We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life changing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Ranked #52 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Life changing!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Crossroads of the world - elegant hotel in the heart of old Amsterdam. I met my wife to be there and will never forget it!

Excellent clean rooms and good service and good value. Walk out the door and straight into Old Amsterdam - love it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,445
    1,227
    309
    68
    35
See reviews for
475
1,298
155
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hotel is very well located in the heart of Amsterdam. It is close to everything I wanted to do in the city. We stayed in a newly renovated business class room and the rooms are worth every penny extra. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The best part of the hotel is the staff working there. Kind, friendly and will take the time to answer all your questions. Sam is the absolute best she took great care of us and was so incredibly helpful. I will never stay anywhere else in Amsterdam ever....Thank you everyone for making our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: Choose a business class room with a canal view....absolutely amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slayton1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
208 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is great! Location is perfect and the front desk staff is wonderful, cab driver did not unload one of our bags,we did not notice until later,the staff at front desk tracked him Udown and got our luggage back. Walking distance to Dam Square where you pick up trams for the whole city, only thing bad is the king size bed was to big for the duvet cover. Again Jerden,Gregory,and Aprilla are the front desk people who get it done! A great place to stay!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
174 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel is very well located in a beatiful part of Amsterdam. Checking in went really smooth. We got our room at 11 am! Excellent staff that sets a mark for hospitality. The room was somewhat older and the decoration was a bit outdated as was the bathroom that could use a little TLC. However, the room offered everything you need. A safe, tea/coffee making option, large flatscreen TV, ample storage space, good working AC etc. Everything was very clean and the beds are comfortabel. Breakfast was perfect. Plenty of choice and again an incredible friendly staff. Thumbs up for all the man and women working in this hotel. You're doing a great job!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchBlokeEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very pleased with my choice.

This hotel is situated in a quiet part of the central city area and is about a 10 to 15 minute-walk from the main train station, depending on how much luggage you are carrying and whether you have a good sense of direction, as the street network here can be confusing to start with.

Once you get your bearings though, you soon realise that you are at the heart of everything.

The rooms are a good size - so not sure why others have said they are small - and I heard no noise from the adjoining rooms or corridors, even when the hotel was full as it was. My room overlooked the inside atrium and although this did reduce the amount of daylight that entered the windows, it was still very pleasant. The air-conditioning was very good.

There is plenty of storage space in the room and the custom-built mini bar also cleverly houses the kettle, iron, ironing board/trouser press and a chest-style personal safe.

The mattress was quite firm - I would have preferred something slightly softer - but that's just a personal preference and not a criticism. In addition to the pillow type they provide as standard (firm, synthetic and non-allergic), you can request another four types. I might do this the next time as I found the standard type too firm.

The bathroom was only lit by the lights adjoining the mirror, so it was a bit dark over the bath/shower. Water temperature and pressure were good. In my room, there was a slight step up into the bathroom that caught me out most times, so be careful of this if it's the same throughout the hotel. The free bath products were fine and included a small tub of bath salts. The towels could have been softer though.

The buffet breakfast was OK. Generally, I don't find mainland European hotel breakfasts that exciting. Those in the UK and USA are much better. But the selection was good and quality OK.

I did eat in the hotel restaurant for dinner. Excellent personable service and the food was first class.

You can print out boarding passes from the terminals in the lobby and WiFi access is free throughout the hotel. Why other European hotels can't offer this free, I do not know, so well done to the Radisson Blu for getting this right!

Check-in and out was quick and friendly.

In the recent past, I've also stayed at the Mercure (Convent) Hotel. On comparison, I would have no hesitation in staying again at the Radisson Blu on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Family of 8 stayed here for a weekend in July. Excellent rooms. We had business class rooms so we got robe and slippers. Shwer was huge. Bed really comfy and no street noise giving excellent sleeps. Breakfasts were really good with plenty of choice. Not very good with the toast though. Most hotels let you make your own but had to wait for chef at breakfast station to make ours and wasnm't happy about putting it through twice to make it a dcent colour. Fried eggs and omletts are also available on request but is not widely advertised.
Grat central location for lots of cafes, bars and restaurants. Be prepared for high prices eating out. Best we found were the Argentinian Steak Houses doing a meal deal for eleven euros. Most bars charged 5 euros for a pint of beer/lager. Restaurants about 8 euros.
Second time in Amsterdam. Would go back again. Might even consider the same hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Location: very close to thr red light district and easy walking distance to Dam Square and the train station.

Service: we arrived late at night to find that the room we were given smelled like smoke, the alternative was a single. Two rooms later we were able to settle into a double. The hallway on the sixth floor smelled like cheap desinfectant but luckily our final room was on the second floor and was ok. The staff was patient and helpful and resolved our issues but i wish we had not had them in the first place.

The room: adequate size. Had wifi and an ok bathroom, hair dryer and toiletries included. It faced the street but it was very quiet.

This was a run of mill hotel experience. I think for next visit we would like something with more character.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acarvajal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
483 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#20 of 364 in Amsterdam
961 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Address: Rusland 17, 1012 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Hotel Complex incorporating 17th & 18th-century merchant houses with newer buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Radisson Amsterdam
Amsterdam Radisson
Radisson Sas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing