We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #9 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed at Banks Mansion for 7 nights on a personal business/holiday trip. It was awesome. Although the rooms are not big they are very comfortable and stylish. I have not slept so well away from home for a long time. The concept of this hotel, with breakfast, mini-bar, and food and drinks in the downstairs "living room" included in the room rate was also perfect for me. There was hardly a need to go out for a drink at night. This meant that the total cost of the trip was actually less than it would have been in a cheaper hotel without Banks Mansion's facilities. The location also suited me but I can imagine that the closeness of Rembrandtplein with its occasionally rowdy nightlife is not to everybody's taste. Also, although there are a lot of restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, there are only a few good ones. For really good and reasonably-priced food you do need to venture further afield. The hotel staff could not be faulted. I will definitely return here.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first and third floor have large French windows which would be an advantage in summ...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinoyDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear guest,

I am very satisfied to read that you have slept so well away from home here at Banks Mansion. It is very important to us that the guests here at Banks Mansion sleep well. Besides sleeping well the guests relations officers are there to make sure that your stay is one to remember!

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future!

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,747)
There are newer reviews for Banks Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,747 - 1,753 of 2,747 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Banks Mansion last month. While we did enjoy the living room concept and the generous breakfast, the hotel, itself, is a bit on the average side. The room was of a decent size, but not overly generous. The bathroom was also decent, but not anything as luxurious as some of the other reviews might lead you to believe. The hotel is a good, but not a great or luxury option; the bed, in particular, was not very comfortable. The hotel location is convenient to many of the tourist attractions, and our room was on the top floor, overlooking the canal, providing a lovely view. But, the location is on the fringe between the noisy tourist district and the more sedate, upscale district. Any closer to the tourist district, and the location would have been a definite negative. The living room is very fun, and we enjoyed the happy hours. However, some guests took advantage of the free food and beverages, making for a bit of an unpleasant experience and not quite as relaxing as it could be if "free" snacks were not at stake. Ask for a room facing the canal, and be sure to go into the more residential districts for a nice dinner and glass of wine.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room facing the canal.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acdhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Banks Mansion. We are very happy to read that you have had a good stay here in Amsterdam. I am glad to see that you made good use of the convenient location of Banks Mansion to go and explore all the touristic highlights!
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future and try to allocate you in a different room with a more comfortable bed. Maybe you could also make use of the pillow menu offered in the room, to see if one of the other pillows is more suitable for you.

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Banks Mansion is a great hotel with helpful staff. It is located around the corner from Rembrandtplein, only few minutes away from the Van Gough Museum and within walking distances to all the major attractions in Amsterdam. The staff proved knowledgeable and helpful.

The complimentary snacks, coffee, and good range of drinks, both in the lobby and in your room, only add more value! Breakfast is excellent and also included in the price.

Would stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms with canal view are great
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philonous_XXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear guest,

It is good to read that you have made good use of the location of Banks Mansion. Al major tourist attractions are within walking distance of the hotel.
Thank you for rating our breakfast as "excellent", my colleagues serving breakfast will be happy to read your review!

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A wonderful Hotel. It is not just the 'full service' aspect that is great, everything is great ! Having free drinks, alcoholic, soft, tea, coffee etc is a marvellous idea, but it is not just this that makes this hotel excellent. The rooms are lovely and spotlessly clean, as are the bathrooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is tremendous. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We even had a great deal which made our stay even better. Go see for yourself, and enjoy.

Room Tip: We had a groundfloor room on the street, but considering we were in the centre of a major city the n...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soprano30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear guest,

It is very satisfying to read that you enjoyed your stay here at Banks Mansion! Furthermore I like the fact that you have enjoyed the facilities offered by the hotel, but even more the service received from the staff! I will make sure that these wonderful words are passed on to my colleagues of the Banks Mansion Team!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future!

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were a party of 5 split between two rooms when we visited Amsterdam in early fall. We had a nice stay at this hotel. We had all been traveling for a long time before we reached Banks Mansion so the ability to relax in the lobby before heading out for sightseeing or dinner was appreciated. We all enjoyed the snacks and drinks provided by the hotel. This was very refreshing after being "nickled and dimed" to death by some of the chain hotels we used. The rooms are on the small side by American standards but they were nicely furnished and well equipped. We did have one canal view room and it was fun to open the doors and watch the boats. We would stay here again and will try other hotels that are a part of this group.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank OKFrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here in early fall! It is heartwarming to read that you have made good use of the Living, the drinks and snacks offered there. With all tourist attractions within in walking distance of the hotel it is always very easy to drop in for a quick break!

We are looking forward to welcome you again here at Banks Mansion for your next visit.

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Myself and a good friend stayed at this stunning Hotel this last weekend ....& I'm now at home, suffering withdrawl symptoms ..this hotel is the one thing I will miss most from the entire journey !!! The staff were exceptional, the welcome we recieved was unforgetable ...from the smiling faces to the" pillow Menu", complimentary bath robes, Cheese / Tapas free buffet, the free bar and Liquers, the comfy chairs...I could go on and on....needless to say, in Arnie's words....I'll be back :)))))))

Room Tip: Even though we didn't pay for a canal view, we were on the road side corner with a three quarter...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunnerB135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear guest,

It brings great joy to read that your stay here in Banks Mansion is one of the things you will miss most from your entire journey! I think it is great to read that your welcome has been unforgetable! A warm welcome is what the Banks Mansion Team strives for!

It is ofcourse our intention to give you such a warm welcome again if you choose to visit us again in the near future!

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This really is a lovely hotel, because it manages to pull off one of the most difficult tricks, which is to make its guests feel properly at home. I have stayed in nice hotels all over the world, and some of them have been a lot plusher and a lot more expensive, but the Banks Mansion still wins over them. All the staff really are superb. We were a group of 10 people, in Amsterdam for our Christmas party, and all of us noticed that nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

The hotel location is excellent, and very central, on the edge of a pretty canal. The rooms are all very clean and well kitted out. The lounge bar on the ground floor is a brilliant touch, with complimentary drinks and snacks, with a lovely cheese trolley in the afternoon. The breakfast is excellent, with lots of choice. The hard-working lady on the omlette section is seriously busy, but is always smiling!

The Banks Mansion is a relaxed, but professional home from home. Thank you to Paul, Jacqueline, Kirstin and everyone else for making our stay so enjoyable. I will definitely stay here next time I’m in Amsterdam!

Met vriendelijke groet,

Geoff

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Geoff,

A very big smile appears on all faces of the Banks Mansion Team when such a review as yours is written! This is exactly what we strive for here at Banks Mansions. The biggest compliment that our guests can give is telling us that they have "felt properly at home"! In addition it is good to read that you have enjoyed all facilities offered by Banks Mansion!

We are looking forward to welcome you and your friends in the near future!

Wit warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,608 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,099 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
749 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,434 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $247 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing