We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #12 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

It hard to find a hotel that is as perfect as Amsterdam in the spring but Banks Mansion comes close. Perfectly positioned next to a picture perfect canal in the heart of the Centrum old town, this hotel mixes old school charm and modern convenience. First my most important list: great beds and bedding; great air conditioning; great shower; towels....not so good,surprisingly tiny and only two per room (they really should upgrade this to match the rest of their experience) Also they didn't replenish the shampoo etc. every day which I thought was odd. Room size was small. I actually asked to see larger rooms at reception and was told that we already had the large room. I can only imagine the small ones.

The design of the hotel is excellent, sort of mid century wood, modern fixtures, flat screens etc. Free drinks (including a full bar) in the lobby and in the rooms was a very nice touch. Great appetizers too around happy hours. Staff were lovely and wonderfully helpful.

Will stay there again.

Room Tip: For reference rooms ending in a 9 are larger, 11 smaller. If you want a good size get the executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonytraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this 5-star review. We are always pleased with that.

To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate, please always book via our own website. Also for the best web only special offers!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,926
    443
    90
    35
    24
See reviews for
283
1,442
131
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lincs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

You want a hotel within a spit of the madding crowd that's an oasis of tranquility and quality, look no further. We arrived too early to take our room, but the reception staff took our bags and gave us complimentary drinks while we booked in. Bag free, we then went about our business in Amsterdam. Returning to the hotel, we grabbed our bags and took our room. What a fantastic room it was too. All the usual refinements were there as you'd imagine and done to a very high quality. The ensuite had possibly one of the best showers I've ever used in a hotel and as for the tv, well there was possibly the best selection of channels I've seen in a continental hotel. Oo, there was a DVD player too. No excuse not to find something to chill out too while resting those weary legs. On the way out we had a few hours to kill before our bus turned up and was allowed to leave our bags again till we returned. All in all a superb hotel that ticks every box. One other thing, the room was stocked with complimentary drinks with gin, brandy and whiskey on a side table in decanters. I must get out more!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank patnjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this great review!

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its concept. Did you know that we are going to renew the living to make it an even more pleasant place? Also to make the stay in Amsterdam more pleasant we offer special deals on our website only, like a Rijksmuseum-package!

To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate please always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Banks Mansion is in a very convenient location, easy walking to most places of interest, including public transport. The canals add a certain charm to Amsterdam and also to this hotel.
My husband and I enjoyed our 4 night stay here, we were warmly greeted by the reception staff. Our room 205, with a canal view, was a little small for 2 people, with one armchair! The bed was lovely, cosy and comfortable, with very nice linen. The bathroom too was clean, with nice products, and a good size shower. The coffee machine in our room was much appreciated!
The breakfast room is well laid out, with an excellent selection of cereals, bread, fruit, meat, cheese, yogurt, juice and pastries available, also eggs cooked to one’s preference.
Although the drinks etc in the lounge area are “complimentary”, we both found the seating configuration, airport lounge style, was not conducive to a couple conversing easily, and therefore did not make use of this amenity which of course was included in the considerable cost of our stay! (For comparison, for the same cost we stayed in a 5 star hotel in Paris in a room twice the size and with higher quality décor and inclusions.)
We found the reception staff, helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about their city, and in particular restaurant recommendations. A special thank you to Wilem, who was always considerate and helpful!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueMount-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this nice review.

Did you know that on our own website we offer special deals that are only available on our own website? We offer a Rijksmuseum and a Van Gogh package!

To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate please always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Fantastic top class Hotel! Centrally located in the canal district within just a block of Rembrandt square as well as the flower market and many other attractions like the RLD, Dam square and the museums. The room was very comfortable, the full bathroom was large with a huge tub with a separate large glass shower, we also had a separate 1/2 bathroom by the front entrance, 2 large comfy recliner chairs by the TV, large windows, super comfy bed - the slippers and bath robes were also a nice touch. The hotel has great Wi-Fi signal, the lobby is modern and also offers computers and ipads for people to use along with a fancy coffeemaker which prepares anything from Cappuccinos to Hot Chocolate, the lobby also had a beautiful fireplace, comfy chairs and plenty of magazines.

This is an all inclusive hotel - the rooms have 3 full decanters (Whisky, Gin and I believe Brandy) and a stocked mini-fridge with snacks, plus a 24/7 help yourself fully stocked bar at the lobby with a fridge full of Becks beer, wines, and liquors, lots of variety including Baileys and regular juice and drinks. To top it off they also offer a Happy Hour in the afternoon and serve cold meats, crackers, biscuits, cheese cuts and other accompaniments.

The staff is extremely professional and very helpful, they definitely made us feel at home. The breakfast (also included) was just as spectacular, they have a ton of variety including an omelette station, eggs any way you want them, lot of fresh breads, hams, cheeses, pancakes, more cheese, cereals, yogurts, waffles, fruits, bacon, croissants, OJ, and pastries, I don't think we could have found a better breakfast at a restaurant, and the breakfast staff was lovely and very accommodating.

We rented bikes from a local shop and had an amazing time exploring Amsterdam by bike, but the best part is that anytime we wanted to grab a drink or take a quick rest we could easily bike right back to the hotel since its so centrally located.

I loved the all inclusive concept! So refreshing and welcome! We most definitely will return to the Banks Mansion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny_Lauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

It is a great pleasure to read that you would definetly visit Banks Mansion again. We are planning on a totally new foodconcept, including food and drinks of local Amsterdam suppliers and a new bar in the living for all those new snacks and drinks.

Please follow all our renewals on our new blog: blog.banksmansion.nl

To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate please always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Banks Mansion is a boutique hotel with many rare amenities. The welcoming staff is warm, knowledgeable and extremely professional. The common areas offer tea, coffee and alcohol in an environment consistent with your home where you can share experiences casually with other guests. Evening wine and cheese is a wonderful experience to relax after a day of visiting the sights of Amsterdam. Banks Mansion breakfast buffet is a perfect way to begin each day. I commend the staff and especially Willa at the front desk for all his assistance during our recent visit.

Room Tip: All rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this wonderful review and for all the compliments you give us.

Of course we would love to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate, please book via our own website.

Want to stay up to date about Amsterdam and Banks Mansion? Please visit our brand new blog.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for five evenings in June 2014. Overall Banks Mansion was first rate in almost every respect. Our canal view room was small (about 220 sq ft) but extremely well designed so that we had just enough space. Lots of extra goodies available: great breakfast buffet with made to order omelettes, evening spread of wine, sausage and local cheeses in the beautifully decorated living room, free adult and nonadult beverages downstairs and in the room 24/7. The only hitch was that a staff member was misinformed about the closing time of Stedelijk museum (1800 not 1700), but we will just catch that museum another time. Location is excellent, about 15 minutes on foot to the art museums and equally close to the historic center. There are a number of good restaurants in the neighborhood plus a great grocery store called Marqt (similar to Whole Foods). We were very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room both for the scenery and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevenAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear guest,

We were already delighted to read the title of your review, and we only feel better and better while reading your review! Thank you very much for writing these lovely words about your recent stay.

Of course we would love to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best personal service and best available rate, please book via our own website.

Want to stay up to date about Amsterdam and Banks Mansion? Please visit our brand new blog.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Banks was a luxury hotel, the price was not the cheapest, but there was no extra charge for a full breakfast spread (including custom omelettes) decanters of alcohol in the rooms, wine and cheese every evening in the lobby as well as coffee, tea, water, soft drinks and snacks all day in the reception lounge. Nothing was forgotten.

Oh and the bed and pillows were amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDrakatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this wonderful review about the amenities and the very comfortable beds!

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure that you will receive the best personal service and best available rate when booking, please use our own hotel website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing