We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #10 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just come back from a wonderful trip to Amsterdam. The staff at the hotel are amazing and really do make it special. I'm afraid I can't remember the name of the male member of staff who helped us on Saturday evening (something like Anton Jan although I've probably got that completely wrong) but he was so helpful making suggestions of places that we might like to go and eat before making reservations for us.

Our room was in good condition and kept clean. We particularly enjoyed the complimentary gin in the room! The location was perfect for exploring and we felt safe as two women walking round in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tyrwhittali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guests,

It makes me even more proud of my staff by reading your review; thank you very, very much for all these great compliments! Especially for the special thanks to Albert-Jan; I will share your words with him!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future; please check our website or the best guaranteed prices.


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,775
    413
    89
    34
    22
See reviews for
258
1,329
119
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Have stayed 4 days. Great location. The front desk team makes this Hotel very special, wanted to mention William, great friendly attitude and superior customer service. Great offering with free beer, wine and other beverages + Great cheese platters. However hotel looks distressed and asks for renovation, my room on the fourth floor probably was the smallest, and seemed outdated, with Cherry furnishings from 70's and peeling wallpaper on the walls. Cleaning service had broke my spouses makeup box, probably felt to the floor from the sink during cleaning process, but was placed back at the sink ledge, we found broken pieces from it on the floor and eye shade marks all over the floor, it might be not a big deal if somebody will stood to apologize for accident, nor trying to hide it. Overall we liked the location and hope CARLTON will face lift interiors to keep Hi standard for it's brand.

Room Tip: third floor will be best option..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAXHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing this review about your recent stay at Banks Mansion.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed the proximity of Banks Mansion to all hotspots of Amsterdam, thought the front desk staff makes the hotel (I will share your special thanks to Willem with him) and enjoyed the drinks and appetizers in the Living.

I am very sorry to hear about your spouse’s makeup box. I have asked all staff of the front desk about this matter, but unfortunately no one knows about this accident. The front office staff has a very personal approach, for example, they always call guests in the room after check-in, and during the stay of guests they always ask how their day has been and if guests would like to receive some recommendations for restaurants or for what to do during the day. That is why I am surprised they do not know about this accident. If they would have known about it, we would have apologized and could have offered you a solution.

I hope you will accept my sincere apologies and I do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Please contact me personally for a future booking, then I will make sure we will take extra-extra care!


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed at the Banks Mansion for four nights in early July and endorse all the positive comments that have been written about the hotel. The staff are outstanding: cheerful, generous and each goes out of their way to make your stay the most comfortable and least stressful possible.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, the rooms and lounge are equipped with an endless supply of free snacks and drinks and the breakfast was wonderful. Importantly for many, the beds were super comfortable.

Brilliant hotel and staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJCBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very, very much for sharing this “superb” review with other travelers all over the world. I am delighted to hear that you thought the staff are outstanding, the location fantastic and the beds super comfortable; it makes me even more proud of Banks Mansion!

I really hope to be welcoming you back in the near future! Pease check our website for the best available rates.


With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is the best hotel that I have ever stayed in. From the friendly and helpful staff (front of house, kitchen and housekeeping), especially William. The room was luxurious as well as the common areas. Great breakfast and great central location. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Wow! Such an amazing review. Thank you very, very much for your generous compliments!

We would be happy to welcome you back in the near future. Keep in mind to check Banks Mansion’s website for the best available prices for your next stay.


With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braine-l'Alleud, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Original concept : all-inclusive for a 4* hotel in the middle of a big city
perfect location.
all drinks included in the room rate from the bar, the mini bar + Cognac/Gin/Whisky in the room
very nice pre-dinner time in the bar : wine and cheese dejustation.
Friendly staff
Good bedding
What else to say ? Perfect / Very nice moment

Room Tip: canal view is better of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this great, to-the-point review! I am happy to read that you have enjoyed all the aspects of our full-service concept. We hope to be welcoming you back in the near future for another “very nice moment”!


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel last summer for a last minute weekend away, and it was absolutely amazing. It has fantastic breakfasts with an excellent omelette station where they will cook different things for you, and lots of other choices besides. The rooms were nice and it was in such a lovely, and central, part of Amsterdam. Best of all, there were free drinks available at all times of the day - hot drinks, alcohol and soft drinks - and you could sit and have a drink and use one of their iPads in the lobby. I would love to visit there again. It really was such an excellent find!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very, very much for taking the time to write this lovely review; sharing your experiences at Banks Mansion with other travelers all over the world. I agree that the breakfast staff is amazing; I think they can cook the best omelets of Amsterdam! I am happy to hear you have enjoyed the proximity to the main attractions of the city and all aspects of our full-service concept.

We would be happy to welcome you back in the near future. Please check our website for the best available prices.

Thanks again!


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great canal view room, the perfect Amsterdam experience. Staff was professional, helpful and agreeable. The breakfast Kitchen was quite enjoyable and copious. Excellent city centre location, short walk to the main museums in the city.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms, after all it is part of being in Amsterdam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

I am delighted to hear that you have had a “perfect Amsterdam experience”. Thank you for the compliments towards the staff!

We hope to welcoming you back in the near future! Please check our website for the best available prices.


With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing