We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Location is Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #10 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location is Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel is very centrally located and we could walk to everything, an important concept in Amsterdam where car traffic is difficult. The staff were warm, welcoming and very helpful. The room was lovely, on the small side but the bed was extremely comfortable. Be careful with children - cable tv includes adult channels. Breakfast was great, more than enough food with smooth service and a good selection. We both also enjoyed the lobby area where drinks and snacks are complimentary. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel for a stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your ‘fabulous’ review, we appreciated that you have taken the effort of writing such great things about Banks Mansion. How amazing to read that you have enjoyed the comfort of the rooms and the beds so much. Also our breakfast chefs would like to thank you for the nice compliments you have given them in your review.

We hope you will enjoy their breakfast again during a visit in the (near) future.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,841
    429
    89
    35
    22
See reviews for
266
1,387
123
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was my first visit to Amsterdam, and first stay at this hotel. From the time we checked in to the time we left the service was fabulous. We were greeted by a very nice gentleman (who's name I did not take) he showed us a map of Amsterdam pointing out places of interest, then explained the concept of the hotel, that all drinks throughout the hotel are free, even the mini-bar.
Our room was decorated in art-deco style, with a large comfy bed along with a pillow menu. There were all the facilities in the room you could need, lovely shower products, dvd player, iron, hairdryer and flat screen television with a choice of film channels.Breakfast was also included in the price offering an extensive range of food.
The Hotel was located on the south of the city, but within easy reach of all the main attractions.
I would definately stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear guests,

We are thrilled to read that your first experience with Amsterdam and Banks Mansion was a fantastic one. Thank you for the great compliments about the service offered to you by the staff of our hotel. These words are greatly appreciated by them!
It is also very nice to read that you enjoyed the proximity of Banks Mansion to many great places to visit in Amsterdam, as we are conveniently located in the southern part of the downtime city centre, right along one of the main canals.

We hope to be welcoming you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed at The Banks Mansion after a Rhine Cruise. Great Location,very helpful staff, fantastic concept with the "Living", excellent breakfast. Room was very comfortable in size and accomodation, great view of the canal, minimal street noise.Would stay again on next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllBoard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for the nice review. It is great to read your lovely words about your stay at Banks Mansion. We are happy to have been of service to you and we hope to be doing this again during your next visit to Amsterdam and Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We loved our stay at the Banks Mansion before our Rhine Cruise! (After a trying trip, it was the perfect place to unwind and explore.) With the all-inclusive concept, it is truly like being home -- going to the fridge for a beer or glass of wine. The in-room minibar; the beverages (wine/beer/etc.) and snacks in the lobby; internet access and lobby iPads, etc. -- are all no charge (and the breakfast, of course). The staff are friendly and very helpful with recommendations and ticket purchases. We will definitely go back again.

We could relax in our room, or lounge with wine in the lobby. From our window, we could watch canal boats drifting by, picking up the city's easy-going vibe. Another day we saw a moving crew hoisting furniture from the street curb up through a person's fifth-story apartment window!

This hotel is located south of the central area on a canal and major street (leading to Rijksmuseum, etc.). The Anne Frank house or Dam Square are about a 10-15 minute walk; the Kalverstraat shopping street and floating flower mart are even closer. There are various restaurants within a five-minute-or-less stroll, especially on the nearby Rembrantplein, Thorbekeplein, or other surrounding streets.

Room Tip: West-facing rooms may tend to get warm in the summer. Fortunately, the A/C works great. (If you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear guests,

We would like to give you our sincere appreciation for the effort of writing such a great review about your stay in Amsterdam and at Banks Mansion. How amazing that you have enjoyed all the features of our ‘home, away from home’ concept so much; the complementary drink is the Living and in your room, the day round snacks and evening cheese table, the complementary use of the newest Apple iPads and of course the extensive breakfast in our Kitchen.

It is great to read that you enjoyed the view from your room, so you were able to experience some old-fashioned Amsterdam style moving. We thank you for your review and hope to see you again at Banks Mansion.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed, we don`t usually return to the same hotel twice but we enjoyed it so much 18 months ago, we decided to see if it still lived up to our expectations. It did!

Perfect relaxing location on the Golden Bend Herengracht canal, staff more than helpful, absolutely nothing was a problem to them.

The hotel kitchen serves all freshly cooked eggs of every type you could image. 5 pm sees the trolley of cheese, sausage, olives bread etc rolled out just in time to have a complimentary glass of prosecco, port, wine (or two) or whatever you desire! It may seem an expensive hotel but the adult only principles and complimentary drinks, snacks and fresh breakfasts are worth every penny. The hotel itself is 1930`s in style.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal if possible - perfect views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear guests,

How nice to read that you have returned to Banks Mansion after your first stay has been such a great one. It is even more delightful that again you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for the compliments towards our staff, this is highly appreciated.

We will be looking forward to welcome you for the third time at Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

It is a couple of years since I stayed here and having stayed in many hotels in various countries (including Holland) before and since, I can honestly say this is my favourite place to stay. It's well positioned, comfortable, has excellent facilities and great food, but by far it's most outstanding asset is it's staff. I have never been made to feel more welcome in a hotel, everyone is so friendly & approachable and absolutely nothing is too much trouble - they will always go the extra mile. Wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear enthusiastic guests,

For these lovely and beautiful words and of course for writing review number 1001, we want to reward you with a free upgrade during your next stay! Congratulations.
We always try to make our guests feel at home away from home at Banks Mansion; we are absolutely delighted to hear that we managed to make you feel at home during your last stay – your words just make us love our job even more! We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future. Please contact us at desk@banksmansion.nl, so we can make sure that you will receive a free upgrade during your next stay.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived for a 1 night stay (sadly) last November and due to our morning flights, we were 6 hours early for check-in. We found the hotel easily and decided to see if they had somewhere for us to store our bags. Imagine our delight when they told us our room was ready for use AND they had upgraded us to a junior suite!!!
We were taken through by a lovely member of staff (sorry didnt take your name) after having the Home concept explained to us- more later- to a beautiful room with a HUGE bad complete with comfy pillows. We also had an enormous bath and a shower that could fit 4 people!
We went back out into the lobby to have a look at the home concept, which includes complimentary hot, cold and alcoholic drinks, some snacks and biscuits (ALL DELICIOUS!)
We went off for a wander in the city, and returned around 5pm for a break to find wine, cheese and meats in the lounge area, again all complimentary!
The hotel is quite simply fantastic, which excellent service, lovely comfotable rooms and a relaxing experience.
The only downside to my enitre visit was that the beds were SO comfortable, we missed breakfast!!!

I can only give praise to this fantastic hotel, it is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Speccyfoureyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guests,

You just wrote the official review number 1000!! A milestone in the TripAdvisor history of Banks Mansion. Thank you so much for that, with all the lovely words. Our beds are notorious for their softness, but I can assure the breakfast deserves the same credits. So we have two good reasons for you for another stay at Banks Mansion: making the breakfast on time and of course your free upgrade! Please contact us at desk@banksmansion.nl, so we can make sure that you will receive a free upgrade during your next stay.

Thank you again for your lovely words. We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,583 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing