We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banks Mansion
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$239
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$174
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$314
$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$189
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$262
$237
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$396
$313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$224
$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$497
$422
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$294
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel De Hallen(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$181
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,919)
Filter reviews
2,919 results
Traveler rating
2,254
506
97
36
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,254
506
97
36
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree barliving roomall inclusive conceptall inclusive hotelpillow menucanal viewlounge areaflower marketevery afternoonwonderful hotelmini bar in the roomhome from homerembrandt squarebreakfast was excellentrain showerboutique hotelwalked everywhere
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,710 - 1,715 of 2,919 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had the most wonderful time at Banks Mansion! It was my husband's 60th birthday and I had booked a trip to Amsterdam as a surprise treat. As it was a special occasion, I emailed the hotel ahead to arrange a few things and to our delight we were upgraded free of charge to a beautiful 4th floor suite with amazing views overlooking the canal! The room was modern, spacious and spotless. The bathroom was luxurious and had a generous sized walk in shower which doubled up as a sauna! The bed was huge and very comfy with lovely crisp linen sheets. Room service attended daily with fresh linens/towels/toiletries etc. Rooms also include a free mini bar, which was replenished when running low as well as three crystal decanters containing gin, whiskey and cognac.... a lovely added luxury! Breakfast was included in the price and you had your choice of continental (fruit, cereal, breads etc) or eggs cooked to your liking along with bacon and sausages. The hotel is in a lovely affluent area but just 15-20 minutes walk from Dam Square and other attractions. The daily flower market is less than 10 minutes walk away and the Red Light District (which you have to see, even just once!) is about 20 minutes walk away. In the hotel lobby there is a coffee machine, a fridge containing soft drinks/beer/water and a range of alcoholic drinks which are all complimentary for guests so after a day of sightseeing you can come back, relax in one of the big comfy chairs, chat to other guests or browse the internet and help yourself to a drink of your choice. Every evening a selection of chilled wines and snacks are provided for guests, again all complimentary! The staff go out of their way to ensure guests are happy and well provided for - nothing is too much trouble for them. We would highly recommend Banks Mansion and look forward to returning again - we wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else! Thank you Banks Mansion for a wonderful, memorable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karysma61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear guests,

What a superb review! Reading these kind words made our day! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and that Banks Mansion is your first hotel of choice when coming to Amsterdam. How great that you enjoyed the proximity of Banks Mansion to many great hotspots and restaurants so much! A thank you for all the nice compliments about which you write in your review.

We are truly looking forward to be of service to you again during another visit.

With kind, sincere and warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked a deluxe double room with canal view which looked out on the Herengracht and the architecturally much vaunted Golden Bend via the double French-windowed vestigial balcony. When closed, the windows cut traffic noise to a murmur and removed draughts. The bed was comfortable with excellent pillows, chairs well-designed and comfortable, wardrobe (with lovely lit stained-glass panels, like the bedside cabinets) adequate and with safe, television with lots of English-language channels and free minibar (water, beer, strange energy drink, pop and nuts) with decanters of gin, whisky and brandy, free and topped up daily. The bathroom was pleasant with a standup shower (a little twitchy to set up). Downstairs was "The Living", a complimentary and very well-stocked bar with spirits, beers, wines (of all types), waters, coffee, teas, snacks, sweeties, etc. etc.; tables had several tablet computers with free wifi and reading matter - all meant to encourage guests to mingle. The courteous staff all had excellent English and were always so ready to help, even at busy times. Breakfast was included and was served in a stylish area; menu was extensive and the wide range of delicious cooked-to-order egg dishes (not poached) was wonderful. Location was within 15mins walk of the museum quarter (via the arts & antiques shop area), Rembrandt square and museum, the edge of the redlight district, the Ledseplein (lots of eating, music and theatres), opera house, etc. There are good restaurants very nearby and trams pass the hotel for travelling further afield. We loved this hotel!

Room Tip: The canal view is worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

How great to read this review. Thank you very much for the time and effort taken to write this review. It is good to read that you have enjoyed so many features of our ‘home, away from home’ full service concept; the luxurious and comfortable hotel rooms, the complementary drinks in both The Living as your private minibar, the free usage of state-of-the-art tablets (iPads) and computer, the extensive breakfast in The Kitchen, our breakfast restaurant and many more. Also a big ‘thank you’ from all the Banks Mansion staff for the great compliments towards them!

We will be looking forward to welcome you at Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We LOVE this hotel and for many reasons. The staff is polite and friendly, which is rare in the Netherlands. We have stayed here several times and always feel at home. Free juice, sodas, alcoholic drinks, coffee and tea are available during your whole stay. Special treats are served, and if there is a special occasion or holiday, the treats and decorations correspond to the event.

The location is great, right in the heart of town, near the Muntplein, Kalverstraat (a "walkling only" street of shops), Singel flower market and Rembrandtplein. Public transport is readily available.

The only drawback is that it is quite pricey, which at times has caused us to stay in a different hotel. But whenever we can afford it, we prefer to stay at the Banks Mansion in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms face the canal (Herengracht). If you like people- and event-watching, rooms on the main street (Vijzelstraat) are good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear guests,

What a lovely review! Thank you very much for taking the effort to write these kind words. The compliments towards our staff are received with much joy! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed the proximity of Banks Mansion to all the great hotspots and restaurant which enrich Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to be of service to you once more in the (near) future.

With kind & sincere regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I said I wasn't going to say anything nice about this Hotel. Well, when you find a hotel that is really good you should not tell the rest of the world. Because when you next want to stay there again, it will be fully booked! They have a 'home from home' ethos and very friendly staff. There is free mini bar in your room, free lounge bar, free mid afternoon cheese and wine. Decanters of Cognac, Whiskey and Gin in your room, free TV, a very comfy bed, fantastic breakfast, great central location etc etc! Well If you like this sort of thing, then I suppose this is the Hotel is for you. :-) Oh yes, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear holiday guests,

Thank you for this great and joyful review. What a nice ‘story’ to read why you would not want to advise other travelers to stay at Banks Mansion; but thank you for the recommendation!
We are looking forward to welcome you for a next visit!

With warm and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

One of the best hotels I’ve stayed in! I have to say, they really do make you feel as though you can make yourself at home. Whether it’s the unlimited bar where you can help yourself to a coffee, alcoholic beverage or the little treats they leave during the day. You would forgive them if the rooms were rubbish, but they’re stunning! They think about everything! Even giving you a choice of pillows to meet your preference. The location is perfect, so close to everything that you save so much money you would have forked out on taxis. I know that if I ever visited Amsterdam again, whether the Bank Mansion had rooms available would be a major factor in my decision to visit Amsterdam because I wouldn’t want to stay anywhere else and the hotel itself was one of the main reasons I loved the city. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Be sure to wake up for breakfast even after a crazy night, I got there too late and was jealous haha
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank From C to C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear guest,

What an amazing review! Thank you so much for all your kind words. It makes us love our job even more when our guests really “feel at home” during their stay with us, as this is our main goal every day again.
It is absolutely wonderful to read that you would only come back to Amsterdam when it is possible to stay at Banks Mansion, this is one of the greatest compliments we have ever had. Thank you very, very much! We really would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

With warm and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews