We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banks Mansion
Nearby Hotels
$329
$293
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$296
$265
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$506
$491
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$275
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$260
$244
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$88
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$240
$209
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$489
$374
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$276
$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Van Gogh(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$143
$85
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,943)
Filter reviews
2,943 results
Traveler rating
2,273
509
98
37
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,273
509
98
37
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree barliving roomall inclusive conceptall inclusive hotelpillow menucanal viewlounge areaflower marketevery afternoonwonderful hotelmini bar in the roomhome from homerembrandt squarebreakfast was excellentrain showerboutique hotelwalked everywhere
Filter
Updating list...
2,493 - 2,498 of 2,943 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2007

Having stayed at the hotel in October 2005 with my wife when I knew I was returning on business with two colleagues of course I booked us into Banks Mansion.
I know by far the greater majority of reviews about the hotel on this site laud the welcome, the ambiance, "The Living" etc etc. The rare "negative" entry is only to be expected.
Having returned today from 2 nights there I am delighted to report that the standards I experienced in 2005 have in no way declined. The welcome on our arrival from the reception staff including "Sarah Trainee" was genuine. The recommendation for a restaurant that night was spot on. (We went to Gauchos just round the corner on the Amstel Straat.) The hotel rooms were excellent, spotlessly clean, breakfast delightful with a more than adequate choice and freshly cooked.
My two colleagues were equally impressed and each said they would return as of course would I, either with work or pleasure.
Just as an aside here is a restaurant recommendation. It's called "Sherpa" and as can be guessed by the name it is a Nepalese and Tibetan orientatedn restaurant. Located on Leidsedwarsstraat off Leidesplein if you want to try something different I would urge you to give it a go. Very reasonably priced the food is excellent.
To conclude ...well done Banks Mansion - your rating here is more than justified and if I return to Amsterdam I know where I shall be staying.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank StubbingtonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2007

We booked via the hotel website based on trip advisor reviews and stayed 3 nights. We cannot recommend the hotel highly enough. Staff bend over backwards to make sure you have everything you desire (we were offered a choice of 3 seperate rooms with different views/layouts). We also arrived about 4 hours prior to check in time and were provided with a room immediately by the super friendly reception staff. The rooms had terrific canal views and noise was blocked out by double glazing. Rooms had a lovely art deco them and were a great size! The free movies and mini bar/snacks were an excellent touch and I highly recommend the breakfasts - dutch pancakes and the likes made to order. All the attractions are within an easy walking distance ie Heineken museum, Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh, Dam Square, Red Light District etc. (although if going to central you might prefer to take a tram - which leave from the front door). The incredibly friendly staff made the stay even more pleasant. If you are going to Amsterdam you absolutely MUST stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank bellaoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2007

No hesitation in recommending this place. Excellent location: walking distance of all main sights and good bars etc.
Room clean and well equipped. Nice to have a minibar that is included in the bill. Staff v helpful.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank nobster666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2007

This is the only city hotel I know that offers all drinks included in the price. It really is a nice touch and I had friends staying in another hotel who was allowed to sit and have a couple of drinks while I got ready for dinner. No chage they told me. Very nice staff.

Room was excellent. Canal view right on the corner. Fantastic bathroom, Walk in rain shower and masive bath. A great romantic getaway. Free internet, Printer and free bar nibbles with the drinks.
Breakfast was very good too. There was a choice of 4 types of pillows and to top it all flatscreen TV with good selection of channels and DVDs.

It's not a real 4 star hotel in the true sense, but it makes up for this with the freebies. OK they are included in the price, but in that case this is amazing value for money.

Almost forgot to mention the flame effect fire and leather sofas.

It you can get one of there special rates book it as soon as you can. You won;t regret it.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Euro_Bandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2007

Very good location and very good service. Staff is ready to help and support the guest's needs.

The complimentary room frigo bar and the complimentary snacks and beverages in the hall have been highly appreciated.

The rooms are very comfortable and quite (mine was on the back).

Breakfast is included in the room price and 2 computers with free access to internet are available in the hall. Other hotel consider these services as extra.

Negative comment: only the ugly moquette outside the rooms

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Just_Me_Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews