We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as everyone says!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #12 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“As good as everyone says!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in December and all the other reviews sum up this hotel perfectly so I wont go on!. I rarely want to stay in the same hotel as there are so many out there to try but I would definitely stay here again! Good value for money when you consider drinks are included. A great, centrally located hotel. Would definitey recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnyj47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guests,

It is in fact superb to read your review! Thank you for writing this. We are happy to achieved at our goal, making your stay a good one. It is good to read that you enjoyed the proximity of Banks Mansion to all great hotspots of Amsterdam. How wonderful to read your great complements. Getting these kind of complements is for them their cherry on the top!

We hope to be of service to you or your friends and family again in the future during another stay at Banks Mansion.

With sincere regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,966
    451
    92
    35
    25
See reviews for
291
1,473
136
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I love love love this hotel. Staff was so helpful so friendly so accommodating. Love the little extras like the evening cocktail hour or the drinks available in the lobby. This is my go to hotel in Amsterdam
Highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kriskaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guests,

One big smile, that is what you created on our faces after reading your review! Thank you very much for your extensive review on your stay at Banks Mansion. How great that you enjoyed all aspects of our total hospitality experience; the complementary drinks, snack, cheese and sausages, the breakfast, the comfort of the room, the rain shower and many more!
We are happy to have given you a great stay, we hope to be welcoming you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I and 2 of our friends stayed at the Banks Mansion for a week in March. The hotel was great. The rooms were much larger than any other European hotels I've stayed in (and I've stayed in several due to business travel) and the all-inclusive concept was wonderful! You get 3 decanters in your room (Gin, Cognac and Whisky) as well as soft drinks. All of these are replenished daily. The beds were also much larger than what I was accustomed to in the EU. And they were unbelievably comfortable! We slept like babies. There is a self-serve bar in the lobby and it's fairly expansive and well-stocked (again with liquor and soft drinks) and there is a coffee/espresso machine as well. There is a fully functionally desktop PC as well as iPads around the living area and there is even a printer, which is great if you purchase tickets or want to check into your flight 24 hours in advance. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The included breakfast was delicious, too. There are an array of freshly baked breads and croissants, meats, cheeses, cereal, as well as made-to-order omelets, pancakes, french toast or other breakfast treats. It was a great start to the day and we typically were so full that we didn't eat again until dinner.

The Banks Mansion is also very well located. You are literally steps away from Rembrandtplein and the flower market. There is a tram stop right near the hotel as well if you choose to use mass transportation. The hotel will easily call a taxi for you if you need it and there is a flat 45 euro fee to get to the airport, which I recommend with all your baggage in tow!

The Banks Mansion was really the highlight of our stay and my husband, our friends and I saved tons of money with the all-inclusive concept. I would highly recommend the Banks Mansion and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrienneGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guests of Banks Mansion,

What a great way to start our day, by reading your great and extensive review! We appreciate that you have taken the time to write all these nice words about your stay at Banks Mansion. It is a treat to read that you enjoyed so many of the aspects of our concept; the complementary drinks in the Living as well as in you private mini-bar in the room, the comfortable bed, the spacious rooms, the extensive pillow menu, the use of the Nespresso coffee machine in the room, the free movie channels and DVD menu, the extensive breakfast buffet and restaurant, the free use of iPads and WiFi and of course the day around snacks, cheese and sausages. A big ‘thank you!’ from all our staff members for all the compliments that you have given them for their friendliness and helpfullness.

It would be a pleasur for us having you again as our guests at Banks Mansion. We are looking forward to welcome you once again.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for business and was greeted by a very friendly receptionist upon arrival. I liked the extra touches - complimentary drinks and snacks in the lounge area were lovely and the complimentary mini bar in the room was great too.

My room was large and clean, although a little dark, and there was free wifi which was good enough for a Skype call. There was also a pillow menu for if you are especially particular with these things!

The next day, the cold breakfast buffet offered a good selection and the chef was on hand to make something hot if preferred.

The central location looking down on the canal is great and the main train station is a 10 min tram journey (the tram stop is right outside the hotel).

I thoroughly recommend this hotel and would stay again for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyBalham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the effort of writing this great review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay as a business guest and that you would like to come back for pleasure as well. Good to read that you have enjoyed all the extra touches of our ‘home, away from home’ full-service concept. Also great that you enjoyed the easy access to public transportation from the hotel. The tram stops right around the corner, the metro is only 5/10 minutes to walk and witin 5 minutes by tram you have arrived at the central train station.

Thank you again for the recommendation of our hotel and we are looking forward to be of service to you as our business or (p)leasure guest.

With sincere regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just back from an 8 night stay at Banks Mansion and everything was just ideal from beginning to end. Highly recommend this hotel as we found no fault with anything and it would defiantly be our 1st choice in Amsterdam again! The perfect location, excellent and attentive staff, wonderful full breakfast, very clean everywhere and all the extra ‘free’ touches to make you feel at home…and pampered. We even received a lovely surprise fresh fruit and snack tray with a vase of tulips in our room which was so above and beyond! Kudos to management as they really get it right - with high standards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glesh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for the kudos, we appreciate your great words in the review. How nice that you enjoyed the eight days at Banks Mansion for the full amount. It is great that the proximity of the hotel to all great hotspots was so appealing to you. We would like to sincerely thank you for the kind words towards our HouseKeeping department about the cleanness and comfort of the rooms. We are happy that you enjoyed the surprises in the room!

We hope to be welcoming you again as our guests again in the near future.

With kind & sincere regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend in Amsterdam - we had a fantastic time with friends and we all loved staying in this hotel. Loved the concept of fully inclusive and made good use of it too!
Breakfast was plentiful and choice was excellent - especially the eggs made to order. Rooms were large and comfortable and also included decanters of Whisky, Gin and Cognac as well as mixers in the mini bar which was restocked every day.
Reception staff were very friendly and assisted us with restaurant bookings and taxis - nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend and would love to come back and stay here again!

Room Tip: We were allocated rooms 310 and 311 both of which were large and spacious (310 had both a walk in sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieV965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guests,

It is wonderful to read about your good experiences at Banks Mansion And even more important that our hotel have lived up to your expectations! It is amazing that you were indulged by the great features of our “home, away from home” concept. All the complementary drinks, as well in the room as in our Living, the cheese table, our live-cooking breakfast restaurant, free wireless internet throughout the entire hotel, the use of iPads and the availability of pre-sale tickets to some great museums, massages and the public transportation.

We are looking forward welcoming you again in the (near) future!

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have just returned from an amazing stay at the banks mansion and have already considered going back again for the weekend in July. Upon check in, our room was not ready however the friendly lady at concierge had welcomed us and we were more than happy to have a drink in the lounge. When we got to our rooms (on the 1st Floor), they were lovely and spacious, decor was modern and you had your own private bar, stocked up with Gin/Cognac and Whisky. There were also cupboards with bathrobes and slippers. The toilet was spotlessly clean and a good shower too!

Breakfast was lovely, you got to pick how you want your eggs cooked and there was a wide selection of breads, pastries, fruit and juices. I was definately full up for the day!

I enjoyed the fact that drinks were included as part of the package and often found ourselves drinking the prosecco and staying for the cheese and biscuits at 5pm - there is a selection of whistky, vodka, baileys, tia maria, beer and red/rose/white and prosecco wine. the only thing they don't have is slim line tonic but that wasn't the end of the world.

In terms of the staff, they couldn't have been any more helpful - they were happy to provide us with helpful informaiton about the area, mark off certain areas of interests on the map and most of all friendly and very attentive. Their professionalism to their work is amazing.

Thank you for making my stay much enjoyable!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayles_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guests,

How amazing only to read the first sentence of your review. It is great to hear that you stay was so fantastic that you are considering coming back! It is nice that you have enjoyed so many of the great features of our ‘home, away from home’ full service concept! The drinks available throughout the entire day, the breakfast with daily fresh local products, the cleanness of the room and the great art-deco décor.
A special thank you for the amazing compliments towards the staff, they have enjoyed reading your review a lot!

We are already looking forward to your next stay in Amsterdam and Banks Mansion,

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing