We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Service With a Smile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #8 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Service With a Smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in a deluxe canal view room.

Great central and walkable location. Check in and check out were quick and easy. All the staff was friendly and those at the front desk (no dedicated concierge) were very helpful making suggestions and reservations for dinner and excursions. Special thanks to Paul for all his assistance. Breakfast had a decent selection, including a chef to cook eggs the way you like them. Since breakfast, afternoon snacks, and liquor were all included, cocktails and night caps became a great way to "regroup" or wind down.

Rooms were small, but adequately appointed. Bathroom had basic toiletries, was decent but limited on storage. The shower had a nice rain shower head but could use a bit more attention to cleaning. It also had the hottest water I've ever experienced anywhere.

There is no business center, but they provide a computer and multiple iPads in the lobby. If you need something printed, though, you need to email it to the desk. WiFi worked well most of the time, but occasionally we had trouble connecting.

Overall, the hotel has a definite boutique hotel vibe with a friendly staff. What was lacking in formal luxury was compensated for by friendliness, courtesy, and attentiveness.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLLtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for this great and honest review. Your kind words are greatly appreciated by all our staff members and by my colleague Paul in particular. How nice to read that you have enjoyed so many of the treats at Banks Mansion; the extensive breakfast, the free hispeed internet, the use of state-of-the-art touchscreen computer and many more.

We hope to be welcoming you again at Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,691
    404
    86
    31
    21
See reviews for
239
1,278
112
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
OMAHA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I found this place by cross referencing several websites-Decided on this and it was a good decision. THe location is perfect for walking this city and is esp. close to the museums and the Flower Market. You could not ask for better staff at the front desk. They were helpful in so many ways- booking our canal cruise, making reservations, computer problem solving and more.
The open bar both in your room( limited) and in the lounge/lobby was a really nice perk. THe 5 o'clock appetizer and wine bar was also very nice- though as some reviewers noted- the cheese etc gets cleared out pretty fast - so if planning on it - be there by 5:30 or so.
Rooms were comfortable - even spacious by European standards.And the included breakfast was very nice and could hold you all day .
The price of this place is a bit of an ouch- but for European prices- you do get a lot for your money. I would recommend this place to anyone..

Room Tip: ask for quiet room- might not get canal view but still a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinkyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for the sincere and joyful review! It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion. Thank you for the complements about the wonderful breakfast. We are looking forward to your return at Banks Mansion.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for two days as we acclimated to the time change from the USA to Europe. By arriving in Amsterdam at 9 a.m. on a Thursday morning, we were prepared to leave our baggage at the hotel and find something to do until we could officially check in. But, Banks Mansion let us know that there was an available room similar to what we had reserved and allowed us to check in at that early hour. The room was comfortable and the hotel staff was efficient and informative and responsive to any request we had. We especially liked the all-inclusive nature of this hotel. The evening reception was lovely with drinks and snacks and the morning breakfast was wonderful. The staff had great recommendations and information about sightseeing, maps, restaurant recommendations, general directions, etc... When we are in Amsterdam again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Wow, you have created huge smiles on our faces by writing this amazing review. Thank you very much for these great compliments about many of these great features that are part of Banks Mansion’s ‘Home, away from home’ concept; the complementary drinks in both the Living as in your private mini-bar, the ‘live-cooking’ breakfast restaurant, the free use of iPads, hispeed wireless internet, Nespresso coffee machines and amazing rain showers. These were only a few parts of the concept!
We have printed out your review and all my colleagues would like to thank you for all the writings!

We are looking forward to welcome you again at Banks Mansion, to make your stay as great as your last one!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Another great stay here, not much has changed here over the last eight or nine years, there's not much they could do to improve what is a terrific concept, delivered very well indeed.

Rooms are compact but well thought out, beds big and comfortable, bathrooms well equipped and spotless. Location is great, breakfast plentiful, staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Inclusive drinks, snacks & coffee most welcome.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are slightly larger but have a little more street noise. Rooms furthest from the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rothesayisexotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear returning guest,

It is really makes our day, reading that you would not stay anywhere else than at Banks Mansion when you are in Amsterdam! Thank you for the terrific compliments about the concept and towards our staff.

We hope to be welcoming you once more at Banks Mansion in the (near) future.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Incredible experience! Great location...Stayed for 4 days with my lovely wife of 16 years for our annieversary. The Banks Mansion staff was exceptional. Originally had a room facing the street but was upgraded to a corner room facing the canal and street free of charge. The breakfast provided each morning was more than enough to keep us going throughout the whole day until dinnertime. Ola's omelettes were great! The staff provided unconditional assistance from dinner reservations to printing our boarding passes. Thanks Peter...thank you Banks Mansion for an unforgettable 16th anniversary!

A and K

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear anniversary guests,

How amazing to read that you have chosen Banks Mansion to celebrate this special occasion! It is even better to read that you actually enjoyed your stay so much! A huge ‘thank you’ from all the members of our staff for the nice compliments you have written about them. A special thank you from Ola and Peter!
We are already looking forward to welcome you again at Banks Mansion. Maybe for your 17th anniversary?

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel sets the standard for hotels in this city. The is operated and serviced VERY well. Manned by a team of professional staff at all times who are happy to assist and serve to your enquires and requests. The rooms are very comfortable and the beds very comfy indeed.

The only recommendation i would make is to perhaps close the bar downstairs at a timely manner or manage it better whereby no disruption is caused to guests who want to enjoy a 'quiet' drink.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhiteDoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your pleasant review! How amazing that you enjoyed the hotel so much, we appreciate your nice compliments towards our team of staff. We are happy to read that you experienced our rooms and beds as very comfortable.
Also we would like to thank you for your recommendation. We have a full service bar, which is open 24 hours, so our guests can feel like they are at home, but not at home. It could be that some guests come to have a drink at the same time, so this can make it busy and cozy in our Living. But this gives our guests also the chance to meet other guests!

We hope to have you as our guest another time!

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I remained four days in this hotel for a congress and I was very happy for my choice.
the standard of the room is higher than the other similar hotel and the possibility to access overtime to the bar is a great idea!
The Young staff is very helpful and the breakfast is very good and plantiful.

Room Tip: The rooms along the channel are more quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabrizio1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear congress guest,

It is great to read that you enjoyed our hotel during your congress in Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the comfort of the room and the extensiveness of the breakfast. A thank you for the compliments to our (young) staff.

With sincere and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,242 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#14 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing