We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #10 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Esther the hotel manager - well done job by you....we got in at midday and had a room ready for us within 10 minutes.

the free drinks including alcohol and reasonable wine and spirits in the room and at the lobby in a great service, as is the great breakfast. Fantastic Wi Fi

the rooms are good clean and newly renovated in Art Deco style.

we would return

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the compliment, but of course I could not have done it without my team!

We would love to stay in contact with you via our Facebook. We are planning on a give-away when we reach the 750 likes. Will you be the lucky winner?

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,774
    413
    89
    34
    22
See reviews for
258
1,328
119
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I had a lovely stay at Banks Mansion in August 2014. They staff were very friendly and welcoming as soon as we arrived, and they were helpful with any queries we had re: where to eat, directions etc. The hotel itself was great, and the room was a decent size with a lovely bathroom. The bar area has a selection of guide books available, a computer and ipads for use. The cheese at 5 o'clock each evening was a nice touch and the breakfasts were great- especially the omelettes made to order. The hotel is in a great location by the canal, and within walking distance to bars and restaurants, and Dam Square. If I return to Amsterdam I will definitely try to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Lovely stay, Highly recommended! The title of you review is already a pleasure to read. Thank you very much.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. Did you know that we offer special-deals on our website and we always reward direct bookings. Please take a look on our website when you consider booking at us.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had seen great reviews and the hotel was recommended by our travel agent. Welcoming staff were great as expected. We were too early for check in and a welcome coffee/tea was available and advice about where to go while they stored our luggage. On check in we discovered the room was set up for one person only, ie one bathrobe, one towel, one soap, etc only. We asked for two towels and when we returned in the evening this hadn't happened. We had to wait until staff member returned from dinner and then got one bath towel, asked for soap and got it. The hotel is old and looking tatty and unloved. Although our room was a decent size the layout meant that storage for two suitcases was problematic. There were stains on the armchair in our room. In room free mini bar is good and staff replenishing it asked if there was anything else we wanted. Gin, Whisky and one other spirit were available in decanters but we did not use any of these. Query whether it would be wise to do so since one is not sure what may be in decanters that, presumably, are not emptied after each guest? Evening snacks and wine are appreciated but hygiene is a factor - loaf of bread is left there for people to slice for themselves, without a cloth being provided for protection if the loaf while it is being cut - potential for many germs on the loaf of bread after each guest has cut their slice? The young man checking us in urged us to ensure we were there for Friday evening snacks because there would be some thing special at 6pm. At 6.30 pm a staff member circulated with a small plate of deep fried balls of something - I think everyone present got one but maybe not! On a good note, the breakfast was good, eggs were prepared as you preferred them and there was a good spread. We paid more than the advertised price for this hotel and note that it was more expensive than other hotels that have excellent reviews on this site. Overall disappointing - the place has potential but needs a bit of attention if it wishes to remain competitive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KIP1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for giving us precious feedback on your stay. Of course we do not like reading that your visit was a dissappointment, but by the fact that we can read it we can also make sure it will not happen again.

Again, we where sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed your stay as much as many other did. Your feedback is taken highly serious and we take action on it.

We hope that we may welcome you once again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Ditto all past reviews. We stayed at the Andaz, the first 3 nights and while it was lovely, The Banks beats it in every important detail to us. The room cost substantially less at The Banks and the "all inclusive" treats previously mentioned make it a bargain for those of us that are too mature for budget rooms. We will stay here again when we return in September.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view or a bathtub. Seems I had to chose so this time I picked the view, next time, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terideloachetanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this great review. We already liked the fact that you switched from the Andaz to us, but we like it even more that you found the Banks Mansion a better hotel.

We would love to stay in contact with you via Facebook. We are planning on a give-away when we reach the 750 likes. Will you be the winner?

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Had a wonderful few days in this lovely hotel. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. Very good breakfast and lovely extras like the cheese and wine provided in the evening. Location is ideally located -- flower market and lots of eating places just round the corner and shopping and Dam square only 20 mins walk away

Room Tip: canal views are attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this lovely review.

Do you already like us on Facebook? Via the Banks Mansion we keep in touch with people who are going to visit us or already did and want to keep on seeing what happens in Amsterdam.
By the way: we are planning on a give-away when we reach the 750 likes. Will you be the winner?

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I stayed in Banks Mansion for two nights. This hotel is in a great location, so close to the famous Flower Market and Rembrandt square. It's set nicely in between the shopping areas and the museum district.

I'd really recommend this hotel. It's nicely decorated in an art-deco style... my room wasn't huge (the rooms are different sizes as it's an old building) but followed the art-deco styling well, had a good sized and comfy bed, and was incredibly clean. There was a pillow menu with several pillows to choose from, a room safe, an iron and ironing board, hair dryer and a good quality coffee machine (Nespresso I think).

The bathroom was lovely - a big walk in shower and a large basin. All in black and white, and also incredibly clean.

One surprising thing, there was free alcohol - both in the room and in the hotel lounge. I've found this in one other Amsterdam hotel but it's not that common. There were three large decanters in my room (whiskey, cognac and gin) as well as a free fully stocked mini bar. In the hotel lounge there was also an unstaffed bar where you could help yourself to drink (spirits, beers and wine, and soft drinks too) all day if you wanted. From 4pm there was free cheese, pate and bread and there were also big pots of sweets in the lounge. Breakfast was included in my room price and there was continental and cooked options, as well as yoghurt, cereal and fruit - you could eat as much as you wanted here too.

Another great touch were the iPads and laptops in the lounge. Just pick one up and off you go... no signing in. There's also free wifi throughout the hotel which just required you to accept their Ts&Cs. The staff were pleasant and helpful at all times.

So whilst this is quite an expensive hotel, once you factor in the free wifi and the free food and drink, I think it's really good value. Add to this the amazing location, it's my favourite Amsterdam hotel so far!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing this perfect review. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the hotel and all it has to offer.

Also thank you for recommending us as a hotel everybody should stay in Amsterdam. We of course hope to welcome them all. To make sure they also enjoy their stay as much as you did we always offer special deals on our website. These special offers are not available via other websites, this way we make sure that everybody who books via our website always receive the best rate.

We hope to welcome you again in the future for another wonderful stay.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I've recently returned from a short break in Amsterdam, staying at the Banks Mansion. I'd highly recommend this hotel. From the friendly staff to the good location it really helped make our break so enjoyable. The all inclusive nature of this hotel is something I've not come across before and it was lovely to be able to enjoy a drink in the evening knowing it was all part of the hotel rate. This included drinks from the mini-bar in the room (usually something I avoid due to the extra expense). Internet access was good, via the hotel wi-fi or the free use of the supplied ipads in the hotel bar area. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this great review.

It is great to read that you would recommend our hotel. To make sure that everybody will receive the same experience like you did I advice you and them to book via our own website. Here you always find the best available rate and our web exclusive special offers.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing