We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this hotel!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #12 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“LOVE this hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed at the Banks Mansion for a brief weekend while on our honeymoon. Although we stayed at many luxury hotels across Europe, this hotel was by far our favorite. We arrived at 2am and were greeted with excellent, caring service. As another reviewer said, this hotel has all the benefits that most chain hotels will nickel & dime you for. Free breakfast, free alcohol in the room, free wi-fi, free movies, you name it. Not to mention the service was outstanding and the hotel is located in a prime location. We booked this hotel based on all of the positive Trip Advisor reviews and they were spot on. Thank you Banks Mansion, hopefully we will see you again in the future!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndserica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review and for staying with us for your honeymoon. It is with great pleasure to read that off all luxury hotels in Europe Banks Mansion was by far your favorite.

At Banks Mansion we always try to make every stay as pleasant as we can. We try this with all the free amenities and the well trained staff but also with special offers exclusive for our valued guest that book via our own website.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. Please book via our own website for the best personal service and the best available rate (always!).

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,843
    430
    89
    35
    23
See reviews for
266
1,389
123
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Banks Mansion. The front desk was really helpful and friendly with lots of good suggestions. The room was comfortable and spacious for Europe. The best thing is how all the drinks in the minibar and in the room are free as well as in the lobby. Their breakfast was delicious with made to order eggs and waffles as well as plenty of other food. They also have a 5pm wine and cheese hour which had great cheese and wine in generous amounts. The hotel is near the Rembrandtplein which is well located to all the sights. Couldn't recommend this hotel more!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review and for recommending Banks Mansion to all Tripadvisor readers. We hope to welcome them all in the future.

This is also why at Banks Mansion we always try to make every stay as pleasant as we can. We try this with all the free amenities and the well trained staff but also with special offers exclusive for our valued guest that book via our own website.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. Please book via our own website for the best personal service and the best available rate (always!).

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Our stay at Banks Mansion was wonderful. Location is right on a canal at a location near to the central city action - but close to the major museums. Right on a trolley line that can then get you anywhere you want to go. The Hotel had all kinds of benefits included where other hotels will "ding" you. Great AM Breakfast with 'everything'. Drinks in the lobby soda and alcohol and coffees/cappucino included. All drinks in the room - included. Afternoon wine and cheese included. (You could go to Amsterdam and not have to eat out...) Finally the rooms were clean, reasonable size and well appointed - and the staff was very friendly and helpful... I would absolutely stay again - and recommend it highly!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyTravelinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this review and for recommending Banks Mansion to all Tripadvisor-readers.

At Banks Mansion we always try to make every stay as pleasant as we can. We try this with all the free amenities and the well trained staff but also with special offers exclusive for our valued guest that book via our own website.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. Please book via our own website for the best personal service and the best available rate (always!).

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Banks Mansion is a relaxed and very friendly hotel. The staff really put themselves out to be helpful and interested in your stay. They are happy to recommend and book anything, offering suggestions and handy advice.

Guests can help themselves to drinks - tea, coffee, chocolate, mineral water, sodas and alcoholic beverages, at any time throughout the day and later there is a cheese and meats buffet, last night delicious tomato and pepper soup, and this morning chocolate truffles! Breakfast is plentiful, relaxed and tasty.

The rooms are Art Deco in style, with very efficient but a bit noisy air conditioning, they are clean and comfortable.

Location is excellent - an elegant canal location, very central - walking distance to all the areas of interest.

Loved my stay.

Room Tip: Situated near a busy junction but has good sound proofing. Canal view essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimilou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review and for sharing the fact that you loved your stay at Banks Mansion.

We always try to offer the most value for money as we can. This is also why we offer special offers exclusively on our own website. For example our Rijksmuseum-offer. Just take a look on our website for the best available rate and best special offers.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

An excellent front of house team set the tone for this centrally located hotel. We simply could not fault the service we received. We had a generously proportioned room at the back of the hotel, no real view but very quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of city life, which was a relief in the busy summer season. Full service means just that and in the lobby area (more than sufficient size despite some reviews) you will find a self service bar and tea and coffee making facilities. We made fair use of this - on hot days the hotel is so conveniently located and a real draw to get away from the madding crowd and cool down with a drink. When the clock strikes four, it's wine o'clock and we enjoyed cheese, meats and a nice glass of white to while away an hour or so reading the international newspapers or using one of four i-pads available.

Beds are exceptionally comfortable. Bathrobes a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hibee1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this extensive review. Truly great to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us as much as you did!

We do our utmost best to train the staff the best we can and it pleases us to read that they did such a great job. We find this of great value.

We always try to offer the most value for money as we can. This is also why we offer special offers exclusively on our own website. For example our Rijksmuseum-offer. Just take a look on our website for the best available rate and best special offers.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Banks Mansion is a very special hotel where you can really feel at home. Very good location, perfect staff: cordial, helpful, friendly, allways ready to make your stay pleasant. Generous service offering you daily delicious happy hour with cheeses and wines, and biscuits, sweets, different kind of drinks in the course of the day. Very good breakfast, excellent quality of meal. Very clean, calm and comfortable. Spacious bathroom with excellent shower cabine and plenty of towells. The suite is also spacious, however the very small wardrobe and unnecessary sculptures... A peaceful harbour in this lovely Amsterdam. Bravo!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaczcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
It is a pleasure to read that you felt at home at Banks Mansion.

We always try to offer our guest as much value as possible. The newest way we try to do that is by offering them special offers on our website. Right now we have two museum-packages on our website.

When booking please always use our own website for the best personal service, best available rate (always!) and special web exclusive offers.

Again, thank you very much.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I was pleased from the moment they opened the door. Helpful staff with excellent restaurant advice. Great morning breakfast included. The free alcohol and happy hour cheese board is well done and better than expected. Location is probably perfect. Room was not big and upgraded view was ok but it was well appointed. It would be hard to return to the city and not stay here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dougksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future. To make sure that you will receive the best personal service and always the best available rate please visit our own website. Here we also offer special offers that our exclusively on our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,590 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing