We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Radisson Blu Amsterdam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Ranked #53 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Radisson Blu Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My son and I spent 4 nights at the Radisson Blu Amsterdam. The hotel is in a very convenient location and we easily walked to everything. The room was small but functional and was clean. The bathroom was very nice and was mostly very clean (except for grungy tile grout). The gym is well appointed but closes pretty early. The bar is nice and the bartenders friendly.
We ate breakfast each day at the hotel which was pretty good. The fresh fruit was minimal but there was good selection of other typical items and good quality as well. We had wonderful mussels the night we arrived, and had one other dinner there as well which was more out of convenience than anything else. The food was decent, but the service is lacking. Maybe we're just used to more expedient service, but water glasses empty and the inability to get a server's attention for a long time was annoying.
I heard the bartender recommend the hanger steak to someone when I was in the bar, so I ordered it. It was so tough, I kept trying to cut smaller and smaller pieces but it was really not edible. I told the waiter, and his response was simply, "oh, really". no offer of anything else or even an apology. really not acceptable especially at the price point.
Except for the restaurant, no complaints. the hotel staff is also very friendly and eager to help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mxbmxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,360
    1,168
    302
    60
    29
See reviews for
438
1,234
152
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I found the staff to be very informative and knowledgable about the Amsterdam area. The restaurant was very nice and the Buffet in the morning was well equipped. With your choices of pretty much everything under the sun. If they didn't have it there they the staff would make every effort to get it. The Hotel is situated just off the downtown area which is quieter, but still within walking distance to the Anne Frank house, Van Gogh museum, Red light district, and diamond houses. I highly recommend this hideaway Hotel.

Room Tip: I found the higher rooms to be more elegant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gregu9120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, PA to the General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are very happy that you’ve found the staff informative and helpful. We encourage our staff to go for the extra miles to help our guests with anything they need. Thank you very much for you recommendation and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Radisson is in a good location for most tourist activities but is also in a pleasant and quiet area.
When we booked in an Italian couple was before me and paid 150 euros without breakfast. This is far too much for this hotel.

It's a typical room factory, one step up from a Premier Inn.

First the good points;
Clean, good plumbing, quiet, good a/c, excellent pillow menu.

Bad points;
Small room, small bathroom (but adequate).

At the price I paid I would definitely stay again, but I think Amsterdam isn't a cheap city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyChester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Me and my partner checked into the Radisson for a weekend in July 2013. I rang in advance to check that we had been allocated a double room after reading some of the reviews on here and we hadn't. Sorted very quickly however and was assured we'd be in a double. Enquired about a room upgrade (I was tempted by the Nespresso machine) but decided EUR40/night wasn't worth it.

On checking in however, we'd got a free upgrade so very pleased about that. Room was pretty spacious, with a good bed (turned out to be two large singles joined together - so not perfect but perfectly comfortable), nespresso machine (woohoo) and decent sized bathroom.

Slightly odd that the hotel was a bit tight on pillows and towels, whilst we could have (and did) request more, I thought spares might be hiding in the wardrobe somewhere but they were not to be found.

The hotel itself is perfectly situated for exploring the Centrum district, red light district, gay areas, canals, and is only 15 minutes perhaps walk from the train station. In a converted canalside building, some of it looks a little dated (the public areas) and our room (and half of the rest of them I think) faced into the lobby, which was rather like a large greenhouse.

Room service was excellent - swift, reasonably priced, and very fresh - even the chips were crisp, which is unusual I find!

Overall very happy with our stay, would definitely choose the Radisson again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, PA to the General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your free room upgrade and the Nespresso machine that comes with it. Did you know we have a pillow menu where you can choose the firmness or softness of your pillow? Just use the one touch service and we are always happy to bring you more towels or pillows.We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Radisson Blu on Russtraat in central Amsterdam will satisfy the business and pleasure traveler.

Anything in the central core will be close to Damplatz, which is then close to trams and bicycle rental. The latter is important to commuting in Amsterdam - each person has a bicycle

The Blu has an excellent breakfast buffet and a pleasant bar for the evening

The suites are very reasonable for longer stays, and laundry service is available

Room Tip: invest in a junior suite for a longer stay - it rains in Amsterdam, so you need a plan B for those d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_J1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Located directly in the heart of Amsterdam, this was a very nice hotel to visit. The rooms were relatively big and very clean as well as modern.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. However, when it came to parking it was really quite expensive and they did not tell us about the parkhouses outside of the city. Which were a much cheaper option. However, after seeing how hectic it was on a Saturday night, we decided to stay with the more expensive option and use the hotel parking service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherineemrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed for 1 night. Location is excellent and close to most good places in the city. Also its at a walking distance from the Central Station.
Rooms are good but nothing special. Staff is also friendly.
Surrounding areas are not noisy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhishek1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#52 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Rezidor, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing