We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #8 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We just spent a week at Banks Mansion. It is located very close to all the main attractions. 15 minutes on foot will take you to the museums, Vondelpark, red light district, Jordaan or practically anywhere else. Our favorite square, Rembrandtplein, is a two minute walk, as are dozens of good restaurants including a new all-u-can-eat sushi place. 6 or more of the tram lines also stop within three minutes of the hotel. The staff was wonderful, going above and beyond at all times. The "all-inclusive" set up saved us a tremendous amount of money given the high cost of beverages and breakfast at nearby restaurants. We highly recommend Banks Mansion.

Room Tip: Although the hotel does not have a gym, there is a decent gym five minutes away that offers reasonab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QdogBocaRaton_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this very kind email and for the recommendation.

It is a great pleasure to read that the full-service concept saved you a tremendous amount of money.

We hope to welcome you again in the future. For the best personal service and best available price please always book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,730
    410
    88
    32
    21
See reviews for
249
1,302
118
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel. The service from the staff was perfect from the time we arrived to the time we left. Our room was comfortable and stylish, and very well equipped. We didn't make use of the decanters of spirits or the coffee machine, but we did make full use of the free bar and daily cheese and biscuits downstairs in the lounge.
The hotel is well located, three minutes walk from the flower market, and close to the museum quarter. Nowhere is really too far to walk. The hotel can recommend some good restaurants in the area.
If you go to Amsterdam you won't find a better place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank otl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review!

It makes us proud to hear that you find that there is no better place to stay in Amsterdam than the Banks Mansion.

I hope to welcome you again in the future. To make sure you will receive the best available rate and the best personal service please book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Engalnd
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were originally booked in at the L'Europe, and you may care to look at my review of that hotel to learn why we cancelled that reservation. As a follow-up, we did call in to that hotel and found it too pretentious, thus confirming our poor opinion of their staff.

Any way, now to the really good news! We arrived from London City Airport and were surprised how big was Schipol, very clean and very efficient. Our MB limo was waiting and Brian was an excellent driver. the welcome we got on arrival at The Banks Mansion was truly special. Warm and professional. A small hotel with a big heart!

The Executive room overlooked the canal and was a good sized room with art-deco furniture. Great bed with a pillow menu. Double glazing made the room quiet and the air conditioning very efficient. Mini-fridge contents were free as was the bar in the 'Living Room' in the lobby. Breakfast was simply amazing and included in cost, as was the food and drink available from 5.00pm. One reason we like the Elysee Hotel in Manhattan.

Housekeeping service was simply super, bath towels perhaps a little small, as was the bathroom. It had a separate rain shower, and the deep bath was hidden behind the basin, very quirky!

Reception staff could give lessons to those that I have mentioned beforehand.

Location, location, location! Got the message, The Banks has the best position in the city, five minutes walk to Dam Square, two minutes to the Flower Market, two minutes to Rembrant Square with its many restaurants. Ten minutes walk to the Rijks Museum and a further two minutes to the Van Gogh museum. Thirty minutes walk to the Anne Frank House.

Loads of restaurants abound within ten minutes walk, Indonesion Rice Tables and great fish restaurant. Wacky Backy Cafes if you want and the touristy Red Light district. Even a Handbag Museum!!

In conclusion, the Banks Mansion deserves the high reputation it deserves. The location is superb, as is the hotel staff and food. We will return....

Room Tip: Small hotel, so all rooms are more than adequate. Best rooms are the Executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear guest,

With great pleasure we read that the change of hotel you made was the right choice. Thereby we have enjoyed having you as our guests.

The comprehensive review you wrote, describes all the points of the hotel where we pride ourselves on. Thank you very much for this. We hope that all our future guests will read your review.

I hope we can welcome you once again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We visited Amsterdam in half term in February 2014 and stayed in this picturesque hotel which is perfectly positioned to explore (on foot if you want, although there are plenty of trams if not) all the key areas of this wonderful city. The staff were outstanding, the rooms excellent and the 'all inclusive' drink and snacks a real bonus. We all loved staying here and could not recommend it more highly to anybody thinking of visiting Amsterdam. A real treat.

Room Tip: One of the two rooms we booked did not have a bath. Fortunately the hotel were (just) able to accomo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank me3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for all the compliments in your review. We are hapy to hear that you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and the Banks Mansion.

We hope to welcome you again in the future, for again a great stay. To make sure you receive the best available rate and personal service I can advice you to book via our own website.

Thanks in advance and with warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in March. The staff really goes out of their way to help you with anything you need. The complementary breakfast is first rate and the afternoon drinks and cheese gave us a chance to mingle with other guests. The hotel is within easy walking distance of all Amsterdams main attractions and many good restaurants. I have no hesitation recommending Banks Mansion to anyone.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank daisytoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Good to read that you will have no hesitations recommending Banks Mansion to anyone.

We hope we can welcome you or anyone to whom you have recommended us in the near future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have just spent five days at this lovely hotel on the canal side. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and efficient. Our room was very comfortable with a view of the canal. Breakfasts were plentiful and varied and we also enjoyed the complimentary drinks and snacks available in the lounge along with the daily international newspapers and ipads. We were impressed by the visits planning available and the knowledge of the staff.The hotel is very well positioned for walks to the central locations, restaurants, tram stops etc.

Room Tip: The best rooms are obviously at the front of the hotel overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaMWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for a brilliant review.

We truly hope to welcome you again in the future. For the best personal service and best available rate I can advice you to book via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Banks Mansion is quality and excellence in ALL areas: location (down the street from the glorious floating Flower Market); accommodations (beautiful restored canal mansion with every modern amenity, beautiful rooms fully equipped, impeccable staff professional in every way, sumptuous breakfast buffet---items cooked to your order, relaxing lobby with refreshments at all hours);
and charm (a magnificent way to enjoy this enchanting city!)
Banks Mansion is THE hotel to select for luxury and service.
We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you! Such a kind review. When a guest calls us quality and excellence in ALL areas, we can only be proud.

We hope to welcome you again in the future for hopefully another great stay. The best way to book a stay is always via our own website.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,278 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#14 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing