We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam Gem”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #8 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked three nights at the Banks Mansion Hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and the location. It turned out to be much more than we expected and recommend this fantastic hotel for everyone! The location was amazing. From the hotel we were able to walk to Central Station, L'Hermitage, Anne Frank, Heineken, and so much more.

The included breakfast was an unexpected surprise. Fresh pastries, fruit, custom eggs, all kinds of bread and cheese and the most amazing cappuccino machine ever were offered each morning .

The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The desk staff was so helpful! Jacqueline was adorable, smart, friendly and she offered help with tickets and reservations.

There's a wonderful boutique living room feel in the lobby that includes a help yourself bar, coffee, and treats all day long. At 5 PM they roll out a beautiful cheese tray. Help yourself to wine and cheese while you unwind and relax in front of the fire.

I can't wait to go back to Amsterdam so I can spend a few nights at Banks Mansion!

PS We were there for a Viking RIver Cruise. We opted out of their hotel to stay at Banks Mansion. A really smart choice!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Guests,

First of all, thank you very much for your elaborate review on your stay at Banks Mansion, we really appreciate the effort!
It is good to read that you have enjoyed the many aspects of the ‘home, away from home’ concept of Banks Mansion; the proximity to all great hotspots of Amsterdam, the breakfast restaurant with daily fresh and local products, the complementary drinks in the Living, the breakfast restaurant and your own private mini-bar, the cheese and sausage table, the wine bar and many more. Thank you for your great compliments to Jacqueline and the other staff. She and her colleagues appreciated this very much!

We hope to be welcoming you again in the near future!

With warm & kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,801 - 1,807 of 2,825 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here in November 2012 and cannot fault this hotel. Wonderful reception staff. Beautiful rooms with complimentary gin whiskey and brandy. The most comfortable bed I've ever had in a hotel. Great pillows too. All alcohol is free in the lounge area as well as tea, coffee etc. breakfast was very tasty too and a choice of the way you could have your eggs cooked. Within walking distance of attractions and the tram stop is just across the road. Take a trip to the diamond museum and try on some beautiful gems. Anne frank house is also a must. Try an Argentinian restaurant if you want the best steaks too. Would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Canal rooms are nice but not necessary if you're only staying for a short while
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear guests,

One big smile, that is what you created on our faces after reading this review! Thank you very much for your extensive review on your stay at Banks Mansion. How great that you enjoyed all aspects of our total hospitality experience; the complementary drinks, snack, cheese and sausages, the breakfast, the comfort of the room, the pillows from the extensive pillow menu, the location with its proximity to great places to visit.
We are happy to have given you a great stay, we hope to be welcoming you again in the near future.

With sincere & warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed two nights with partner, the room was great, we had a good nights sleep on both nights. The staff look after you so well and nothing is to much bother. Will return if we come back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review on your stay at Banks Mansion. It is great to read that you have had good nights of sleep in our comfortable beds and on one of the pillows of our extensive pillow menu. Thank you for the compliments on the staff, we all appreciate that very much!

We are looking forward to your next stay!

With warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay here. It was excellent. The rooms were on an Art Deco theme, really clean and come with a nespresso machine! ( But no george clooney :-(!!!)
The complimentary bar in reception is an added bonus and really nice to chill out in after a long day sight seeing.
Breakfast couldn't be faulted, delicious omelettes and pancakes cooked to order. Yum!!
The staff speak brilliant English and were very helpful on every occasion.
You can walk to all the major sites within about 15-20 mins, but look out for the bikes and trams!!
Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sherbert30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you sincerely for the high recommendation in your review. We appreciate that enormously! We are happy to read that the many aspects of our ‘ home, away from home’ full service concept were so joyful to you! My colleagues asked me to tell you that they liked the compliments about their helpfulness and English very much! It is our priority to make you feel at home, so we try to speak a language which is as close to you own or even is the same as you speak, in this case English!
We are looking forward to make your next stay as great as this one. Maybe next time George Clooney will be here to make you a coffee from the Nespresso machine!

With sincere and kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wonderful stay here. Rooms are small but we come to expect that in cities. Great hotel staff, service excellent. Thoroughly recommend !!!! Loved the free bar after a long days shopping and after dinner drinks! Just a wonderful experience

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank 83stevem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for the great review and wonderful pictures about your stay at Banks Mansion. It is nice to read that you thoroughly recommend our hotel, that is what we strive for every day again! Thanks you for the compliments about the staff and their service, we all appreciate that very much.

We hope to be welcoming you and your friends and family again in the (near) future!

With kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

our family of 5 stayed at banks mansion for 5 nights and loved it. Perfect location right off rembrandt square, nice comfortable rooms and helpful, cheerful staff. Great cooked to order breakfast every morning. We enjoyed the open bar concept and would come back and hang out in the living room and have a drink and a snack before going out for the evening. We were spoiled. Overall, super value for the money

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear family guests of Banks Mansion,

It is amazing to read that you felt spoiled at Banks Mansion. We are happy to have achieved that for you and your family during your stay! We are also happy that you have enjoyed all great aspects of our concept; the complementary drinks, snacks and breakfast, the hi-speed internet, free use of iPads and many more. My colleagues all appreciate the complements about the friendliness, helpfulness and cheerfulness very much. We were happy to be of service to you, and hope to be of service once more during another visit!

With warm & kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I took my girlfriend there as a birthday treat and the Banks Mansion really was the icing on the cake.
Amsterdam is a beautiful City and we walked miles and miles, but we might have seen even more of the place if we hadn't been so reluctant to leave the Hotel!
I do not believe that I have stayed in a hotel and felt so relaxed and at home, the all inclusive bar included in the tariff is a real bonus, with everything you could imagine to choose from. The staff were pleasant and so very courteous. We wouldn't stay anywhere else if we travel to Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikeyboy1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear (birthday) Guests,

How fabulous that you enjoyed this special occasion in Amsterdam and at Banks Mansion so much! We are happy to have achieved our goal of making our hotel feel at home for our guests; by having complementary drinks and snack throughout the day in the Living room as well as in your private mini-bar. We are very pleased by the complements about the staff, that it why we are doing what we are doing!

We are looking forward to create another home, away from home, during your next stays.

With sincere regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,657 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,162 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,011 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
845 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $234 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing