We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra Amenities”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #10 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extra Amenities”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Banks was a luxury hotel, the price was not the cheapest, but there was no extra charge for a full breakfast spread (including custom omelettes) decanters of alcohol in the rooms, wine and cheese every evening in the lobby as well as coffee, tea, water, soft drinks and snacks all day in the reception lounge. Nothing was forgotten.

Oh and the bed and pillows were amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDrakatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this wonderful review about the amenities and the very comfortable beds!

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure that you will receive the best personal service and best available rate when booking, please use our own hotel website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,051
    464
    92
    35
    26
See reviews for
298
1,543
139
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bexleyheath
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel was for my partners birthday all i can say was perfect.The staff were excellent from the moment we walked in to arranging our return seats on our plane for the way home.The AI was great from the open bar in reception to the coffee machine and mini bar in the room.I notice reviews moaning about the cheese and breads tray "they are only nibbles" it's not about a full course meal that's for going out and exploring Amsterdam.Breakfast was lovely and well done to the lady that was cooking eggs omelette French toast and pancakes. Even for the health conscious there was something .such an enjoyable stay lovely hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lottyBexleyheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this perfect review. We are honored.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure that you will receive the best personal service and best available rate when booking, please use our own hotel website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We just completed a nine night stay with two rooms. The hotel lives up to the high expectations created by this website. Location is excellent and on two tram lines. You can walk to most destinations. Plenty of eating choices in the immediate area. The folks at the front desk were uniformly helpful. The amenities of free beverages through the day and the evening buffet are high quality. We had a street side room on the second floor and did not find ourselves bothered much by street noise. The rooms were plenty large enough. The breakfast was extremely well done and had ample variety. Our only complaints are that housekeeping was a bit lax in its thoroughness in cleaning up the bathroom and did not seem to clean the floor in the room during our stay and the shower did drain slowly. We would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbpman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear guest,

It is our pleasure to read that Banks Mansion lived up to the high expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about the hotel and the staff, this is of course very helpful.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure that you will receive the best personal service and best available rate when booking, please use our own hotel website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We just returned from our second stay at the Banks Mansion and enjoyed it as much or more than we did eight years ago during our first stay. The location is great because you can walk anywhere from the hotel. Our room was a bit small but very comfortable. There is a living room off the lobby where guests are treated to free cocktails and snacks every evening. The included breakfast also is very good, and service is outstanding. You can't go wrong with a stay here.

Room Tip: The "deluxe" rooms are actually standard rooms and a bit small. You might want to go up in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0nnieand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this special review about your second stay after eight years! We are truly pleased to read that, after eight years, you have enjoyed the hotel as much as you did the first time.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure that you will receive the best personal service and best available rate when booking, please use our own hotel website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We read the reviews - and the high ranking of this hotel - and therefore booked. We paid extra for double occupancy and a canal 'view' - well we were on the 4th floor you would have needed a periscope.

The room was clean and neat but quite small - as was the bathroom but this was well laid out. It feels a but dated though.

The breakfast was generous and if you like the all inclusive model it might work for you - apart from bottles of spirits in the room and a couple of beers in the mini fridge - this means sitting on the ground floor with other guests so maybe we're just too unsociable!

And at around €300 a night you are paying a premium to be central.

Afraid I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HT1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Banks Mansion always tries to live up to the high expectations and to read that we did not managed to do this for your stay is truly unfortunate. We do appreciate that you have shared your experience with us, so we can strive to be the best we can.

Again thank you and I do hope that you have enjoyed the city of Amsterdam.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
496 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

What a fantastic hotel!! Every minute of our stay was great - beginning with the people at the front desk. They stored our luggage for us as we flew in early. They told us how to get to the Keukenhof gardens - what tram, bus, etc. to take - which was so helpful!! The amenities are great - breakfast, drinks in the lobby along with delicious snacks, and drinks in your room. It is truly a lovely place!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellie195105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review. It is a pleasure to read that you found Banks Mansion a truly lovely place.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure that you will receive the best personal service and best available rate when booking, please use our own hotel website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

As a first time traveller to Amsterdam this Hotel is ideally situated next to the Gentleman's Canal just off Rembrandt Square directly across from the flower market. Stylish interior and rooms to relax in. While the staff were very welcoming and informative helping with attractions taxis flyes ect. One of the best breakfasts for variety so far on my travels, omelletes cooked at your table by chef. Relaxed informal lounge/bar with WiFi drinks included made this a great space to meet other guests or plenty privacy to.. I will certainly stay at Bank Mansion again hopefully real soon. Thanks again for an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this “amazin review” on your first – and hopefully not last – visit to Amsterdam and the Banks Mansion. I am proud to read your lovely words about the staff and I am delighted to hear you thought the breakfast buffet and the life cooking have been one of the best breakfasts for variety from all places you visited.

We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future! For the best available rate I can advice you to always book via our own website.


With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,557 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,271 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,113 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
664 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing