We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best in Amsterdam”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #9 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Another great stay here, not much has changed here over the last eight or nine years, there's not much they could do to improve what is a terrific concept, delivered very well indeed.

Rooms are compact but well thought out, beds big and comfortable, bathrooms well equipped and spotless. Location is great, breakfast plentiful, staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Inclusive drinks, snacks & coffee most welcome.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are slightly larger but have a little more street noise. Rooms furthest from the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rothesayisexotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear returning guest,

It is really makes our day, reading that you would not stay anywhere else than at Banks Mansion when you are in Amsterdam! Thank you for the terrific compliments about the concept and towards our staff.

We hope to be welcoming you once more at Banks Mansion in the (near) future.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,578 - 1,584 of 2,782 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Incredible experience! Great location...Stayed for 4 days with my lovely wife of 16 years for our annieversary. The Banks Mansion staff was exceptional. Originally had a room facing the street but was upgraded to a corner room facing the canal and street free of charge. The breakfast provided each morning was more than enough to keep us going throughout the whole day until dinnertime. Ola's omelettes were great! The staff provided unconditional assistance from dinner reservations to printing our boarding passes. Thanks Peter...thank you Banks Mansion for an unforgettable 16th anniversary!

A and K

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear anniversary guests,

How amazing to read that you have chosen Banks Mansion to celebrate this special occasion! It is even better to read that you actually enjoyed your stay so much! A huge ‘thank you’ from all the members of our staff for the nice compliments you have written about them. A special thank you from Ola and Peter!
We are already looking forward to welcome you again at Banks Mansion. Maybe for your 17th anniversary?

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel sets the standard for hotels in this city. The is operated and serviced VERY well. Manned by a team of professional staff at all times who are happy to assist and serve to your enquires and requests. The rooms are very comfortable and the beds very comfy indeed.

The only recommendation i would make is to perhaps close the bar downstairs at a timely manner or manage it better whereby no disruption is caused to guests who want to enjoy a 'quiet' drink.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhiteDoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for your pleasant review! How amazing that you enjoyed the hotel so much, we appreciate your nice compliments towards our team of staff. We are happy to read that you experienced our rooms and beds as very comfortable.
Also we would like to thank you for your recommendation. We have a full service bar, which is open 24 hours, so our guests can feel like they are at home, but not at home. It could be that some guests come to have a drink at the same time, so this can make it busy and cozy in our Living. But this gives our guests also the chance to meet other guests!

We hope to have you as our guest another time!

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I remained four days in this hotel for a congress and I was very happy for my choice.
the standard of the room is higher than the other similar hotel and the possibility to access overtime to the bar is a great idea!
The Young staff is very helpful and the breakfast is very good and plantiful.

Room Tip: The rooms along the channel are more quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabrizioViola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear congress guest,

It is great to read that you enjoyed our hotel during your congress in Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the comfort of the room and the extensiveness of the breakfast. A thank you for the compliments to our (young) staff.

With sincere and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Neat hotel ideally situated in central Amsterdam -- an easy walk
from either the museum district with Rembrandt and Van Gogh
or to the Anne Frank Huis (most memorable), and to numerous
quite good restaurants and lovely walks by the canals. We had
a front center room looking out over the hotel entrance -- the
room comfort easily made up for the evening noise. The staff
was always helpful, and came up with a wonderful substitution
for dinner when we realized that we had reserved at a spot that
was not easy for us to find. That was the nearby Italian
restaurant Incanto which I would highly recommend. The flavor
of the hotel is art deco with some Mackintosh motifs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weyl-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

How great to read that have enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion so much. We are happy that you made good use of the proximity of all great hotspots of Amsterdam to the hotel. Thank you for the compliments towards our staff, we hope to be of service to you another time when you visit Amsterdam and Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was in Amsterdam for business and decided to stay here as it seemed a bit.more personal that a typical business hotel. This was indeed the case. It was an absolute pleasure having everything included. I loved the nespresso machine in the room and the evening snacks. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An0n123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear business guest,

Thank you for this nice review. It is great to read that also you, as a business guest, enjoyed the athmosphere at Banks Mansion so much. We hope to welcome you during another business trip or when you visit Amsterdam as a leisure guest.

With sincere regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a lovely time at the hotel, the rooms were clean and very comfortable. The staff were all helpful over any query and so friendly. The home from home was so pleasant, nothing extra to pay and great to be able to relax with a drink or nibbles downstairs. We loved the breakfast, fresh cooked or a good selection of other choices.
Good location, central enough but not in a noisy neighbourhood. Easy to get around by foot or on the tram lines.
Would thoroughly recommend to people looking to spend a few days in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear guests,

We are dazzled by your great review, thank you sincerely for taking the effort writing such great compliments about us! It is amazing that you have enjoyed all the great features of the ‘home, away from home’ concept; the cozy Living room in Art Deco style, the complementary drinks, snacks and candies, the extensive breakfast, hi-speed wireless internet and the ability to use the iPads. We would also like to sinceley thank you for the great compliments towards all our staff, they appreciate this very much!
We hope we can welcome you again for another Total Hospitality experience at Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,630 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,127 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,976 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
784 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $243 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing