We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great hotel, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #8 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hotel, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

great hotel at an excellent location.
I stay here a lot and love the fact that the Rembrandt square is around the corner for my night-life.

the receptionists are very nice, especially Nina was my favourite.
I see a complain about their taxi's but i used those a lot and they are very professional, fixed prices everywhere and almost limo like.
they even brought my cellphone back for free once.

the rooms are nice and I like the living room concept they have downstairs, where there is an open bar and internet area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank psivlek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,740
    410
    88
    32
    21
See reviews for
251
1,306
118
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Don't let the free minibar and lobby snacks and drinks overwhelm the fact that this is a 4 star hotel pretending to be a 5 star. Canal facing rooms lack view on all floors due to foliage on trees - save the money and face the side street. Rooms on small size, even for Europe and the reception staff is adequate - not terribly professional. When asked if they could change a 50 Euro note, the response was "we don't make change". At the right price, this is a very nice four star hotel - certainly not the 5 star they wish to be.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hampronstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

If you don't want to get ripped off don't use their taxi services, had a chat with the cab driver who was quite grudgeful towards many Amsterdam hotels that forced him to swindle. It's on commission basis and you'll pay it anyway. Fething at least 5-8000n euros a year at least - siphoned of between management. The rest of the Hotel is wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hospitable1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Before booking this hotel I read and reviewed many Trip Advisor comments on this property, all I can say is that all the positive comments are 100% correct! What a fabulous botique property. This was a real gem of a hotel and I would reccommend it all who visit Amsterdam. Firstly and foremost are the staff - during our stay Kiki and Nancy were the greatest of hosts. As soon as you walked in you were met with a genuine smile and a willingness to make you feel at home. In a business sense I have not experienced this in Europe or the UK before. You immediately feel like a friend and not a guest. The rooms are spotless and have all mod cons. Yes they are of a European size (smaller than what is on offer in Asia/Pacific/USA) but everything you need or what want is included and for most items with-in the accommodation rates. There are very few hotels where your mini bar (replenished daily) is included in the rate, as is wireless internet, and where evening drinks (huge choice) is included (free) and a fabulous breakfast is included. This is a special hotel in so many many ways. Having highlighted all the included offerings free (well this is really with-in the rate structure) at the end of the day for me it comes down to the staff and they are simply the best - I would reccommend Banks Mansion to anyone coming to Amsterdam, my only concern is that the property gets too popular and I can't get a room here next time I visit Amsterdam!! Enjoy your stay here I reckon it would be impossible not too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geeman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcoa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

This hotel was a welcomed relief after 25 hours of traveling. The staff was very friendly, and we were surprised by an upgrade to a suite. This room was wonderful, with a very large living room and separate bedroom. The bathroom was large with a big whirlpool tub and separate glass shower. Everything was included. We had wonderful views of the canal,as well as the street. The staff gave us a wonderful recommendation for dinner at an Italian restaurant within @ 3 minutes walking distance. The king bed was comfortable. The buffet breakfast was excellent and was included in the price also. The hotel was also in a great location, and within walking distance to all the main attractions and great restaurants. The staff were consistently helpful and gracious. When we return to Amsterdam, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank courtneyAlcoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

I was very impressed with the Bank Mansion hotel, The service was excellent the room and the whole concept of the hotel was great, We enjoyed ourselves very much during our stay in Amsterdam.
A big Thank you to Kiki, Ellen and the girls at the reception desk who were very friendly and helpful
A 10/10 experience for me, and I will definitely stay at the Banks Mansion on my next visit to Amsterdam, and I will be sure to recommend the Banks mansion to my friends & colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaRCelONaBAdBoY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

This was our 4th trip to Banks Mansion, and the very high standards are still in place.
The secret of the hotel is The Manager and The Team who work there. The Front Desk are always helpful, pleasant, caring and always say hello. The rooms are excellent with a pillow choice now!. Breakfast is always very well run by a lovely lady who goes out of her way to make sure you have a good start to the day. The design of the hotel is excellent and a lot of time and trouble is taken on how the hotel looks. The Home from Home is so welcome after a long walk round the city. A great idea.
This hotel is miles ahead of most hotels in service and standards.
A Real Gem.!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidays54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#14 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing