We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banks Mansion
Nearby Hotels
$239
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$174
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$314
$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$189
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$262
$237
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$396
$313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$224
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$497
$422
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$294
$213
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel De Hallen(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$181
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,919)
Filter reviews
2,919 results
Traveler rating
2,254
506
97
36
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,254
506
97
36
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree barliving roomall inclusive conceptall inclusive hotelpillow menucanal viewlounge areaflower marketevery afternoonwonderful hotelmini bar in the roomhome from homerembrandt squarebreakfast was excellentrain showerboutique hotelwalked everywhere
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,738 - 1,743 of 2,919 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We didn't want to stay close to the Red Light District so we chose the Banks Mansion because it was within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to see. Perfectly located between the Museumplein and the Central Station, we were able to easily walk everywhere from there. There are tons of decent places to eat in the area (from cheap spots to fine dining), it's close to the Flower Market but at the same time the area is not so crowded or has the seediness you can find closer to the Red Light District. Locationwise, we couldn't have asked for more.

The service was excellent as well, starting with all the cute, tall guys at the front desk (there are several, LOL!) Everybody was very friendly (always responding sincerely to our greetings and genuinely asking for our welfare). The breakfast was good but as others have already mentioned, the cherry on top is the complimentary drinks in the lobby and the mini-bar (I tell you, we missed that when we continued our vacation and had to stay at other hotels.) The selection in the lobby was great and when we arrived, we were surprised to find decanters with cognac, gin and whiskey in our room! The cognac was excellent although when they refilled the decanter, the quality wasn't the same but can't really blame them because we drank it in a couple of days. :)

The hotel doesn't look as pristine as in the picture above but it's still nice - totally recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dg_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guests,

We greatly appreciate the lovely review about your stay at Banks Mansion. Thank you for all the compliments towards the many features of our ‘ home, away from home’ full service concept and our staff – especially towards our cute, tall guys at the front desk! It is great to read that you enjoyed the proximity of the hotel to many of the great hotspots. Most museums are only a 10 minute walk away, so is the main square Dam square and the most known flower market is just around the corner.

Again, great to read that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to be welcoming you as our guest again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Positives: Great location, art deco interior transporting you to a bygone era. Warm welcoming staff. Interesting and unique home from home experience. Beers, wines, spirits, teas, coffee, snacks, all inclusive in the price. Free mini bar in all hotel rooms. Excellent cooked breakfast, cooked by a very friendly and warm cook. Spacious and comfortable lobby area with free internet, papers and magazines as well as an open fire in the cold winter months. The art deco style is reflected in the rooms. Comfortable beds, pillow choices and Nespresso coffee machine and Jacuzzi in the suite.

Negatives: Over the years we have stayed at Bank Mansion on several occasions and with another trip planned for the Netherlands, we are surprised that we have booked into another hotel.

So what has gone wrong?

During our time we have stayed in a variety of rooms and the price range over the years does not appear stable. We have been faced with various prices for different rooms at different times dependent on how or where you book for example direct through the hotel or through a third party.

Our last visit was to celebrate a birthday and we booked a suite as we wanted a memorable experience. Prior to our visit we made contact with the hotel to book 2 masseurs for a relaxing shiatsu massage. This would therefore take one hour for the both of us to have massages as we had plans later that evening. However on our arrival only 1 masseur was booked which meant that the combined massage took 2 hours instead of the one hour.

As returning guests for a celebratory birthday we thought some little memento would be waiting for us in the suite but absolutely nothing. Not that we were expecting anything however in the past we have received little gifts such as a DVD of Amsterdam with accompanying note from previous management, which we felt was a very nice touch. With this being a celebration and with the all inclusive policy, even a bottle of bubbly would have been a nice welcome. The suite itself was very spacious in comparison to the rooms we have stayed in. However the bed is up against a wall and all we could hear during the night was noise from the adjoining room. At first we thought it was the people next door but then we felt it was the television. For a suite we feel this needs to be sorted out for example the bed could be moved to another wall for basic sound proofing.

In a separate incident we arrived in the lobby area to relax with beverages and read newspapers but noticed that the tables and the serving bar area were filled with empty bottles, used crockery, used teabags, rubbish, to the point where we had to clear our own table area prior to sitting. We were shocked that the lady behind the front desk did not clear the lobby area to the point where we nicknamed her 'the lady tied to the front desk' as she did not enter the lobby area but simply stayed behind the front desk and answered the phone on the occasion it rang. We would have understood if it was busy but it was not. Anyway, we attempted to relax when there must have been a change of shift and the 'lady who was tied to the front desk' was replaced by another lady. On seeing the lobby area this lady was clearly not happy at the mess left and ended up clearing the tables but was muttering under her breath, throwing rubbish away, slamming the bin door shut, slamming the fridge door when restocking. Now we don't blame her, we actually sympathise with her especially as the mess was not created in her shift but this left an uneasy feeling within us and showed cracks in the management.

A further negative is that in the past we felt that Bank Mansion had a very good customer relation. We were on the maling list receiving emails from David Van der Sman (previous manager) advertising current offers and new services which worked as a technique and established rapport with us as guests making us truly feel welcomed as a true home from home experience. However there is clearly a change in management and we have sadly noticed a difference in the levels of service in some areas of the hotel. It generally feels that a lot of focus is towards corporate business clients whereas there is a lack of going that extra mile for leisure guests who pay for quality service especially for people who have supported Banks Mansion over the years but it feels that new management is losing touch with its loyal customer base.

In the past we were always happy to return to Bank Mansion without question but based on our recent experiences, we surprisingly have booked elsewhere.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Doom_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear guests,

First of all, thank you very much for the extensive review on your stay a year ago at Banks Mansion. We sincerely appreciate the compliments given towards our welcoming staff, all the complementary drinks & snacks, the breakfast and their chefs and the comfort you have experienced in your room, the Suite.

How unfortunate to read that you have also experienced part of the hotel as less positive. I would like to explain you a little bit about your comment, if I may.

We understand the confusion about our prices. But Banks Mansion (like many hotels in Amsterdam) does not have fixed prices for the rooms, the prices can fluctuate depending on the demand for rooms and the season of the year. This is the free market principle that is apparent in many businesses in the Netherlands and Western Europe, for example in the aircraft industry. Regarding the differences in price whether your book directly through Banks Mansion or though a third prices, I would like to say that this cannot be the case because the prices offered at our website is always the same as would be offered through third parties, these are strict agreements with these third parties.

It is unfortunate that you had to wait for each other during the massages. Normally when we have a request for two massages we clearly explain that only one massage at the time is possible, this due to the fact that massages are performed at the own hotel room. It would be to full in the room if would put up two massage tables. Our apologies for the miscommunication about this, this should not have happened.

It is great to read that you had chosen Banks Mansion to celebrate you birthday. As you say in your review, we would always like to be of added value to the birthday celebrations by adding a small gift in your room. It is sad to read that this was not the case when you stayed in our Suite the last time. Of course we will only be able to do this if we have prior knowledge of the birthday or other special celebrations of our guests.

At Banks Mansion we do not have receptionists but we have Guest Relations Officers. The Guest Relations Officers are responsible for everything that happens in and around our Living area. So they are always happy to assist you with the check-in & out, they are there for all your questions about Amsterdam, excursions, tours, museums, restaurants and questions regarding your stay, and they are also responsible for the looks and feels of our Living. So we regret it to read that you have experienced a Living that was filled with dirty glasses etc. We do apologize for that, as we think it is an important part of the job of our Guest Relations Officers to keep the Living clean and tidy as you would experience it at home.

We truly regret it to read that you have experienced a decrease in service level over the years, as one of the main values of Banks Mansion is to create the total hospitality experience for our guest. Meaning that you can truly feel at hotel with the genuine added value of the high service level of an hotel. At Banks Mansion our focus is not just towards business clients, but our focus is towards all our guests. We do not distinguish between our guests, we would like to go the extra millions of miles for all our guests.

I hope you will be able to understand my explanation about your comments. We would be more than happy to be of any further direct assistance and we are truly looking forward to another of your stays. So we would be able to show you that we have taken your comments into account to create this total hospitality experience.


With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel. We stayed here for three nights in August. The unique thing about this hotel is that everything is included in the price, from breakfast in the morning till drinks from the bar at night. And along the way, if you are in the lounge, there are regular offerings of cheese, bread, olives, meats, nuts, nachos, chocolates, tea, coffee, and water, not to mention wines, beers and spirits!
There are also computers, and i pads in the lounge for guests use, with free internet. In your room there is a free mini bar, and complimentary whisky, cognac and gin, and your TV will have movies, sport, music and even porn, all completely free.
We were also given complimentary upgrades, and got a lovely canal view.
Breakfast is a delight, and along with a continental breakfast of breads, cheeses and various meats, the talented egg chef will make you fresh eggs cooked in front of you exactly as you like them. You can have your eggs boiled, fried, scrambled, poached, or cooked in an omelette, or even as eggy bread! (French toast).
The staff are helpful from arrival to departure, and always happy to help.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guests,

It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion to the fullest! It gives us great joy that you think of the hotel to be ‘a fabulous hotel’ with all the different aspects of the ‘home, away from home’ concept; the complementary drinks and snacks, the proximity to all great hotspots and all the luxuries of the Living area; including Ipads and the computer! Thank you for the compliments towards the chef in the breakfast room, she was deligted to hear about your kind words.

We are looking forward to be of service to you once more during another visit.


With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

After a lot of looking for hotels and b&b's in Amsterdam we finally settled on this one based primarily on the high reviews given in Trip Advisor. We wanted something with a good location, canal view, and elevator. Anything in that category was going to be expensive so we decided, what the heck, we'll pick something that was pricier than many of the others but had the potential to offer a memorable experience. We weren't disappointed.

As a first time visitor to Amsterdam I was a little worried about the location which seemed far from most of the attractive neighborhoods you read about. But it turned out to be a pleasant area with plenty of eating spots in walking distance. The tram stop just across the canal was very convenient, and it's also close to a stop on one of the canal passenger boats that can carry you to most places you'd want to visit. It's an enjoyable and easy walk to the Rijksmuseum.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Almost like you were staying in their home and they were welcoming and attentive hosts.

We enjoyed the beers, wines, coffee, and snacks available at all times downstairs, and the cheese cart in the afternoon was a real treat. It was the perfect place to meet up with some Dutch friends from out of town who stopped by. The complimentary decanters of gin, whiskey, and brandy in the room added a very nice touch. Of course this all shows up in the room rate, but I think it is worth it.

The furniture in the lobby was looking a little worn, but I see they are replacing that. The interior design is warm and relaxing. Our room overlooking the canal was quiet and very nice; on the smallish side but more than adequate. I liked the easy chair. The included breakfasts provided a good selection, and we especially liked the made to order omelets.

If we ever go back to Amsterdam I would look forward to staying here again. Kind of like returning home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arctictis_binturong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear guests,

Wow, what an amazing review. Especially your last sentence ‘kind of like returning home’ made our day. This is what we are striving for at Banks Mansion and we are so happy to have achieved this during your stay. Thank you for all the great words and compliments towards our staff. It is also great to read that you enjoyed all the complementary things at Banks Mansion, the drinks, snack, wifi and breakfast.
Regarding the furniture in our ‘Living’ a few weeks ago we have reupholstered our entrance and all our comfotable chairs and couch with an up-to-date design matching the Art Deco style of our hotel.

We hope we can show you our end result during another visit in the near future.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel is very centrally located and we could walk to everything, an important concept in Amsterdam where car traffic is difficult. The staff were warm, welcoming and very helpful. The room was lovely, on the small side but the bed was extremely comfortable. Be careful with children - cable tv includes adult channels. Breakfast was great, more than enough food with smooth service and a good selection. We both also enjoyed the lobby area where drinks and snacks are complimentary. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel for a stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for your ‘fabulous’ review, we appreciated that you have taken the effort of writing such great things about Banks Mansion. How amazing to read that you have enjoyed the comfort of the rooms and the beds so much. Also our breakfast chefs would like to thank you for the nice compliments you have given them in your review.

We hope you will enjoy their breakfast again during a visit in the (near) future.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews