We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely mini-break in Amsterdam”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #10 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
cambs
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely mini-break in Amsterdam”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed in 2 rooms with family.

Got the last minute taxi-e from the airport for 25 euros to get to hotel-normal price 45 euros- but cheapest way would be 197 bus to leidseplein square and walk 10-15mins to hotel from there.Also could get train to central station and then tram or taxi from there.

On arrival got a brief rundown of how the hotel works and shown the lobby area where free drinks are available.

Rooms were fine-I was expecting smaller after reading the reviews.Beds were great.Minor housekeeping issue is that when we tried to use the ice bucket there was a small amount of discoloured liquid at the bottom.

Some issue of traffic noise on first floor.

Breakfast was great and nice to have the scrambled eggs made in front of you rather than the congealed ready made stuff you get in the bigger hotels.

No gym in hotel but nice run to Vondel park-takes 5 minutes to run there at my pace.Whole run including full circuit of the park is about 37 minutes.

Location is great-did not need to use the tram or bus.

Staff are friendly and very helpful.

Lovely to relax in the late afternoon in the lobby with free nibbles.Lovely post evening meal to relax in the lobby area too with your included drink or drinks.

Only found out on last day where the stairs were-we thought you use the lift or option of some stairs somewhere to use in an emergency.

Ordered a taxi home and we wanted to save euros and use card for the taxi fare and staff confirmed the taxi took credit cards but driver at airport told us he was not told about us wanting to pay by card and we had to use cash.I suspect the taxi company more at fault here.

Would definitely stay here again.Made a nice change from the impersonal large chains I have recently used.

Room Tip: higher room better away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your extensive and cheerful review - we really appreciate the effort! It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion with the many aspects of our ‘home away from home’ concept; the great bedding, the personal live-cooking in the breakfastroom, the location of Banks Mansion in the middle of Amsterdam, the friendly and helpful staff, the complementary drinks and appetizers in the Living.

We are delighted to hear that you really appreciated our personal service – we always try to offer personal service, which match the wishes of our guests.

We hope to be welcoming you again at Banks Mansion in the near future!


With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,042
    463
    92
    35
    26
See reviews for
297
1,539
138
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We didn't want to stay close to the Red Light District so we chose the Banks Mansion because it was within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to see. Perfectly located between the Museumplein and the Central Station, we were able to easily walk everywhere from there. There are tons of decent places to eat in the area (from cheap spots to fine dining), it's close to the Flower Market but at the same time the area is not so crowded or has the seediness you can find closer to the Red Light District. Locationwise, we couldn't have asked for more.

The service was excellent as well, starting with all the cute, tall guys at the front desk (there are several, LOL!) Everybody was very friendly (always responding sincerely to our greetings and genuinely asking for our welfare). The breakfast was good but as others have already mentioned, the cherry on top is the complimentary drinks in the lobby and the mini-bar (I tell you, we missed that when we continued our vacation and had to stay at other hotels.) The selection in the lobby was great and when we arrived, we were surprised to find decanters with cognac, gin and whiskey in our room! The cognac was excellent although when they refilled the decanter, the quality wasn't the same but can't really blame them because we drank it in a couple of days. :)

The hotel doesn't look as pristine as in the picture above but it's still nice - totally recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dg_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

We greatly appreciate the lovely review about your stay at Banks Mansion. Thank you for all the compliments towards the many features of our ‘ home, away from home’ full service concept and our staff – especially towards our cute, tall guys at the front desk! It is great to read that you enjoyed the proximity of the hotel to many of the great hotspots. Most museums are only a 10 minute walk away, so is the main square Dam square and the most known flower market is just around the corner.

Again, great to read that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to be welcoming you as our guest again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Positives: Great location, art deco interior transporting you to a bygone era. Warm welcoming staff. Interesting and unique home from home experience. Beers, wines, spirits, teas, coffee, snacks, all inclusive in the price. Free mini bar in all hotel rooms. Excellent cooked breakfast, cooked by a very friendly and warm cook. Spacious and comfortable lobby area with free internet, papers and magazines as well as an open fire in the cold winter months. The art deco style is reflected in the rooms. Comfortable beds, pillow choices and Nespresso coffee machine and Jacuzzi in the suite.

Negatives: Over the years we have stayed at Bank Mansion on several occasions and with another trip planned for the Netherlands, we are surprised that we have booked into another hotel.

So what has gone wrong?

During our time we have stayed in a variety of rooms and the price range over the years does not appear stable. We have been faced with various prices for different rooms at different times dependent on how or where you book for example direct through the hotel or through a third party.

Our last visit was to celebrate a birthday and we booked a suite as we wanted a memorable experience. Prior to our visit we made contact with the hotel to book 2 masseurs for a relaxing shiatsu massage. This would therefore take one hour for the both of us to have massages as we had plans later that evening. However on our arrival only 1 masseur was booked which meant that the combined massage took 2 hours instead of the one hour.

As returning guests for a celebratory birthday we thought some little memento would be waiting for us in the suite but absolutely nothing. Not that we were expecting anything however in the past we have received little gifts such as a DVD of Amsterdam with accompanying note from previous management, which we felt was a very nice touch. With this being a celebration and with the all inclusive policy, even a bottle of bubbly would have been a nice welcome. The suite itself was very spacious in comparison to the rooms we have stayed in. However the bed is up against a wall and all we could hear during the night was noise from the adjoining room. At first we thought it was the people next door but then we felt it was the television. For a suite we feel this needs to be sorted out for example the bed could be moved to another wall for basic sound proofing.

In a separate incident we arrived in the lobby area to relax with beverages and read newspapers but noticed that the tables and the serving bar area were filled with empty bottles, used crockery, used teabags, rubbish, to the point where we had to clear our own table area prior to sitting. We were shocked that the lady behind the front desk did not clear the lobby area to the point where we nicknamed her 'the lady tied to the front desk' as she did not enter the lobby area but simply stayed behind the front desk and answered the phone on the occasion it rang. We would have understood if it was busy but it was not. Anyway, we attempted to relax when there must have been a change of shift and the 'lady who was tied to the front desk' was replaced by another lady. On seeing the lobby area this lady was clearly not happy at the mess left and ended up clearing the tables but was muttering under her breath, throwing rubbish away, slamming the bin door shut, slamming the fridge door when restocking. Now we don't blame her, we actually sympathise with her especially as the mess was not created in her shift but this left an uneasy feeling within us and showed cracks in the management.

A further negative is that in the past we felt that Bank Mansion had a very good customer relation. We were on the maling list receiving emails from David Van der Sman (previous manager) advertising current offers and new services which worked as a technique and established rapport with us as guests making us truly feel welcomed as a true home from home experience. However there is clearly a change in management and we have sadly noticed a difference in the levels of service in some areas of the hotel. It generally feels that a lot of focus is towards corporate business clients whereas there is a lack of going that extra mile for leisure guests who pay for quality service especially for people who have supported Banks Mansion over the years but it feels that new management is losing touch with its loyal customer base.

In the past we were always happy to return to Bank Mansion without question but based on our recent experiences, we surprisingly have booked elsewhere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Doom_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear guests,

First of all, thank you very much for the extensive review on your stay a year ago at Banks Mansion. We sincerely appreciate the compliments given towards our welcoming staff, all the complementary drinks & snacks, the breakfast and their chefs and the comfort you have experienced in your room, the Suite.

How unfortunate to read that you have also experienced part of the hotel as less positive. I would like to explain you a little bit about your comment, if I may.

We understand the confusion about our prices. But Banks Mansion (like many hotels in Amsterdam) does not have fixed prices for the rooms, the prices can fluctuate depending on the demand for rooms and the season of the year. This is the free market principle that is apparent in many businesses in the Netherlands and Western Europe, for example in the aircraft industry. Regarding the differences in price whether your book directly through Banks Mansion or though a third prices, I would like to say that this cannot be the case because the prices offered at our website is always the same as would be offered through third parties, these are strict agreements with these third parties.

It is unfortunate that you had to wait for each other during the massages. Normally when we have a request for two massages we clearly explain that only one massage at the time is possible, this due to the fact that massages are performed at the own hotel room. It would be to full in the room if would put up two massage tables. Our apologies for the miscommunication about this, this should not have happened.

It is great to read that you had chosen Banks Mansion to celebrate you birthday. As you say in your review, we would always like to be of added value to the birthday celebrations by adding a small gift in your room. It is sad to read that this was not the case when you stayed in our Suite the last time. Of course we will only be able to do this if we have prior knowledge of the birthday or other special celebrations of our guests.

At Banks Mansion we do not have receptionists but we have Guest Relations Officers. The Guest Relations Officers are responsible for everything that happens in and around our Living area. So they are always happy to assist you with the check-in & out, they are there for all your questions about Amsterdam, excursions, tours, museums, restaurants and questions regarding your stay, and they are also responsible for the looks and feels of our Living. So we regret it to read that you have experienced a Living that was filled with dirty glasses etc. We do apologize for that, as we think it is an important part of the job of our Guest Relations Officers to keep the Living clean and tidy as you would experience it at home.

We truly regret it to read that you have experienced a decrease in service level over the years, as one of the main values of Banks Mansion is to create the total hospitality experience for our guest. Meaning that you can truly feel at hotel with the genuine added value of the high service level of an hotel. At Banks Mansion our focus is not just towards business clients, but our focus is towards all our guests. We do not distinguish between our guests, we would like to go the extra millions of miles for all our guests.

I hope you will be able to understand my explanation about your comments. We would be more than happy to be of any further direct assistance and we are truly looking forward to another of your stays. So we would be able to show you that we have taken your comments into account to create this total hospitality experience.


With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel. We stayed here for three nights in August. The unique thing about this hotel is that everything is included in the price, from breakfast in the morning till drinks from the bar at night. And along the way, if you are in the lounge, there are regular offerings of cheese, bread, olives, meats, nuts, nachos, chocolates, tea, coffee, and water, not to mention wines, beers and spirits!
There are also computers, and i pads in the lounge for guests use, with free internet. In your room there is a free mini bar, and complimentary whisky, cognac and gin, and your TV will have movies, sport, music and even porn, all completely free.
We were also given complimentary upgrades, and got a lovely canal view.
Breakfast is a delight, and along with a continental breakfast of breads, cheeses and various meats, the talented egg chef will make you fresh eggs cooked in front of you exactly as you like them. You can have your eggs boiled, fried, scrambled, poached, or cooked in an omelette, or even as eggy bread! (French toast).
The staff are helpful from arrival to departure, and always happy to help.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion to the fullest! It gives us great joy that you think of the hotel to be ‘a fabulous hotel’ with all the different aspects of the ‘home, away from home’ concept; the complementary drinks and snacks, the proximity to all great hotspots and all the luxuries of the Living area; including Ipads and the computer! Thank you for the compliments towards the chef in the breakfast room, she was deligted to hear about your kind words.

We are looking forward to be of service to you once more during another visit.


With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

After a lot of looking for hotels and b&b's in Amsterdam we finally settled on this one based primarily on the high reviews given in Trip Advisor. We wanted something with a good location, canal view, and elevator. Anything in that category was going to be expensive so we decided, what the heck, we'll pick something that was pricier than many of the others but had the potential to offer a memorable experience. We weren't disappointed.

As a first time visitor to Amsterdam I was a little worried about the location which seemed far from most of the attractive neighborhoods you read about. But it turned out to be a pleasant area with plenty of eating spots in walking distance. The tram stop just across the canal was very convenient, and it's also close to a stop on one of the canal passenger boats that can carry you to most places you'd want to visit. It's an enjoyable and easy walk to the Rijksmuseum.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Almost like you were staying in their home and they were welcoming and attentive hosts.

We enjoyed the beers, wines, coffee, and snacks available at all times downstairs, and the cheese cart in the afternoon was a real treat. It was the perfect place to meet up with some Dutch friends from out of town who stopped by. The complimentary decanters of gin, whiskey, and brandy in the room added a very nice touch. Of course this all shows up in the room rate, but I think it is worth it.

The furniture in the lobby was looking a little worn, but I see they are replacing that. The interior design is warm and relaxing. Our room overlooking the canal was quiet and very nice; on the smallish side but more than adequate. I liked the easy chair. The included breakfasts provided a good selection, and we especially liked the made to order omelets.

If we ever go back to Amsterdam I would look forward to staying here again. Kind of like returning home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arctictis_binturong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear guests,

Wow, what an amazing review. Especially your last sentence ‘kind of like returning home’ made our day. This is what we are striving for at Banks Mansion and we are so happy to have achieved this during your stay. Thank you for all the great words and compliments towards our staff. It is also great to read that you enjoyed all the complementary things at Banks Mansion, the drinks, snack, wifi and breakfast.
Regarding the furniture in our ‘Living’ a few weeks ago we have reupholstered our entrance and all our comfotable chairs and couch with an up-to-date design matching the Art Deco style of our hotel.

We hope we can show you our end result during another visit in the near future.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel is very centrally located and we could walk to everything, an important concept in Amsterdam where car traffic is difficult. The staff were warm, welcoming and very helpful. The room was lovely, on the small side but the bed was extremely comfortable. Be careful with children - cable tv includes adult channels. Breakfast was great, more than enough food with smooth service and a good selection. We both also enjoyed the lobby area where drinks and snacks are complimentary. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel for a stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your ‘fabulous’ review, we appreciated that you have taken the effort of writing such great things about Banks Mansion. How amazing to read that you have enjoyed the comfort of the rooms and the beds so much. Also our breakfast chefs would like to thank you for the nice compliments you have given them in your review.

We hope you will enjoy their breakfast again during a visit in the (near) future.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was my first visit to Amsterdam, and first stay at this hotel. From the time we checked in to the time we left the service was fabulous. We were greeted by a very nice gentleman (who's name I did not take) he showed us a map of Amsterdam pointing out places of interest, then explained the concept of the hotel, that all drinks throughout the hotel are free, even the mini-bar.
Our room was decorated in art-deco style, with a large comfy bed along with a pillow menu. There were all the facilities in the room you could need, lovely shower products, dvd player, iron, hairdryer and flat screen television with a choice of film channels.Breakfast was also included in the price offering an extensive range of food.
The Hotel was located on the south of the city, but within easy reach of all the main attractions.
I would definately stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear guests,

We are thrilled to read that your first experience with Amsterdam and Banks Mansion was a fantastic one. Thank you for the great compliments about the service offered to you by the staff of our hotel. These words are greatly appreciated by them!
It is also very nice to read that you enjoyed the proximity of Banks Mansion to many great places to visit in Amsterdam, as we are conveniently located in the southern part of the downtime city centre, right along one of the main canals.

We hope to be welcoming you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,553 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,267 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,102 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
659 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing