We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One of the Best Hotels I have Stayed at!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the Best Hotels I have Stayed at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Everything from the staff to the room was perfect. This was the first time during our honeymoon where we were surprised at how big the room was. One of the most underrated aspects of the hotel is all of the amenities they provide. Some things that make this hotel a great value are; the exceptional breakfast, spirits and beer at the complementary lobby mini bar, wine with a meat & cheese spread during happy hour. This is all on top of having great great rooms and a top rate staff. Anyone who visits Amsterdam should give this hotel strong consideration!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Honeymoon Guests,

What a great review; the title already made all the staff smile from ear to ear, and the review itself makes us love our job even more than we already do! Thank you very, very much for your wonderful words and for recommending us to other travelers all over the world. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed all features of the full-service concept; the breakfast with live-cooking, the appetizers and drinks in the Living as well as in the room, and so on. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future in Banks Mansion!

With kind and warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,688
    402
    86
    31
    21
See reviews for
238
1,275
112
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Really nice hotel in a very convenient location in Amsterdam. Rooms were a generous size and very well appointed with robes and slippers, unlimited drinks and snacks (including wine, beer and liquor)--right near Rembrandt Square. Very clean and small, so you had a connection to the other guests and staff--nice fireplace in the lobby surrounded by free food, so people tended to gather when they came back from activities (it was chilly in May and the fire was lit). Very clean and reasonably priced. Nice breakfast included as well.

Room Tip: Ate at an incredible restaurant recommended by an ex-Pat American: La Oliva near the Anne Frank Hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay! We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed the intimacy of Banks Mansion, which makes it possible for our guests to get in contact with other guests in the Living, but also to get in contact with the staff easily. We would like to welcome you again in the near future, so you can enjoy our full-service concept once again!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

When I think of this hotel, which I do often, I fondly recall the mini-muffins on sticks in the morning, the unbelievably tasty cheese table in the afternoon, and the unlimited bottles of wine in the evening--all free-in the Living Room. Of course, we explored the city but whenever we came back to our hotel for a break, change clothes, or to settle in for the night we definitely took advantage of these amenities.

The staff was beyond enthusiastic, helpful, and friendly regardless of the time of day. The room was large, comfortable, and clean. A nice central location without being touristy. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mventa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guests,

Your review makes us love our job even more than we already did! It is our goal to make our guests’ stay a memorable one for them; and it sounds like we succeeded in this regarding your stay. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed all aspects of our ‘feel home away from home’ concept in the Living. Thank you very much for writing these great words, we would be very happy to welcome you back at Banks Mansion in the near future!

With kind and warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manger Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have travelled all over and have never written a review before but felt compelled to after staying at this wonderful hotel. The staff made the place feel so comfortable and they were so lovely to the children. The concept that everything is included is incredible, and the sweeties for the children very well received. Our rooms were lovely, the beds comfortable, the pillow menu great and the towels and showers lovely. The breakfast was amazing and really did cater for everyone in terms of food, drinks, and the variety on offer. You could have everything from a cooked breakfast, pancakes, fruit, yoghurt, cold meats,some beautiful dips, cooked to order eggs and French toast depending on your mood. The setting is superb and we walked all over with ease. We will definitely return..not the cheapest place to stay but in my mind well worth the money. Thank you very much for making out time there so special.

Room Tip: We did not stay in a canal view room but room 210 was lovely.Not the best view in the world but we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariad3271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear family guests,

We are very grateful for your wonderful review! We are proud to hear that this review about your stay at Banks Mansion, is the very first time you ever wrote a review about a stay at a hotel! How great to hear that you like to share with other travelers all over the world, that you enjoyed all aspects of our total hospitality experience; the complementary drinks, snacks, the comfort of the rooms with the pillow menu, the breakfast, and many more!
Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff; we have shared your words with them, and all of us would be happy to welcome you and your children back at Banks Mansion; it would be our pleasure to make a future stay as memorable as this one!

With warm and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manger Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Banks Mansion is a winner. It's situated in an ideal location for walking everywhere. The most unique part of the hotel is its amenities. The included breakfast is incredible; there are eggs to order rather than the pasty scrambled eggs you get as part of most hotel breakfasts, extremely thin pancakes cooked in front of you that are "to die for" - more like crepes than the thick pancakes in the U.S. - fruit, a variety of breads, yogurt, cheese, herring or smoked salmon, cereal, juices, and breakfast meats. You select the type of coffee you want from a magical machine that does it all - regular, espresso, cappuccino, etc. The other amenity is the free appetizers and drinks. At 5:00 there is a table in the lobby filled with delicious cheeses and meats, as well as a selection of drinks that include wine, prosecco, beer, liquors, soda, juice, and sparkling and plain water - not to mention candies, sweets, nuts, chips, and salsa. After a long day of sightseeing, it was delightful to return to the hotel to snack and drink and discuss the day's events with other guests. While we were there, there was a contest regarding the best hotel in Amsterdam, and the Banks Mansion was one of three finalists. Several of the guests, including us, posed in special T-shirts, and ended up as part of a poster advertising this event.

The hotel staff are young, charming, and most knowledgeable about their city. They went out of their way to be hospitable and helpful.

The only problem I had with the hotel, and why I only gave it a 4 rather than a 5, was the lack of light in the bedroom. It was very difficult to apply make-up in the bathroom as there was only one small "high hat" above the sink. The bedroom had many lamps, but even with all of them on, the room could not be illuminated properly. There was also only one piece of tiny soap in the bathroom each day, rather than one for the shower and one for the sink. When I asked for additional soap, it was brought to the room immediately.

Our room, 310, had two extremely comfortable twin beds and the most cozy feather comforters. Even though our room overlooked a busy street with trams and buses, the windows kept the noise out. Our large windows opened up for a side view of the Herengracht Canal, which is lined with beautiful, elegant townhouses.

We had friends staying at the hotel with us and they loved it, as did all the other guests. I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laureldg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear enthusiastic guests,

Thank you very, very much for your great review! It gives us great joy to read that you, your partner and friends have absolutely enjoyed all features of our full service concept – the breakfast including the live-cooking, all appetizers and drinks in the Living, the cheese table during the afternoon and evening in the Living, to name a few – you have described it all just perfectly! We are sorry to hear that you thought the room was not illuminated properly, but we are happy to hear that you did like your room regarding the view, bedding and quietness.
Thank you once again for your willingness to help us with our Dutch Hotel Award campaign! We can proudly say that we have achieved the Silver Award of the Dutch Hotel Award 2013 – thanks to all our supportive guests!

We are happy to have given you a great stay, we hope to be welcoming you again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you really want to enjoy Amsterdam, this is the perfect place. Just near the canal you walk directly in the lovely "Nine Streets" area with its special stores and nice terasses. You can rent the scooter of the hotel and see all the parks and different hot spots. If you want to take a rest, you can go for a pitstop at the lobby of the hotel and have a drink and something small to eat. All service of the hotel. THE perfect hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catrin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guests,

It is absolutely great to notice that you took the time to write this review, a year after you have stayed with us. We are absolutely grateful to hear that you haven’t forgotten about Banks Mansion! Thank you very much for that! We have changed our scooters into special wooden bikes by now; hopefully you will visit Amsterdam again in the near future, so you can experience a typical Amsterdam bike ride on our wooden bikes.

We are looking forward to be of your service again !


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,242 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#14 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing