We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Location in the Heart of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Ranked #49 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Location in the Heart of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in late July 2013, as part of a European trip with a friend.

Location: By far one of the best places to stay in Amsterdam. Within walking distance of most major attractions in central Amsterdam. For those looking to experience the nightlife, it is very easy to walk to Rembrandtsplein as well as Leideseplein. Despite the liveliness of the surrounding areas, this hotel is actually located on a very quiet street so you don't have to worry about noise keeping you up.

Rooms: Up to the same high standards as other Radisson locations. Bedding was comfortable, and room had all standard amenities, including a mini-fridge and an ironing board.

Food: Didn't get a chance to try the breakfast, but the bar there looked very professional and well kept.

Service: Staff were friendly and we were given a room even though we arrived much earlier than the standard check-in time.

Pricing: Generally good for the area, and especially worth it if you can find a deal through either Radisson promotions or through sites like Hotels.com

Room Tip: Go for lower floor if you don't want to wait for the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gte371z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    1,064
    284
    53
    28
See reviews for
383
1,142
137
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have stayed at a variety of hotels over the last 3 months. Thr Radisson and Park hotels (both the same chain) have always been of a high standard and suited my budget perfectly. The Radisson Blu Amsterdam was within walking distance of Old Amsterdam, the harbour and Centraal Train Station. The room was clean and well maintained. The heated bathroom floor was a nice touch. I will definitely stay there next time I come to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are closer to the reception and restaurants than the self contained apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Mozam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
215 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed two nights here in the second building across the street from the main building. Quiet and relaxing. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff. Rooms are large for European standard and well appointed with coffee/tea service, safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Ask for a bath mat for the tub as it can be slippery.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in August 2013. We were given a room upgrade - which we had not asked for - to a canal view room. The room was fine - very spacious and the canal view was a nice extra. The Reception staff and concierge were happy, smiling and diligent. The Room Maid was good - everything was properly cleaned and tidied up.
The hotel's location, mid way between the Station and the Rijksmuseum was perfect for us and we walked everywhere.
The bathroom was a bit quirky. Whilst it was "all marble", the lighting was poor, with only one light, and the door was in a strange position. The architect and interior designer must have been on an off day when they designed the bathroom. I was tempted to reduce the stars to 4 due to the bathroom, but then we did not plan to stay in the bathroom.
The breakfast was outrageously expensive at 25 Euros per person per morning, so we passed on that, and went outside. We are pensioners, not business men on expense accounts!!
We ate in the Restaurant once in the evening. Excellent service, and excellent food. I had a veal fillet, and my wife had a steak fillet. Both were very good indeed. I seldom eat veal, but this was a thick cut which dissolved in the mouth. Superb. The waitress was attentive but not overbearing. Just the sort of service we value. The pudding was exquisite. Not exactly calory free!!!
Very happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were upgraded (free) to a canal view, and a bigger room. I do not know how to get and upgrade wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ancientobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lititz Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Checked in for 2 nights to see Amsterdam walked all over took boat canal tour and visited museums great property with a full buffet breakfast very nice room heated bathroom floor. Front desk very helpful and the food in the restruant and bar were great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joepf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzania
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

from very welcoming and friendly staff, to comfy and clean room, and very tasteful food, the Radisson Blu is a great place to spend your time while in Amsterdam,
can reach with the car/cab up to the hotel entrance (no need to drag with suitcases).
strategically located in near the shopping district, close to everything within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Me and my partner stayed for 4 nights. The room was clean and tidy but small. The location of the hotel excellent. The overall food offering was good.

The biggest problem we experienced was service. We had to ask twice for a iron and twice for pillows. More annoying we reported a flush problem with our toilet on the 2nd 3rd and 4th day and this was still not resolved when we checked out. We again told reception when checking out and I was presented with my bill, not an apology or recognition of the problem Having a smelly toilet in a small room is simply unacceptable so I will not be recommending this hotel. Their 100 percent satisfaction promise was far from completed, I should ask for my money back. I will wait and see if my comments receive a response.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, PA to the General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received during your stay. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best “Yes I Can!” service. We understand the flush problem is unacceptable. Please accept our apologize for the inconvience this has caused. To discuss your concern further, please contact the hotel directly, and ask our Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#14 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,272 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing