We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasant enough boutique hotel, but not 5 stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #10 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough boutique hotel, but not 5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Overall this is a pleasant boutique hotel with a good center city location, but it does not rate the 5 stars others are giving this hotel.

We had a snug but adequate room which had good air conditioning for our summer stay. The bathroom was nicely sized. The hotel is pricey but a reasonable value for what you get, including an open bar (if you wish to take advantage of that) and a generous breakfast buffet complete with an omelet station. The older but functional lobby could perhaps use some updating, but it included a comfortable seating area with an open bar and tables with iPads for guest use. The hotel Wifi was satisfactory.

On the other hand, the walls around our upper floor room’s window angled into the room, and you had to be careful not to bang into it when walking to and from the window side of the bed. For the multiple “accidents” by the window that occurred, it was too bad our room did not have at least have a canal view. There is also no bell staff and we arrived with considerable luggage for a cruise departing from Amsterdam. The front desk staff helped lift the bags from the entrance door to the front desk. There was also one luggage cart which fortunately was available so we managed to get the bags to our room via the small elevator.

The staff is friendly, but most disappointing their numbers are severely limited and they are surprisingly expected to cover most hotel services including providing breakfast and address some maintenance and housekeeping requests. It took 4 visits to the room by one front desk staff member to fix a water faucet that was falling off its handle, and this was not addressed as requested while we were out touring since they were “too busy” to get to it during the day. We therefore had to watch them come and go in and out of our room after we returned. The front desk staffer was well-intentioned but certainly not a plumbing maintenance expert, and it seemed unfair to him as well that they don’t have more staff.

Despite some inconveniences, Banks Mansion’s pluses outweighed the minuses and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal avoiding the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msilvers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guests,

We would sincerely like to thank you for the comments about your stay at Banks Mansion. These keep us alert in striving to be a 5 out of 5 star hotel for all our guests. First of all, we appreciate the kind words about our staff; this is a joy for them to read.

It is nice to read that you have enjoyed the open bar in our Living area. About the Living area I can tell you that the last few months we have had a thorough update of our Living. New furbished chairs, brand new reading table with a state-of-the-art touch screen computer. Carpeting in the entrée is new and soon we will have new carpets in the entire Living. So we hope to show you our ‘new’ Living during another visit.

We are a small 4star deluxe boutique hotel, so this means that we do not have a bell boy, but instead our Guest Relations Officers are always willing to help you carry the luggage up the 3 stairs in our entrée. For carrying the luggage to the room we have a big luggage cart ready for your use.

It is unfortunate to read that you have experienced a malfunctioning water faucet. We always try to fix a problem right away, even during the hours that our maintenance employees are not in the hotel. So our apologies about not directly fixing the problem when you were outside the hotel. Of course we need to give our attention to all the guests staying with us, so we can never assure that we can fix it right at the spot, but we will always do the best we physically can.

Again thank you for the extensive review and we are happy to read that you would be coming back to Banks Mansion in the future. We hope we can show you our improvements regarding your comments during this next visit.

With sincere and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,772
    413
    89
    34
    22
See reviews for
258
1,328
119
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our third visit to Amsterdam & first to the Banks Mansion and we were really impressed with the hotel.

The hotel's concept is 'home from home' and this is explained to you by the very helpful staff on your arrival. The concept means that included in your room price are the following extras -

-Complimentary drinks (alcoholic, soft & hot) in the lobby & your room.
-Snacks available during day , including a cheese board in the lobby at 5pm
-iPads & larger touch-screen computers available for you to use in the lobby
- International newspapers available
- A (Very good) included breakfast , hot & continental
-Free wi-fi throughout hotel

We managed to get seats for our party of 4 whenever we wanted to sit in the lobby & enjoyed having the food & drink available to us after a day of sightseeing . It can get busy between 4pm & 6pm when the wine bucket & cheese is brought out .

The hotel is situated very close to the Keizersgracht tram stop which run the lines 16,24 & 25 from the central station (it take only 5 to 10 minutes to get from the station to the hotel). It is also very handy for the museum district ( Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum etc) and we took a very pleasant walk along the canals to Anne Frank's house in under 20 minutes.

The rooms are very comfortable & as I mentioned above have complimentary drinks (including three large decanters of gin, whiskey & brandy). Our room had a large shower / steam room & my parent's room had a massive bath (which we had specifically requested & the hotel sorted without any trouble).
Little touches in the rooms were particularly good, for example the dressing tables had both european and UK plug sockets which made life easier.

Staff very friendly & helpful , they sell tram tickets, book museum tickets & restaurants for you if you wish.

I would heartily recommend Banks Mansion as THE place to stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main road have great views of the canal & street (but there is some noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bongbrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guests,

What an amazing and extensive review about your stay at Banks Mansion. We greatly appreciate it that you have taken the time to write all these kind words about your stay at Banks Mansion.
We are very happy to read that Banks Mansion felt so much like home for you, this is what we are stiving for and it is nice to see we succeeded.
Thank you for all the great compliments toward the hotel and our staff.

We are already looking forward to be of service to you during another visit.

With kind and very warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at this hotel and liked it a lot. It's well-located, comfortable and reasonably priced. The service was pleasant and helpful yet laid-back. Previous reviews complain about street noise, but we had no problems despite having a street-facing room. Location is good as well. You can walk to most of the sights in under half an hour, or take the tram. Beds are on the soft side, which was my husband's only complaint.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psycholemming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for this ‘excellent’ review. It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay so much. That you liked the proximity to all hotspots, the comfort & quietness of the rooms and the service of our staff. We appreciate all these nice compliments and hope to be welcoming you again during another visit to Amsterdam and Banks Mansion.

With kind & sincere regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We flew to Amsterdam on a redeye from Bali, and our flight landed at 6:30am. We had emailed ahead to the hotel to see if they could have our room ready early, but didn't exactly get our hopes up. While they didn't have a room quite ready yet, they at least got one ready for us within a few hours. Furthermore, the hotel lobby was as comfortable a lounge as we could ask for, with free wifi and iPads for guests (more already than you can say for quite a few hotels...!), free coffee, tea, soft drinks, snacks, and a full bar that is complimentary for guests. The lounge also does a free wine and cheese gig in the afternoons with a fire going and everything....we were too busy running around the city to really take advantage of it, but seemed quite nice to have the option to chill there! The room was totally fine...nothing spectacular, but we did have a canal view and it was totally silent at night, no noise complaints at all. Breakfast is great, and the hotel is situated within walking distance of most of the main attractions in Amsterdam, and close to several tram stops if you need to go a bit farther for say, the zoo (awesome, btw), the Heineken experience, Centraal Station, etc. Perfect little home base for people who want to see as much of the city as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRSaarbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guests,

What a treat to read through your review. Thank you for taking the time to write these kind words. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed all the features of our full service concept; the complementary drinks, snacks cheese and sausage table, the extensive breakfast and many more.
We have a guaranteed check-in time of 15h00/3pm, but of course we will do always our best to have a room ready when you arrive before that. But we are also dependant on the prior guests, they have the time to check-out till 12h00/12pm, and after that we need the time to make the room sparkling clean for your stay. When you arrive 15h00/3pm and there is no room ready you are always welcome to store your luggage with us and take a complementary drink and snack at our Living.

Thank you again for your comments. We are looking forward to be of service to you again during a next visit.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been to Amsterdam over a dozen times and find that this is one of the more expensive cities in Europe. I have paid too much for too little many times but this was not the case at Banks.
My room was perfect, the breakfast were excellent and the social hour in their lobby was wonderful. The location of the Banks is ideal and I'm looking forward to my return this summer.
The price may seem a little high but believe me you will not regret it and it is well worth the extra money in the long run.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSA1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear stylish guests,

This is a great review! Thank you for writing all these kind words. We are thrilled by the nice things you say about the room, the breakfast and the location of Banks Mansion. We are happy that the price compare to our high quality is appealing to you.

Thus, we are looking forward to be welcoming you once again this summer.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Don't expect a regular 5 star amenities and hotel size, but it's certainly very good for amsterdam centre and very good elsewhere.
Staff is very friendly and helped everytime.
You can get breakfast outside in cafes but not be desapointed in having it in the hotel : a far/plenty items to choose, so my tip is to book the room with breakfast included.
If you are not afraid to walk 10/15 minutes on flat floor you don't even have to catch a tram or metro to visit the entire amsterdam centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmmjrpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for this ‘excellent’ review, we truly appreciate it that you have taken the time to write about your stay at Banks Mansion. Thank you for all the compliments towards our staff.
Banks Mansion is a 4 star hotel, or to be more precise it is a 4 star deluxe hotel. At Banks Mansion we have a full service concept for all our guests. This means that during every stay at Banks Mansion the extensive breakfast at our Kitchen is fully included. But this is not all, also all the drinks in The Living and all the drinks in the hotel room are complementary. Do not forget about the complementary internet, snacks, use of iPads and many more!

Thank you again, we are looking forward to your next visit at Banks Mansion.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I made reservations at Banks Mansion based on previous reviews , and since I talked two other couples to trust me and go there also, my choice was on the line. Boy, do I feel smart now! The hotel was a big hit! Everyone loved the "home away from home" concept and took full advantage of the free soft drinks,beer, water, Bailey's Irish Cream, snacks etc. in the living room area. The bedrooms were big enough and nicely furnished. Our view on the canal was great. The breakfast was plentiful and varied.
The staff could not have been nicer, and the location was close to several attractions. Whenever I make it back to Amsterdam, there is only one place I'd stay, and that is Banks Mansion.

Room Tip: Select the canal view (worth the extra money) and a high floor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennisrebel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

How great that you have chosen Banks Mansion based on our prior guests’ opinions, and it is even better to read that you have enjoyed the actual stay so much! We are very happy that you appreciated the ‘home, away from home’ full service concept so much, all the complementary drinks, snacks, breakfast, hispeed wireless internet, free use of iPads and many more.

We hope to welcome you again as our guests at Banks Mansion.

With warm & kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing