We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location overlooking the canal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Ranked #55 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great location, with access to all major city attractions. The hotel is set either side of a side road, with internal walkways giving access but you appear to be always getting into a lift! Amazing staff, who greeted me by name. My room overlooked the canal, I pulled aside the drapes and made the most of the afternoon at my desk with a superb view. Only ate breakfast, as we dined at the Sofitel (see my other review) it wasn't that great and felt a tad frantic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,801 - 1,807 of 3,406 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Good hotel. It is close to the central train station, from where you can walk. Nice quiet area.
The rooms are spacious and classic ambience. Bathrobes, slippers, a tea set with tea coffee and Nespresso coffee machine. In the bathroom, a large selection of cosmetics (body lotion, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, hand cream, soap, bath salt). Our room rates include breakfast. Very good breakfast with a large selection of dishes. Will not be left hungry. Very polite and pleasant staff at reception.
All in all a good hotel. The price is not cheap, but it is difficult to find in Amsterdam cheap hotel in the center.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vesnyshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked this hotel on the strength of TA and were definitely not disappointed. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a minor reservation issue with car parking, but they resolved it on the spot without any fuss. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the dining area was exceptional. Great choice from the buffet. Location could not have been better as all attractions were within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

the Bathroom little small.some parts of the hotels looks old and there are no open windows in the rooms for a fresh air

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank shimon i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

First class accommodation. Excellent breakfast and professional, courteous staff. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Radisson Blu is conveniently located in central Amsterdam. It was converted from several 19th century buildings, and the rooms surround a central atrium. As a result, half the rooms are actually in the interior of the building, and their windows look out on the atrium instead of the city. Rooms are not especially large, but are very comfortable, with larger than average, well illuminated bathrooms. Staff were generally helpful, although I was less than delighted with the attempt to "upsell" us to a more expensive room by the first clerk who greeted us; we arrived three hours before check-in, and were told that although our room was not ready, we could have immediate access to a larger room on the top floor - with breakfast - for an additional 50 Euros per night. No thanks! All in all, an attractive, better than average European hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior room with a city view, although you will likely pay a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragonminder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great location, just 10 minute walk from the station. 10 euro in a taxi. Staff were lovely and very accommodating. Free wifi. Free internet access in reception. Coffee and tea in room. Mini bar was expensive though 4.5 euro for a small bottle of water, 8.5 euro for a small wine. We asked for a quiet room so we were on the 6th floor in the main hotel. Standard room was fine, plenty of room.

Room Tip: Previous reviews said some rooms could be noisy nearer to reception. Ask for a quiet room on a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevHowarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#60 of 373 in Amsterdam
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,027 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $188 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing