We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banks Mansion
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Albus(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Thorbecke Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Atlanta Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Keizershof(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,913)
Filter reviews
2,913 results
Traveler rating
2,251
503
97
36
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,251
503
97
36
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree barliving roomall inclusive conceptall inclusive hotelpillow menucanal viewlounge areaflower marketevery afternoonwonderful hotelmini bar in the roomhome from homerembrandt squarebreakfast was excellentrain showerboutique hotelwalked everywhere
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,862 - 1,867 of 2,913 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel has all you can ask for and more. Great location, right in the middle of everything and all you have to do is decide what direction to walk in. The staff are courteous and helpful, giving you all the information you need to make the most out of your time in Amsterdam. The hotel itself is very comfortable, very clean and tidy and all the refreshments you could want. If you're looking for a bit of comfort and luxury during a trip away rather than just a bolt hole to lay your head then Banks Mansion is the place for you.

Room Tip: The hotel has one suite, which is very spacious with a great canal view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyboo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for your lovely review! We appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay at Banks Mansion. How amazing that you have enjoyed all great features of our ‘home, away from home’ full service concept! The proximity to all hotspots of Amsterdam, complementary refreshments in the entire hotel, the comfortable beds and pillows in the room and the attentiveness and helpfulness of our Guest Relations Officers.

Again thank you for the great review, we hope to be welcoming you again in the near future!

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is well located and I stayed in a really nice room with canal views.

Room was very comfortable but dusty (you could see a layer of dust on the bedside tables), which I can live with, but it's not really what you expect from such a renowned hotel.

The lift was being repared during my stay, which was a little annoying (I felt sorry for the staff member who had to carry my 30Kg suitcase up the stairs). The door room had issues with the alarm which again was annoyingas I had to go back everytime to make sure the door was locked properly.

Staff were friendly, the fireplace in the lobby is gorgeous and wifi worked fine.

Great breakfast with a friendly chef, but that's about it....

Would be interested in trying other options in my next visit.

Room Tip: Get a room with canal views - but don't expect a balcony because you can't access it :(
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissDri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guests,

First of all, thank you very much for the elaborate review. We appreciate this very much, because in this way we learn about the gaps in our high standard and so we are able to improve this. A big ‘thank you’ from my colleagues for the compliments that you have made about their friendliness in your review! This is highly appreciated by them! It is also great to read that you have enjoyed the centralized location of the hotel and the relaxing Living area.
It is really unfortunate that you have found that many dust on the bedside tables. Providing you with very clean rooms is the first priority of our housekeeping department. It is difficult to get the marble covered bedside tables 100% dust free, but it should never be a layer of dust. We sincerely apologies for this rare occasion to have happened during your stay.
When a hotel room door is not fully closed a pleasant alarm will sound to warn you about it, all of this for the safety and privacy of you, as our guests.
To keep our high standard, maintenance procedures need to take place during the year at Banks Mansion. Unfortunately during your stay the elevator was under maintenance. We have done our utmost best to make you, as our guest, notice as less about it as possible. We have provided you with low floor rooms and our staff was always available for assistance when luggage had to be carried down the stairs. Again we are sorry that the maintenance happened during your stay.

We would sincerely like to invite you for another visit at Banks Mansion, so we can show you that we have converted you comments into actions. The elevator is running smoothly now and all rooms are perfectly clean as always!

With kind & sincere regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, very nice breakfast buffet, out of this world happy hour. The Nespresso machine and the three bottles of whisky, gim and brandy are a nice extra touch. I'll certainly go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarioRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear grateful guests,

What a pleasure for us to read your lovely review. Thank you for the effort of writing one. Our Guest Relations Officers thank you for the complement about their friendliness! Achieving this is one of their main goals. It is great news that you enjoyed the full service concept; the complementary drinks, coffee (both in-room as in the Living), liquors, snacks, cheese and many more!

We are already looking forward to you next visit!

With sincere and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a relatively small hotel on the Herengracht in a good location. Staff are very courteous and helpful; rooms are very comfortable, and the ambiance is restful and relaxing. We would have no hesitation in going back again. We have indicated a restaurant rating but this relates to breakfast as no evening meals are provided.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Herengracht must be the best ones.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice review about your stay at Banks Mansion! We are happy to have given you an enjoyable stay. Thank you for the compliments about our staff and the comfortable and relaxing rooms and Living area.

We are looking forward to be of service to you again,

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews