive) and 10 mins from China Town and Dam Square.

We would deffinitely stay there again no hesitation!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, PA to the General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your weekend in Amsterdam. It is great to read you have enjoyed every bit of it. We appreciate you for taking the time to write about your experience and we look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at the Radisson in room 542. Lovely spacious quiet, clean room, overlooking a canal.

Be aware that the drinks cabinet is 'automated.' So if you pick an item up and replace it withouth drinking/eating it, the item is charged to your room, so check your bill on departure.

The breakfast was a little pricey at 25 euros per head.
Helpful and riendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie_williamswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, PA to the General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the room you stayed in. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights during our second visit to the city. Accepted the upgrade offer and had a newly refurbished room on the 6th floor, with views over the city. This was at extra cost, with a reduced breakfast rate. Room was clean and tidy, as you would expect. Breakfast was expensive in comparison with any local cafe. But there was a large selection and you could eat as much as you wished. Location was on the south east side of the city. A short walk from the Dam and central attractions. We ate in the hotel on one evening. We stayed in the bar area and the food was very good, albeit hotel prices. Staff were very friendly. I think that noise might be an issue, depending on your neighbours. We had no problems at all, but i would carry ear plugs as usual. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornishkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, PA to the General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our newly refurbished room and the large selection of food at breakfast. We hope to welcome you again on you next visit to Amsterdam.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable 2 night stay. Everything was provided for in the room, clean and although not spacious, it was fine. TV channel selection was very good. Staff were excellent - very helpful, nothing too much trouble. The hotel is in a good location 5mins walk from the Red Light District and 15mins walk to Central Station. Only one small negative, the 'hot' food for breakfast on my second morning was cold. Otherwise, a pleasant stay and would be happy to return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, PA to the General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding our hot food for breakfast. We regret to hear your breakfast experience did not meet your expectations. We have passed on your comments and concerns to our food en drinks department department so they may address this situation with the team and ensure that we deliver outstanding service and presentation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Rezidor, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing