We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Bliss in the Center of Amsterdam”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #9 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Absolute Bliss in the Center of Amsterdam”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

From the moment you lay your eyes on the wooden bicycles at the entrance you are charmed by this warm and quaint boutique hotel. The staff is remarkable and truly interested in making your stay a delight. We stayed at the end of March and my 11 year old daughter pointed out to Jacqueline at the front desk how enamored she was by tulips. She was afraid she wouldn't see any as it was quite a frigid March. To our absolute delight when we returned to our room that evening we found a lovely bouquet with a note. Jacqueline had taken the time to make sure our daughter did see tulips during her stay in Amsterdam.

Rooms are clean and comfortable offering the nice surprise of a night cap as you have 3 decanters with liquor in your room as well as a full mini bar with treats for you to enjoy at no additional charge. What a nice touch. We had friends staying nearby and our hotel became the meeting point before dinner and a nice place to enjoy the fireplace in the lobby while sipping an after dinner drink. Yummy Amaretto for me.

Breakfast was also plentiful and fresh, served in a cozy downstairs dining hall with a lovely attendant who prepared eggs to your liking along with a variety of breads and baked goods.

As others have mentioned the hotel is also very centrally located- we walked everywhere. Around the corner is the charming floating market, a 10 minute walk away from Dam Square, 10 minutes in the opposite direction you will find the Hermitage which now temporarily houses the Van Gogh Museum. The hotel is also next to a canal which adds to its romantic feel.

Absolute bliss and respite- great place for travelers who appreciate quality and details. Also wonderfully family friendly. Well done Banks Mansion- hope we get to return soon- loved the Netherlands and our stay there.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Suite in the first floor it was roomy enough for a family of 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miamimommytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guest and young guest,

Thank you for the great ‘ story’ about your stay at Banks Mansion. It is touching to read these kind of great words about our hotel and our staff. It is great to read that you enjoyed so many of the features of out ‘ home, away from home’ full service concept.

We will be looking forward yto welcome you again at Banks Mansion!\

With kind & sincere regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,074
    474
    94
    35
    26
See reviews for
301
1,571
140
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel lived up to our expectations after reading reviews and photographs in Tripadvisor.
My wife and I were there with our daughter and her husband celebrating her birthday. We were warmly welcomed by reception staff on our arrival with an introduction to all that the hotel has to offer. Our rooms overlooked the canal with a balcony window which would be ideal in warmer months. The first week of April was like the rest of Northern Europe rather cold, but the warm greetings by all the staff whenever we met more than made up for that. Information about Amsterdam and places to eat etc. was freely given in such a helpful friendly manner it would be easy to think that we were the first to ask these questions. The rooms and lounge area was very clean and comfortable, the staff clearing tables and restocking the bar in a very efficient manner.
To sum up a great place to stay and if this is your first visit to Amsterdam you will find the local people equalling welcoming everywhere you go, just watch out for the bikes they rule the road here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mullroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guests,

We are dazzled by your great review, thank you sincerely for taking the effort writing such great compliments about us! It is amazing that you have enjoyed all the great features of the ‘home, away from home’ concept; the cozy Living room in Art Deco style, the complementary drinks, snacks and candies, the extensive breakfast, hi-speed wireless internet and the ability to use the iPads. We would also like to sinceley thank you for the great compliments towards all our staff, they appreciate this very much!

We hope we can welcome you again for another Total Hospitality experience at Banks Mansion. The next time hopefully with a little bit warmer weather!

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, so no need for a car. We parked the car at the Olympic Stadium (8 EUR per day) and took the trolley to the hotel. The trolley stops one short block from the hotel. If you like to walk, you can get to most attractions within 20 minutes. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The complimentary beverages, snacks and breakfast were great. For drinks, they offer coffee, soda, juice, water, hard alcohol, beer and wine. Snacks range from nuts to chips. Breakfast includes everything from pastries to made-to-order egg station. The room was clean and suprisingly quiet considering it faces the busy street below. If you're traveling with kids, be warned that there is an adult channel available for free on TV. Didn't run into any kids while we were there for Easter weekend, so don't think this hotel is good for kids (don't think Amsterdam is good for kids!). I'd definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CL_011610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear guests,

We appreciate your lovely review! Thank you for that! It is great to read that you have enjoyed you stay and all its features at Banks Mansion! The complementary coffee, tea, soda’s, liquors, beers and wine in out Living. But also the snacks, cheese, sausages, complementary candies and extensive breakfast buffet. It is nice to read that your room was comfortable and quiet.
We hope to be welcoming you again in the future!

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Having read all of the wonderful reviews; we have chosen to stay at the Banks Mansion for an extended stay in Amsterdam before our river cruise. The reviews have been wonderful and our travel agent has recommended the hotel highly. We arrive on May 1st and will be staying for 3 nights and know this is going to be a wonderful celebration for my 60th birthday!!!
I am hoping to be back on trip-advisor to give my review again after our stay.
Linda Baglio

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank powerandsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear arriving guest,

How great to receive our first Pre-(re)view! We will do our utmost best to live up to your expectations. It is great to read that you have chosen Banks Mansion as the place to celebrate this special occasion! Please let us know if we can help you with any special preparations or if we could be of assistance regarding great restaurants or places to visit.

We are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

As you can read in every Trip Advisor review of Banks Mansion the hotel serves complimentary wine, beer, and liquor, breakfast and evening snacks as part of their package. They do this in a classy manner. It is so lovely to come back to the hotel after a long day of sightseeing and enjoy a glass of wine and cheese plate in front of the fire in the relaxing lobby. This does make the hotel unique as most hotels do not offer this service.
The location of the hotel is very central, right around the corner from Rembrandtplein. It was a great base to exploring Amsterdam. You can walk or bike to every main attraction. The hotel does have bikes for rent, however, you find them cheaper at various bike rental locations, such at Mac's Bikes.
We found the rooms clean, comfortable, and quiet with modern contemporary décor. The staff was friendly and helpful. They booked our tickets to the Van Gogh museum in advance at no extra charge.
The only complaint had to do with the plumbing. The toilet was separate from the shower. When one person was showering, if the other person used the water at all (for example washing hands) the person in the shower would immediately be scalded (dangerous hot!). This problem needs attention. We occupied in a room in the same floor as the reception. Unfortunately cant remember the exact room number.
Also the breakfast area is in the basement with poor ventilation. As they have a grill station, you leave breakfast with the scent of bacon/fried foods on your clothes/hair. Again these were relatively minor issues, that would not prevent me from staying there again. All in all a great hotel, great price considering inclusive items, location and comforts of room!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doingstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guests,

Your extensive review is greatly appreciated! Thank you for all the great words about your stay at Banks Mansion. It is great that you have enjoyed staying in our Living so much. Together with the complementary bar, the snacks througout the entire day, the art-deco style of the interior and helpfullnes of our Guest Relations Officers this is all part of our “home, away from home” concept.

How unfortunate that you have experienced also some less positive details during your stay. But it is also appreciatted that you have pointed these out for us, so we can change this for the better. Regarding the water in the room this is a problem that should not have occurred, our maintenance departement is in the process of fixing this problem.
Regarding the ventilation of the breakfast area, we are in the process of aquiring a new ventilation system.

Thank you again for the extensive review. We hope we can welcome you once again at Banks Mansion to show you that we have taken your recommended imporvements into account.

With sincere and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Banks Mansion and cannot recommend the hotel highly enough. The location is perfect and the staff do their utmost to help without being intrusive. Its a very relaxed environment, we booked a double and were given a twin but didn't mention it as it was fine,although I'm sure they would have accomodated us if we had raised it with them. The room and bathroom were large and very clean, the bed and choice of pillows made for a very comfortable nights sleep (3rd floor with very little traffic noise. Brakfast was good with pleanty of continental choice and eggs (cooked to order however you wish) bacon and sausages to choose from. The all inclusive drinks (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic), cheeses, pates salamis and snacks were also very welcoming after a cold day outdoors!

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for a canal view, we didn't and had a wonderful view (room 310) which inclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjoy406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you sincerely for the high recommendation in your review. We appreciate that enormously! We are happy to read that the many aspects of our ‘ home, away from home’ full service concept were so joyful to you! My colleagues asked me to tell you that they liked the compliments about their helpfulness.
As you already mentioned in your review, we would have been happy to have given you a queen bedded room on request. Because our Double Deluxe rooms are available as either a queen bedded room or a twin beds room, we will always do our utmost best to attend to any perferences given regarding the bedding prior to arrival.

We hope to be welcoming you again at Banks Mansion, so we could make you experience our comfortable queen beds as well.

Thank you again for the amazing review.

With warm & kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in December and all the other reviews sum up this hotel perfectly so I wont go on!. I rarely want to stay in the same hotel as there are so many out there to try but I would definitely stay here again! Good value for money when you consider drinks are included. A great, centrally located hotel. Would definitey recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnyj47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guests,

It is in fact superb to read your review! Thank you for writing this. We are happy to achieved at our goal, making your stay a good one. It is good to read that you enjoyed the proximity of Banks Mansion to all great hotspots of Amsterdam. How wonderful to read your great complements. Getting these kind of complements is for them their cherry on the top!

We hope to be of service to you or your friends and family again in the future during another stay at Banks Mansion.

With sincere regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,582 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
708 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,146 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing