We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, clean and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Ranked #50 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We picked this hotel because it was close to where our friends were staying, they had chosen a much more expensive place. It was so good that when we returned in a week to complete our vacation we all stayed there. The rooms are good size for a European hotel, quiet and clean. The staff was very helpfull, not just with the hotel info, but also with transfers and other travel related issues. The location is great for walking to most tourist sites in the city.

Note that this is not a quaint spot in a historic building, it is more of a business style hotel. That was fine with us as the rest of the city has enough history and age to meet the expectations of a European traveler. From a service standpoint they would be great for both tourists and business users.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsbaboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,309
    1,121
    292
    55
    29
See reviews for
416
1,189
146
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This review might be slightly biased by the fact that they upgraded us to a business class room from the superior room we'd paid for, so I couldn't comment on the rooms in the rest of the hotel. The welcome was fine, the service was good and the room clean and modern. We had two evening meals in the restaurant and the only surprising thing was that more people don't eat there - the food is great. After reading the negative reviews here I can only conclude that some people might have been sampling the many substances available in Amsterdam. To the person who complained about it not being convenient for getting from the station with heavy luggage - take a taxi!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank touchay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and it turned out to be great!! After a long flight, we were at the hotel around 9 am, much before check-in time, but the reception staff were very helpful. They suggested we keep our luggage there and go out for a stroll. Around 11 am, the room was ready!!We had reserved the standard room using Club points. We upgraded to a Superior room which is bigger and comes with breakfast included. It seemed a good decision. The room was spotless. There is coffee-maker. Bottled water is complimentary. The room comes equipped with a modern iron and ironing table (with a press for trousers!!)..compact and unique!! Buffet Breakfast was a good spread. Rooms are not very spacious, but considering the size of hotel rooms in Europe hotels, this one can be considered okay. I am not sure how big the standard room is. Ours was a superior room in the new block.
The hotel has two buildings connected by an underground walkway lined with beautiful paintings on either side. We did not use any public transport since most of the tourist areas are at walking distance. Lovely cafes, canals, flower market, dam square, shopping areas are all at walking distance. Cycles are also available in the hotel for hire.. All in all, a wonderful place to stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room...they are in the new block and comparatively bigger and worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris29_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
172 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel takes up two sides of a small road between two canals.It is in the heart of old Amsterdam amid all of its many charms. Easy walk to Central station so don't be afraid to take the Fyra (high speed train) from airport and just walk to the hotel.

The room was nicely sized with plenty of room to move around. Plenty of extras. Everything was new and clean and modern. Bathroom was very large with plenty of counter space and a very large, very moderns shower.

Breakfast was included and it was one of the best included-breakfast buffets I've enjoyed. A wide array of hot and cold items, well prepared.

I was here on business and didn't see enough of Amsterdam. I will definitely be back with my wife on vacation and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gnolect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a great location. Walking distance to nice restaurants and main train station. Although near red-light district, it feels safe and quiet. The rooms have comfortable beds, clean, nice bathroom and the breakfast is a great banquet of all types of breakfast food. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here after reading reviews on this site. Excellent choice. My husband and I were in Amsterdam for 3 nights to celebrate a special birthday. The central location was great, the hotel was very clean, and the staff very helpfull and friendly. Would definately recommend to others. We had a superior room with breakfast included. It is not cheap but worth every penny. Enjoy !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Spent a few nights at the end of August. The room was spacious, with big windows (some windows do open) and very cleverly situated amenities such as the coffee pot (there was no Nespresso machine in my room in contrast to what the website describes) and the iron/ironing board. The wifi is free and so is the breakfast (i.e., included in the room price), but in contrast to other breakfast buffets in European hotels, this breakfast is nothing to write home about and the breakfast area is cold and impersonal (the hotel is being renovated so that might change). The gym is small but with a rowing machine (a rarity these days). The staff is engaging but can be busy at times. The price is fairly standard for European chain hotels in the city center. In fact this hotel's location is unbeatable just minutes away from the Dam square, the city hall, the fabulous chocolaterie Puccini, the farmer;s market at the Nieuwmarkt, and the wonderful Blauw an de Waal restaurant. Thus it is also easy to get to from Schiphol using public transportation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlingtonian2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Rezidor, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing