We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,053)
Filter reviews
3,053 results
Traveler rating
2,361
528
101
37
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,361
528
101
37
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree barliving roomall inclusive conceptpillow menucanal viewlounge areaflower marketevery afternoonwonderful hotelmini bar in the roomhome from homerembrandt squarebreakfast was excellentboutique hotelrain showerwalked everywherecoffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
2,002 - 2,007 of 3,053 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We returned a couple of days ago after spending a fantastic weekend at The Banks Mansion with 4 good friends & staying there to celebrate my partners 50th. I have visited Amsterdam 6 times now and must say that this trip has surpassed all previous hotel stays by far. The atmosphere was wonderful, the hotel has a warmth about it (not just from the foaring fire in the lounge area which all 6 of us spent rather a lot of time around talking and laughing) very relaxed, yet everything was perfect. The staff were lovely, helpfull and always happy. The room 308 was sparkling clean with everything you could need, the breakfast with omlettes cooked to order was wonderful and the cheese board and wine selection at 'tea time' just perfect. I would like to thank The Banks Mansion for making mine, my partners and our friends weekend one to remember. We are already making plans to return later this year.

Room Tip: firnds had street level rooms and reported no noise, we had room 308 and also had no noise, room temp can be adjusted up or down on the radiator settings if necessary. Shampoo/body cream/shower gel/caps etc in rooms and a great shaving/make-up mirror. Ice machines on all floors and drinks can be taken up to your room if required. Bathrobes/slippers were wonderful! and a pillow doctor choice available, shoe shine also on all floors. Ipads are in reception/lounge for use during your stay and the free wifi is very fast. Not one bad thing can be said about our stay.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Birthday guests,

First of all, it is an honor to read that you have been staying in Banks Mansion during the celebration of this very special birthday! And on top of that we read that you have enjoyed this stay for the full amount! Thank you sincerely for writing this lovely review! We appreciate all the great compliments about the hotel and our staff very much!

We are looking forward to be welcoming you again later this year!

With warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The staff were so attentive and courteous at all times. Always cheerful, polite and helpful when asking about the city and places to visit. Home from home atmosphere, very relaxing and would love to return again. Would like to thank everyone at Banks Mansion for making us feel so welcome - the reception, catering and cleaning. Everywhere was clean and tidy and the location was perfect - we walked to all the places we wanted to visit. Our room overlooked the canal and the hotel had an art deco theme. The omelettes and pancakes at breakfast were delicious and the complimentary bar a super idea. Staff at reception suggested places to eat and their recommendations were excellent and much appreciated. The 3 night stay went so quickly - would definitely recommend the hotel and would stay again if we return to Amsterdam in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear birthday guests,

How great to read that you have chosen Banks Mansion to celebrate this special occasion in Amsterdam! And it is even better to read that your stay has met your expectations for the full amount!
It is one of our greatest priorities to have sparkling clean rooms for our guests. With much passion and devotion my colleagues of the Housekeeping department clean the rooms every day at a very high level. Thus it is very nice to read that you have experienced this during your stay!
We are also happy that the suggestions of the Guest Relations Officers for different restaurants and places to visit were appealing to you. We try to find the best suited locations which match the wished of our guests!

We hope that we can welcome you another time, maybe next time for more than 3 days!

With sincere regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked three nights at the Banks Mansion Hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and the location. It turned out to be much more than we expected and recommend this fantastic hotel for everyone! The location was amazing. From the hotel we were able to walk to Central Station, L'Hermitage, Anne Frank, Heineken, and so much more.

The included breakfast was an unexpected surprise. Fresh pastries, fruit, custom eggs, all kinds of bread and cheese and the most amazing cappuccino machine ever were offered each morning .

The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The desk staff was so helpful! Jacqueline was adorable, smart, friendly and she offered help with tickets and reservations.

There's a wonderful boutique living room feel in the lobby that includes a help yourself bar, coffee, and treats all day long. At 5 PM they roll out a beautiful cheese tray. Help yourself to wine and cheese while you unwind and relax in front of the fire.

I can't wait to go back to Amsterdam so I can spend a few nights at Banks Mansion!

PS We were there for a Viking RIver Cruise. We opted out of their hotel to stay at Banks Mansion. A really smart choice!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Guests,

First of all, thank you very much for your elaborate review on your stay at Banks Mansion, we really appreciate the effort!
It is good to read that you have enjoyed the many aspects of the ‘home, away from home’ concept of Banks Mansion; the proximity to all great hotspots of Amsterdam, the breakfast restaurant with daily fresh and local products, the complementary drinks in the Living, the breakfast restaurant and your own private mini-bar, the cheese and sausage table, the wine bar and many more. Thank you for your great compliments to Jacqueline and the other staff. She and her colleagues appreciated this very much!

We hope to be welcoming you again in the near future!

With warm & kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here in November 2012 and cannot fault this hotel. Wonderful reception staff. Beautiful rooms with complimentary gin whiskey and brandy. The most comfortable bed I've ever had in a hotel. Great pillows too. All alcohol is free in the lounge area as well as tea, coffee etc. breakfast was very tasty too and a choice of the way you could have your eggs cooked. Within walking distance of attractions and the tram stop is just across the road. Take a trip to the diamond museum and try on some beautiful gems. Anne frank house is also a must. Try an Argentinian restaurant if you want the best steaks too. Would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Canal rooms are nice but not necessary if you're only staying for a short while
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear guests,

One big smile, that is what you created on our faces after reading this review! Thank you very much for your extensive review on your stay at Banks Mansion. How great that you enjoyed all aspects of our total hospitality experience; the complementary drinks, snack, cheese and sausages, the breakfast, the comfort of the room, the pillows from the extensive pillow menu, the location with its proximity to great places to visit.
We are happy to have given you a great stay, we hope to be welcoming you again in the near future.

With sincere & warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed two nights with partner, the room was great, we had a good nights sleep on both nights. The staff look after you so well and nothing is to much bother. Will return if we come back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review on your stay at Banks Mansion. It is great to read that you have had good nights of sleep in our comfortable beds and on one of the pillows of our extensive pillow menu. Thank you for the compliments on the staff, we all appreciate that very much!

We are looking forward to your next stay!

With warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews