We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“"A different 50th Birthday & 20th Anniversary trip"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #10 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"A different 50th Birthday & 20th Anniversary trip"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The best stay away from home that we have ever had.We were very warmly welcomed on our early arrival and were told that due to our celebrations that were involved we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite.We were encouraged to begin using the facilities while we waited a short time for our room to be ready for our use and were booked in long before we should have been.On entering the room we were blown away by its size and the decorative state and lay out in general and especially how clean it was,which mirrored our thoughts on the rest of the hotel as well.The bathroom was superb.The rainshower was excellent and for someone like me that likes the occasional bath,it was larger than I am used to which was a lovely bonus.There was a personal letter from the hotel to us both on the desk in the room congratulating us on our personal occasions.That was very touching.Within 10mins we had a call on the phone asking us if everything was ok and if there was anything we wanted.All of the staff were so friendly and helpful at all times and the home from home concept made it a very relaxing time and we enjoyed talking and meeting other people from around the world who were all very nice.Breakfast time was always a good time of the day,with the made to order omelettes the highlight of a very satisfying trip downstairs.The ladies that made them were always smiling and made it into a very comfortable setting.The 4 and 5pm arrival of the wine and nuts and snack trolley were a most welcome sight and much appriciated by all,on top of which the help yourself bar and coffee area and the free mini bar and coffee machine and decanters in your room was a nice addition to an already great hotel.Overall,I would and have already recommended Bank Mansions to other people and will be returning at some point in the future.Thank you to all involved for making our stay a most memorable one.Amsterdam is a wonderful and clean and eye catching City with many very friendly people.Anybody that finds anything to complain about in the hotel are either having a bad day or being very fussy.They will do anything to make your stay as pleasant as possible.And.......I wasnt paid or encouraged to write this review......It is exactly as it was,because I always say it as it is.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHELSEA1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear guests,

We were completely dazzled by your great review! Thank you for the load of compliments towards our staff, the features and comfort of the hotel. We appreciate this very much. After all this is were we do all the effort for! We are happy to hear that the free upgrade to The John D. Mackinlay Junior Suite made your stay even more joyful! Our staff of the HouseKeeping department are very grateful for the great things you tell in your review about the cleanness and comfort of the room. We are very happy that your stay in Amsterdam and Banks Mansion has been one to remember.
Thank you very much for the great pictures. It is great for future guests to see, that the pictures show the real Banks Mansion, as we also like to do with our own pictures. They show the true Banks Mansion and these are no pictures taken from the best angle possible.

We are truly looking forward to your next stay at Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,879
    435
    90
    35
    23
See reviews for
274
1,411
127
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We returned a couple of days ago after spending a fantastic weekend at The Banks Mansion with 4 good friends & staying there to celebrate my partners 50th. I have visited Amsterdam 6 times now and must say that this trip has surpassed all previous hotel stays by far. The atmosphere was wonderful, the hotel has a warmth about it (not just from the foaring fire in the lounge area which all 6 of us spent rather a lot of time around talking and laughing) very relaxed, yet everything was perfect. The staff were lovely, helpfull and always happy. The room 308 was sparkling clean with everything you could need, the breakfast with omlettes cooked to order was wonderful and the cheese board and wine selection at 'tea time' just perfect. I would like to thank The Banks Mansion for making mine, my partners and our friends weekend one to remember. We are already making plans to return later this year.

Room Tip: firnds had street level rooms and reported no noise, we had room 308 and also had no noise, room tem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Birthday guests,

First of all, it is an honor to read that you have been staying in Banks Mansion during the celebration of this very special birthday! And on top of that we read that you have enjoyed this stay for the full amount! Thank you sincerely for writing this lovely review! We appreciate all the great compliments about the hotel and our staff very much!

We are looking forward to be welcoming you again later this year!

With warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

The staff were so attentive and courteous at all times. Always cheerful, polite and helpful when asking about the city and places to visit. Home from home atmosphere, very relaxing and would love to return again. Would like to thank everyone at Banks Mansion for making us feel so welcome - the reception, catering and cleaning. Everywhere was clean and tidy and the location was perfect - we walked to all the places we wanted to visit. Our room overlooked the canal and the hotel had an art deco theme. The omelettes and pancakes at breakfast were delicious and the complimentary bar a super idea. Staff at reception suggested places to eat and their recommendations were excellent and much appreciated. The 3 night stay went so quickly - would definitely recommend the hotel and would stay again if we return to Amsterdam in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear birthday guests,

How great to read that you have chosen Banks Mansion to celebrate this special occasion in Amsterdam! And it is even better to read that your stay has met your expectations for the full amount!
It is one of our greatest priorities to have sparkling clean rooms for our guests. With much passion and devotion my colleagues of the Housekeeping department clean the rooms every day at a very high level. Thus it is very nice to read that you have experienced this during your stay!
We are also happy that the suggestions of the Guest Relations Officers for different restaurants and places to visit were appealing to you. We try to find the best suited locations which match the wished of our guests!

We hope that we can welcome you another time, maybe next time for more than 3 days!

With sincere regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked three nights at the Banks Mansion Hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and the location. It turned out to be much more than we expected and recommend this fantastic hotel for everyone! The location was amazing. From the hotel we were able to walk to Central Station, L'Hermitage, Anne Frank, Heineken, and so much more.

The included breakfast was an unexpected surprise. Fresh pastries, fruit, custom eggs, all kinds of bread and cheese and the most amazing cappuccino machine ever were offered each morning .

The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The desk staff was so helpful! Jacqueline was adorable, smart, friendly and she offered help with tickets and reservations.

There's a wonderful boutique living room feel in the lobby that includes a help yourself bar, coffee, and treats all day long. At 5 PM they roll out a beautiful cheese tray. Help yourself to wine and cheese while you unwind and relax in front of the fire.

I can't wait to go back to Amsterdam so I can spend a few nights at Banks Mansion!

PS We were there for a Viking RIver Cruise. We opted out of their hotel to stay at Banks Mansion. A really smart choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, thank you very much for your elaborate review on your stay at Banks Mansion, we really appreciate the effort!
It is good to read that you have enjoyed the many aspects of the ‘home, away from home’ concept of Banks Mansion; the proximity to all great hotspots of Amsterdam, the breakfast restaurant with daily fresh and local products, the complementary drinks in the Living, the breakfast restaurant and your own private mini-bar, the cheese and sausage table, the wine bar and many more. Thank you for your great compliments to Jacqueline and the other staff. She and her colleagues appreciated this very much!

We hope to be welcoming you again in the near future!

With warm & kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here in November 2012 and cannot fault this hotel. Wonderful reception staff. Beautiful rooms with complimentary gin whiskey and brandy. The most comfortable bed I've ever had in a hotel. Great pillows too. All alcohol is free in the lounge area as well as tea, coffee etc. breakfast was very tasty too and a choice of the way you could have your eggs cooked. Within walking distance of attractions and the tram stop is just across the road. Take a trip to the diamond museum and try on some beautiful gems. Anne frank house is also a must. Try an Argentinian restaurant if you want the best steaks too. Would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Canal rooms are nice but not necessary if you're only staying for a short while
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sazbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guests,

One big smile, that is what you created on our faces after reading this review! Thank you very much for your extensive review on your stay at Banks Mansion. How great that you enjoyed all aspects of our total hospitality experience; the complementary drinks, snack, cheese and sausages, the breakfast, the comfort of the room, the pillows from the extensive pillow menu, the location with its proximity to great places to visit.
We are happy to have given you a great stay, we hope to be welcoming you again in the near future.

With sincere & warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed two nights with partner, the room was great, we had a good nights sleep on both nights. The staff look after you so well and nothing is to much bother. Will return if we come back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review on your stay at Banks Mansion. It is great to read that you have had good nights of sleep in our comfortable beds and on one of the pillows of our extensive pillow menu. Thank you for the compliments on the staff, we all appreciate that very much!

We are looking forward to your next stay!

With warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay here. It was excellent. The rooms were on an Art Deco theme, really clean and come with a nespresso machine! ( But no george clooney :-(!!!)
The complimentary bar in reception is an added bonus and really nice to chill out in after a long day sight seeing.
Breakfast couldn't be faulted, delicious omelettes and pancakes cooked to order. Yum!!
The staff speak brilliant English and were very helpful on every occasion.
You can walk to all the major sites within about 15-20 mins, but look out for the bikes and trams!!
Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sherbert30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you sincerely for the high recommendation in your review. We appreciate that enormously! We are happy to read that the many aspects of our ‘ home, away from home’ full service concept were so joyful to you! My colleagues asked me to tell you that they liked the compliments about their helpfulness and English very much! It is our priority to make you feel at home, so we try to speak a language which is as close to you own or even is the same as you speak, in this case English!
We are looking forward to make your next stay as great as this one. Maybe next time George Clooney will be here to make you a coffee from the Nespresso machine!

With sincere and kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Property: Banks Mansion
Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing