We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Ranked #54 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel for a 2 night break and would highly recommend it. We were welcomed by nice, polite check in gentleman who was very friendly and spoke excellent English. Our room was lovely and more than adequate. Mini bar, tv, bath,shower,hair dryer. Very comfortable beds and pillows and room nicely cleaned. Breakfast was good too..plenty of choice..lovely breads,fruit juices,cheeses,smoked salmon,cereals, usual eggs etc and all that goes with them!. Nice coffee and yogurts and good selection of fruits. Ate in the hotel on the Saturday night as the weather was not good and the food was well presented and very tasty.service was good. Lovely bar and nice staff. Could not fault it

Room Tip: If you are tall would suggest twin beds!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, Media Coördinator at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you very much for you recommendation. We are very glad to read you've enjoyed your 2 night break in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,308)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,571 - 1,577 of 3,308 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for five nights in May and were really pleased with both the location and the room. The hotel is in central Amsterdam with many attractions within easy walking distance. We bought a 3-day tram pass in the hotel shop, (with helpful explanations from the hotel shopkeeper) and found this invaluable for getting around to museums, art galleries etc.
As my partner is a member of the hotel chain’s loyalty scheme we were lucky enough to get upgraded to a business class room, and this was excellent, with large TV, coffee maker and good quality toiletries which were replenished daily. The room comfort and cleanliness were second to none.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, and had dinner in the hotel twice. Generally the food was good, but service at breakfast rather chaotic as the dining room is not really big enough for the number of guests.

Overall we had a great stay at this hotel and certainly hope to use it again.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the business class rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, Media Coördinator at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

We are very delighted to read that you and your husband had a pleasant stay in our hotel and the city of Amsterdam. Our hotel is indeed close to many attractions. What was your favourite attraction? Thank you for your time to write the review and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with friends at this fine city hotel. Rooms are very well furnished, comfortable bed, pillow menu, and lovely and clean. Bathroom with bath and shower, only problem cracked sink.
Window looked out onto the street.
Bar excellent, dining room and food very good.
Concierge service very useful.
Located very near all attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, Media Coördinator at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay even though the room wasn't up to standard. Our appologies. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The location was great with good access to many things. The concierge gave great recommendations for food and transport. We really enjoyed our two stays there. The first room had a window that opened over the canal. Great hotel!

Room Tip: If you don't mind a little street noise ask for a room open to the canal, if you like quiet ask...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, Media Coördinator at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to read that our concierge gave you great recommendations and that you enjoyed the room with canal view. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've stayed at the Radisson Blue a few times now. It is an amalgam of several old properties - including a paper factory - and straddles Rusland in the heart of Amsterdam. It is a few minutes from the Flower Market and Muntower (trams) to the south and 5-10 mins walk up into the Red Light District to the north. It certainly has a "contemporary within old" feel about it and a nice ambience all-in-all which isn't in any way clinical or bland. It's split across the road and boasts an artful under-street walkway to get you between buildings.

Rooms are modern/contemporary and extremely well maintained, esp. the Business Class, and there are one or two great rooms up at the top of the building which are not your standard cube hotel room. Business class includes Nespresso and more TV (but seriously - turn it off and go walkabout).

The staff are very friendly and attentive; especially at check-in and in the bar which, incidentally, does some rather nice snacks if you're too tired to head out for the evening.

Highly recommended!

Two minor suggestions for the hotel....

(1) Buffets are, IMHO, notorious yet a necessary evil for large hotels. The food is excellent, BTW. However, I can only suggest that guests themselves have a means to get coffee and/or cutlery as the staff appear to be overloaded most of the time and you've really got to snare one otherwise you may wait a while for anyone to notice.

(2) Being a modern hotel - albeit in the old town, I would hope for better-than-20th-Century internet data-rates. Perhaps, therefore, the internet access can be upgraded somehow? Pretty much everywhere else I found a Wi-Fi, the data rates seemed to be better than the trickle from the hotel Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Business rooms include breakfast - or it did at time of writing.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsotopeSample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, Media Coördinator at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Your comments have been passed on to the right departments to ensure that we deliver outstanding service. Thank you for your recommendations and we hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Picked this hotel on price and location and for once I think I chose very well indeed.

I loved the location, on a nice quiet street but only minutes away from the main central areas. Walk one way and you head towards Rembrandts Square and the museum area, walk the other way and you are in chinatown and the red light district, Dam Square and the main tourist traps....I could go on but Im sure you have the idea by now.

So happy with the location how are the rooms. To be honest we weren't in the room much which was a shame as it was excellent. The kind person at reception upgraded us to a business room and it was great. Modern light and airy. Plenty room and nice touches like an nespresso machine and 40" TV with movies included.

The public areas of the hotel were faultless. We loved the atmospheric Bar area, although it was quite dark, and the Restaurant seemed very good value although we didn't eat there.

Overall very happy and would not hesitate to come back.

Room Tip: Business rooms are great
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank netstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L, Media Coördinator at Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Amsterdam. You have made an excellent choice indeed. We are happy to read you enjoyed you upgraded room and our Pastorie Bar. We hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very convenient hotel as I could walk everywhere! But it has a strange arrangement of the rooms whereby the room windows do not look outside but down onto the central atrium or reception area.
So I felt like I was in a cage. Also, because noise travels up, the noise of people laughing in the bar below me at the atrium/reception area was quite loud at bedtime! It was clean, bed lovely and had coffee and tea making. I liked the restaurant too. It was expensive but the food was divine so a treat really. It had a gym but it was basic.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the new wing - the rooms looking over reception area get a bit of noise
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brissielyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#69 of 371 in Amsterdam
651 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#20 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $207 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing