We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location and excellent level of service”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #11 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
UAE
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great central location and excellent level of service”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We have stayed at the Banks Mansion a number of times over the last few years and I just realised I hadn't yet written a review. The most recent visit was in July 2010.

The location cannot be beaten in Amsterdam. Central to every sight and located on one of the most beautiful canals with wonderful architecture. It is also very close to some great restaurants (around the 9 streets precinct).

The Banks has a unique concept of all inclusive room rate, so all mini bar, downstairs bar and canapes, breakfasts etc are all inclusive. The rooms are very comfortable and have an art deco theme. The showers are terrific and some of the rooms have a huge deep bath for you to relax in. The lounge downstairs has a great fireplace which is a nice place to relax after a long day walking around.

The service level in the hotel is excellent. All staff are more than willing to help you with any concerns you have or provide restaurant or visitor recommendations.

What I like most about the Banks though is that it feels like a small boutique hotel and is not impersonal like a lot of the big chains can be, particularly in Europe.

I would recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Amsterdam. Particularly if you don't want to take trams or cabs everywhere as you can easily walk to Anne Frank House, the Dam, Central Station, Flowermarket, Heineken Museum, Rijkzmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and everything in between! Personally, I would never stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bella_oes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,069
    473
    94
    35
    26
See reviews for
301
1,567
139
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton nj
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Amsterdam after stops in London and Paris. The Banks Mansion was the perfect plave to end our trip. Attentive service, Walking distance to all sites, complimentary breakfast and happy hour and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mqs311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Banks Mansion is a gem of a hotel. The staff are excellent, The Living with it's roaring fire, bar, coffee making facilities and snacks is a real home from home. Bedrooms are very comfortable. Breakfast caters for many tastes. We'll be back, most definitely.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona_Lamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We stayed for 7 nights in September 2010. Hotel is in a good location, away from the noise of Dam Square and road works around the Square, yet only a few minutes walk to the Flower Market and Rembrandtplein, also its within easy walking distance of many museums, including Bags and Purses. Lots of restaurants around Rembrandtplein. The room was quite average size for Europe, although we had paid for a deluxe Canal View room we got a corner room which was slightly bigger, but we lost the canal view. The hotel was clean, very comfortable bed. The cost of the room includes breakfasts which were really good and freshly cooked eggs. Very friendly and helpful staff. Mini bar in room was soft drinks and water. If you drink whisky, gin or brandy, there's a tray of these spirits also in the room, but no wine or beer which most mini bars would have. However, in the lounge area there's a wide choice of wines and spirits to choose from, and all included in the room price. Also nuts and sweets, and a cheese board is also availabe in the lounge around 5 p.m. We had a great holiday in Amsterdam and I'd certainly recommend this hotel. My friend is a wheelchair user. There were some steps at the door of the hotel - I don't know if there is a ramp for wheelchairs. My friend can walk short distances and we were able to access the hotel without any problems. The staff always helped me lift the wheelchair up and down the steps. They also stored the wheelchair for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Stayed for only one night, unfortunately, because we liked this hotel and their philosophy that everything is included in the price (breakfast, appetizers and drinks in the lobby) Makes you feel at home and relaxed. Because of this philosophy, the hotel is not among the cheapest, but we didn't choose this hotel for it's bargain prizes anyway.
When we arrived we took a taxi from the railwaystation, but walked there the next day (20 mins, normal speed) and you have everything you need around the corner.
We have only one negative thing to say: We arrived early at 14pm, and we were told that our room would be ready at 3pm (which is the actual checkin time). Instead of heading out, we desided to feel at home in the lobbybar. Our room wasn't ready until 0320pm. This may seem like a minor detail, and it would have been without the "free" bar...When you pay a certain amount for a hotel room, you expect it to be ready at check in time.
The staff was nice and attentive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innehaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I stayed here for one night in August. Our room, described as an upgrade at the front desk, was really tiny, even by European standards. The only thing that could have made it an upgrade was a Juliet balcony. Despite the fact that it was a non-smoking room, there were cigarette burns on the toilet seat. I've never seen that anywhere! The hallway carpets and elevator carpets looked like they had not seen a vacuum in a very long time. A large wall clock in the room was stopped at the wrong time. The tiny LCD TV had snowy reception. Room service pizza for two came with two plates, but one set of cutlery. In the breakfast room in the morning there were flies all over the food. The free liquor in the lobby ("the living") attracts a big, noisy crowd and there is free liquor in open decanters in the room. The bed was fine and comfortable and the shower was good. But on balance I would never recommend this hotel. There are much better options in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoLal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Quick one night stay on layover en route to other European destination for business trip. Quality of hotel room was excellent, staff was friendly and helpful. Location was great Floral Market, Van Gogh Museum, etc. Was worried it might be noisy at night, but that was not the case. Only regret is that I didn't have more time to relax and stay at this gem of a place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,578 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
702 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,143 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing