We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel in perfect location”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #9 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, California
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Great small hotel in perfect location”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I wanted to stay in a somewhat quiet location but still centrally located with a canal view room. This hotel's location is perfect, on the most attractive canal and walking distance to every spot, museums, Dam Square etc. There are numerous restaurants just around the corner. The room we choose is 402, top floor, larger then the typical rooms and with a steam bath and wonderful view. The huge shower with rain attachment is outstanding. There are numerous electrical outlets in the room for all my chargers. The breakfast is actually very good, one of the better I have experienced and I travel a lot to 5 star hotels with weaker breakfasts. The complimentary mini bar in the room is convenient for bottled water but the free alcohol is not a perk that is important to me. The afternoon happy hour in the lobby is modest but nice to have a drink/cheese and crackers before going out to dinner. The service from the staff is excellent so in every respect this hotel deserves the excellent reputation.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank blubs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Great to read that you have enjoyed our hotel and in specific our perfect location. We can not agree more with you.

We would like to welcome you again in the future. For the best personal service and best available rate please always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,074
    474
    94
    35
    26
See reviews for
301
1,571
140
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is quite simply superb! If you want white gloved, pomp and ceremony then go to The Hotel De L'Europe which is outstanding. If, however, you want a superbly located hotel with super efficient and friendly staff then look no further. Previous reports have ably captured the virtues of free drinks (24 hrs) and no-nonsense free wi-fi etc so I shall not repeat the known. The rooms are kept very well and all overlook the canal. If you want a larger room book 106, 206, 306 or 406. If you simply want a base from which to explore it really doesn't matter which room you are in. There were no main tourist attractions that could not reached in under 10 minutes walk from the hotel (just watch out for the bikes, cars and trams that seem to appear from every direction randomly!). I would not hesitate to return to this hotel in the future and, based on the excellent weekend my wife and I have just had whilst the grandparents looked after the children, we almost certainly will - and soon!!!

Room Tip: The corner rooms that all end in '6' are the largest. Contact the hotel directly to get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonchester068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review.

We agree that Hotel De L'Europe is a good hotel and we also agree with you that Banks Mansion is special in a very different way. We indeed do not offer white gloves-service, but we do offer the best personal service in Amsterdam. It is with great pleasure to read that you also experienced your stay this way.

We truly hope to welcome you again in the future, with childeren or without. All are welcome.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just returned from a quick two night, three day stay at the Banks Mansion. I spent a lot of time agonizing over where to stay, but I could not have been happier with our final choice. My wife and I loved the central location (all sites, restaurants and nightlife were within walking distance). One of the other nice things about the location was it was close enough to walk to most everything, but not right in the heart of the late night noise that goes along with some of areas of town. The complimentary drinks and snacks were a very nice touch.

The staff was more than willing to help with any of your needs. At check-in, Willem provided us with a map of the city and a personalized itinerary of attractions/restaurants that the hotel suggested based on our answers to a short list of questions. This service was new to the hotel, but was very helpful.

My only regret of the trip was not allowing for another day in the city. If I ever visit Amsterdam again, I will not have to think twice about where to stay.

Room Tip: Had a deluxe canal view room on the fourth floor. Nice view of the canal, and away from the main str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this great review!

It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed your personal city guide to make your stay in Amsterdam even more special.

We would love to welcome you again in the future in our hotel. To make sure you will receive the best service and available rate, please book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Nice clean hotel. Excellent location. Fantastic staff!

All drinks (both non-alcoholic and alcoholic beverages) were totally free flowing - you have an help yourself open bar in the lobby, and 3 full decanters in your room! you also have free snacks in the room, plus free supper in the afternoon of cold meats and cheese cuts.
reception is also full of tablets and laptops free to use.

Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank in-na2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for indicating you would definitely return to the Banks Mansion.

To make sure you will receive the best personal service and the best available rate I can advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our second stay at this hotel and we are glad we returned. The staff are excellent and cannot do enough for the guests; the hotel is very conveniently situated, near to the city centre and some very good restaurants. There is a friendly atmosphere helped by a well stocked, comfortable guest lounge. All drinks, snacks etc. are included in the price as is the mini-bar and decanters of spirits in the room. A good variety of breakfast choices with any variation of eggs cooked to order. Our room overlooked a canal with a "picture postcard" view of the beautiful houses along the banks. We fully intend to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shropshirelad29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Two stays at the Banks Mansion and both were excellent. That is a great compliment.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

We would of course love to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you receive the best personal service and best available rate, please book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a short break with my wife. The Banks hotel was perfectly positioned for all sights, but also far enough away to get a restful nights sleep. It was about a 20 minute walk to the Anne Frank museum, 10 mins to Dam sq, 15 mins to De Pijp. Williem and Nancy on the front desk we're excellent, really welcoming. Free bar service worked well after a long day of sightseeing. We'd recommend one of the cycle tours and would certainly stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lifes_a_beach84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review.

The recommandation for a cycle tour we definetely share with you. All the highlights of Amsterdam are within walking distance of the hotel, but a bicyle ride to Amsterdam is a highlight on its own.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you receive the best personal service and the best available rate I can advice you to always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I just completed an 7 night stay at this fine hotel. We went as a family of 4 and I can say that the staff here is like family. We were treated very, very well. The front desk staff was very patient and informative. They were eager to help you at any time. Willem and Jacqueline were fabulous as were the rest of the staff.

The room was perfect. The hotel was very well located. The breakfast was superior and fast and easy. The numerous snacks and little bonuses kept us well fed, happy and ready to explore this great city.

I am ready to go back asap..

Room Tip: Canal view was very nice. Take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review.

We are honored to hear that after a 7 night stay the staff of Banks Mansion felt like family. The Banks Mansion hotel is supposed a home away from home, with the staff as a 'substitute family'.

We hope to welcome you soon again and indeed, it is always best to book directly via us.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,582 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
708 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,146 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing