We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banks Mansion

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Banks Mansion
Ranked #12 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2006

Just to confirm everything the previous reviews have stated. The hotel is well situated for walking round Amsterdam and also has a tram stop virtually outside the door for easy access to anywhere in the city. Staff, although mainly young, are very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are a delight with comfortable beds, flat screen T.V., free mini-bar, decanters of spirits, etc. Our particular room had a wonderfully refreshing rainshower. The concept of free drinks and snacks in The Living made returning after sightseeing a pleasure. The hotel was not cheap but in our view was great value for money. We would stay here again without any hesitation whatsoever and will be recommending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MnMManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,928
    443
    91
    35
    24
See reviews for
283
1,443
133
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LLANELLI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2006

My wife and I stayed at this hotel last week.It was absolutely top quality.The staff were extremely helpful and courteous.The bedroom was very comfortable and the free mini bar and decanters of spirits were a novelty.

The lounge area with complimentary refreshments and snacks was just fantastic.Having stayed at other hotels in Amsterdam previously, we will definitely return to Banks Mansion, it is so good that I can't think why anyone would wish to stay elsewhere.

In addition, I don't think that the location could be bettered. First class all round!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BASS174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2006

I stayed here for three nights in the middle of April. From the moment I stepped inside I received a warm and friendly welcome. In fact I would say that the staff throughout the hotel are some of the best I have encountered on my frequent trips abroad.
I was allocated a large (by Dutch standards) double room, very pleasantly decorated. Everything that has been said about the courtesy bar is true - it's a great idea and it makes a big difference knowing you can just help yourself to a drink after a hard day : ) I particularly enjoyed a long soak in the bath listening to some of my favourite tunes through the speakers in the bathroom! A great luxury touch.
The plus point of staying in the week as opposed to at weekends is they also cook you a hot breakfast (pancakes,eggs, french toast) to order in the open kitchen/breakfast room. The breakfasts were good, often I didn't need to eat again until mid-afternoon.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coolhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2006

Stayed here during easter weekend and never had any problems. The Breakfast was v-good, the double room was a good size for two and a thought the free mini bar and bar down stairs was a nice extra. I would definitely stay here again coz of how good the hotel was and with it being in a great location( next to rembrandtplein)!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SIMPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2006

I have just spent the Easter weekend at this hotel and totally agree with the reviews on this site. The room was lovely we had one with walk-in rain shower and although our room didn't have a canal view, it didn't matter as how long do you actually spend in a room? The lounge area is good with the hospitality area excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely visit again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aitchjayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2006

Short review but everything about this hotel is first class, the staff, the rooms, the location.
Probably the best foriegn hotel for all round satisfaction i have stayed in.
The two restaurants they recommended to me were excellent both within about 300 yards from the hotel.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading - UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2006

This hotel is just great. I go to Amsterdam every year at the same time and have been staying in another hotel, but on our last visit is was just not up to standard. I decided to try this one after reading the reviews and this is where I am going back too. The staff are very friendly and very helpful, the room was very clean and very comfortable. The free mini bar in the room and the free bar downstairs were great. The breakfast was great, fresh fruit, cereals, bacon and eggs was all available. If you stay here I would recommend two restaurants near by, Weinders which is on Prisengracht and Pygma-Lion which is on Nieusw Spiegelstraat. I just want to go back!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank daisyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing